We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great all round!!”
Review of Silverbirch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Silverbirch Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Omagh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

I booked the hotel for my daughters holy communion meal, food was fantastic, staff were accomitating and very much on top of everything, very keenly priced, presentation was first class and they even printed my daughters name on the menu. A big ten out of ten!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Sophiesarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverbirch05, Manager at Silverbirch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Hotel for your communion meal and for sharing these kind comments on TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal and were happy with the service provided. We hope to see you at the hotel in the future. Sincere Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (488)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

372 - 378 of 488 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

Overall experience was ok, pleasent but nothing to get over excited about. It was sufficient for one night, but personally I felt the accommodation was over priced, having stayed in many hotels of similar, and indeed superior standard, which offered better value for money, both north and south of the Island. Having said that, this was our first experience of staying here, and we did book in last minute, so maybe that reflected the price. It served our purpose for staying -we wanted a few drinks in the town and a bed for the night, and it was the only place in town with last minute availability. Breakfast was sufficient, but nothing spectacular. Service was slow, with a lengthy wait on my food to arrive, even though the place was reasonably quiet, and not overly busy at the time. Guests at the table beside us ordered cooked breakfasts, and then had to request missing food items that didn't arrive as they had ordered, but staff responded politely to the situation. The 'front desk' ladies were very friendly at reception upon check in and check out. Other hotel guests in neighbouring rooms kept me awake 'till 4am -I fell asleep eventually from exhaustion, but I can't comment on how the hotel deals with other guest disturbances, as I didn't report the problem -had I been staying any longer than one night I would have informed hotel staff. Bedroom (on 3rd floor) faced the road, with no air conditioning in rooms. As a result, this left the room very warm and stuffy, especially in the bathroom which was stifling, and the situation worsened further upon using the shower. Having turned the room's radiators 'off' we had to shower with the bathroom door open and the room window open to decrease the uncomfortable heat build up. For one night, this hotel is was ok, but personally I wouldn't stay any longer than one night, and certainly not at the prices charged (£85 for standard twin room, £95 for standard double room), but there is little to no other hotel competition in the same locality, so expect to pay for this premium if you are wanting to avail of hotel accommodation located in close proximity to the town centre. Our taxi fare to local night life in the town centre was £8 return from the hotel, and it was roughly about a 5 minute car journey (approximately). Reception staff will call a local cab if you ask. The hotel is right next to a local shop and adjoining off licence, which was an added convenience and within a short walking distance. We returned to the hotel bar for a drink before going to bed, thinking we had an hour before it closed (as was the advertised time, stated in the bedroom 'hotel information' book), however upon arrival, the bar was deserted, with only a solo singer, singing along to a backing track, and two other people having a drink. As it turned out, bar staff actually closed early, and we had to return to our rooms with our drinks to finish them. Staff didn't actually request our departure verbally, instead they pulled the shutters down on the bar, putting the full lights on, on two separate occasions to signal closing time. It would have been nice to enjoy the drink without feeling pushed out of the bar earlier than the closing time stated in the bedroom's 'hotel information', especially since we had left the bars, music and buzz in town an hour before closing, just to 'sample' the hotel bar before it closed. As it turned out, we'd have been better staying in the town bars for the last hour, but we will know for again. Omagh caters for all social tastes and ages, with a mixed and varied crowd. dress code is smart casual and people do make an effort to look well unlike some town I've socialised in, which will remain nameless! Having now sampled the town's local accommodation, for future social nights out in Omagh, we will be sticking to designated drivers, or else using taxi's to/from the town, (we live about 32 miles from Omagh), as the taxi fare actually cost less (round trip) than an overnight stay in this particular hotel -but we stayed and now we know what to expect.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mtt991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverbirch05, Manager at Silverbirch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Good Afternoon. Thank you for taking the time to share this on TripAdvisor. We appreciate all the comments you have made and have passed them on to the relevent departments and we plan to use these to better the service we provide in the hotel. Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We booked a table for two at the Silver Birches for a meal on Saturday (last night) for 7PM. We went in and were seated at a table and given menus. We waited for almost 20Mins before anyone came to take our order. I ordered a steak cooked to "medium". After waiting a further 20Mins our food came out. My steak was VERY rare, and our garlic bread must have been frozen. It was impossible to eat. We finished our food and waited for 15Mins for staff to clear our table. There were plenty of free staff but they didn't come near us. Eventually a waitress cleared the table and gave us a desert menu, and we waited 15 Mins for her to return but she didn't, so we just got up and paid and left, The till area was busy with only one staff member so we didn't get to complain. It was a very poor experience. We were seated 1Hour and a half and only ate one course. We have been here often and never had such a bad experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank ASmith622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverbirch05, Manager at Silverbirch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Good Evening. Can we take this opportunity to apologise for the negative experience you had in our restaurant, it is unfortunate that you were unable to complain at the time so staff could rectify the problem or to privide a reasoning behind the delays. We have passed the comments on to the restaurant to help ensure these issues do not arise again. Thank you for your valued opinion and we hope you will return to the Silverbirch Hotel so we can work to provide an improved dining experience. Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband booked this one night for our anniversary,and I was very pleasantly surprised, the room was very spacious with a very large double bed which I loved,large bathroom with bath and separate shower. He also booked an evening meal the service was excellent and the meal was very enjoyable, prices I thought were reasonable, just one thing bothered me, I thought there wasn't enough light where we where sitting. Breakfast, full English was lovely. Overall the staff where very pleasant and my husband said the lady he booked with was lovely but he couldn't remember her name to put on the questionnaire card, I would defiantly go again.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverbirch05, Manager at Silverbirch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel on TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure to read about your experience in the hotel restaurant and that you were happy with your room. We apologise for the dim lighting while you were in the restaurant and have passed on this feedback. We are happy to read that you found our staff pleasant , Siobhan at reception was responsible for taking your booking and would like to pass on her thanks to you both for specifically mentioning her. We hope you had a wonderful anniversary look forward to welcoming you at the Hotel in the future. Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

While nothing is actually wrong with the Silverbirch, it certainly didn't match up to the value for money that we found elsewhere in Ireland.

Very pleasant Reception and housekeeping staff, but the guy in sole charge during breakfast was less than enthusiastic - maybe because he was working in a dimly lit, bland dining room, that was being cleaned while guests were at breakfast (very bizarre) and serving food that was of mediocre quality. (Worst coffee in Ireland - and that's a real achievement).

Room and bathroom were large, well-appointed and very clean - typical accommodation for business travelers.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AHD68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverbirch05, Manager at Silverbirch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Good Evening. Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences on TripAdvisor. While we are somewhat disappointed with some of the comments you have made, we are pleased that you found our reception and housekeeping staff pleasant. We have followed up on your experience at breakfast and have asked the member of staff in question about this, he wishes to apologise for coming across as unenthusiastic and to express that this was not the case. We have passed your comments on to the relevant departments so they can each address the issues you have raised to ensure an improved service. We would like to wish you a safe onward journey and thank you for your valued feedback. Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Everything about the Silver Birches is satisfactory...The location is good and the hotel itself is clean and warm, However I have found the service has deteroiated. The last time we used the hotel we waited around half an hour for our order to be taken, Then we had to remind a member of staff that we still hadn't received our drinks. By the time the dinner arrived, 55 minutes had passed. Considering we were the only ones dinning this was a bit of a surprise. The children ordered chips as a side order from a fairly limited menu and disappointingly they weren't home made. You would expect frozen chips from a greasy spoon... not a 3 star establishment. The other dinners were ok but I asked for mine to be reheated as it was cold. NOT GOOD. The Silver Birch has a reputation of sorts but I feel staff are letting the Hotel down. Having read reviews from other patrons I wonder if we are all talking about the same place. Maybe we just caught it on a bad night. We have been back since and there wasnt much in the way of improvement so we will give it a wide birth for a while.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 5BellaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverbirch05, Manager at Silverbirch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Good evening. Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel on TripAdvisor. Can we take this opportunity to apologise for the wait that you experienced when you dined at the hotel. Unfortunately we are not aware of the date that this took place so it is difficult for us to follow up and find out the reasoning behind the wait, we can only hope that you made staff aware of the issues you came across at the time and received an explanation and an apology for this. If this is not the case, please accept our sincere apologies for this unsatisfactory waiting time. We are very surprised to read your comments about our staff - as you yourself state- the reviews from other patrons are extremely complimentary about the high level of customer service they receive at the Hotel. Again as we are unsure of the exact date you were here, it is difficult for us to follow up on why you have had a different experience. In reference to the rest of your comments, we plan to use them constructively to better the service we provide and we have passed your comments on to the relevant departments within the Hotel. We hope this had not deterred you from returning to the Hotel and look forward to welcoming you in the future so we can work to provide you with a more pleasant experience. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Great welcome, excellent room, nicely decorated and well maintained. Room immaculate.
Staff throughout hotel very helpful,sincere, friendly (but not over familiar). Meal in restaurant excellent and good vale for money. Drinks very reasonably priced.
I usually stay at Holiday Inn when on business but wanted to try local hotel for convenience - I will definitely stay here again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SERussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverbirch05, Manager at Silverbirch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Good Evening. Firstly, Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and for the kind comments within the review. We were delighted to read the title of your review "Friendly Hotel" as well as to read the flattering comments about our staff. We appreciate all your kind comments and these have been passed on to the relevant departments within the Hotel. It was also great to read that you felt you received value for money for your stay. We hope to see some new faces in the Hotel as a result of your recommendations, and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Sincere Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Omagh
13.9 mi away
Corick House & Spa
Corick House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Clogher
737 reviews
22.7 mi away
Belmore Court Motel
Belmore Court Motel
#1 of 7 in Enniskillen
1,906 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Enniskillen Hotel
The Enniskillen Hotel
#6 of 7 in Enniskillen
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16 mi away
The Valley Hotel
The Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fivemiletown
491 reviews
21.5 mi away
Lough Erne Resort
Lough Erne Resort
#5 of 7 in Enniskillen
1,552 reviews
23.2 mi away
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silverbirch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverbirch Hotel

Address: 5 Gortin Road, Omagh BT79 7DH, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Tyrone > Omagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Omagh
Price Range: $85 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silverbirch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Silverbirch Hotel is a family-run 3* hotel in Omagh, offering you the finest tradition of Irish hospitality, superb cuisine and a warm welcome in lavish and modern surroundings, that will make your visit a memorable one. Provides an ideal base for discovering the sights and attractions in the local area. The hotel is located less than a mile out of the town heading on the B48 towards Gortin. Furthermore the hotel is located on the North West Passage and the Ulster Way leading to the Sperrins, Gortin Glens and close by the renowned Ulster American Folk Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Silverbirch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silverbirch Hotel Omagh, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing