We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A regular”
Review of Grant's

Grant's
Ranked #3 of 68 Restaurants in Omagh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A regular”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My husband and I love this restaurant. If we are ever treating ourselves, we either frequent here or its neighbour, Vanilla. My husband loves his steak and is never disappointed. It has a wide menu and boasts very interesting surroundings. The atmosphere is also warm and full of family run friendliness.I always recommend Grants to my friends and family.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Redjed66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    46
    17
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great food, great place”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Grant's is ace. A simple but effective epithet, dontcha think?
But it is. The food is tasty, plentiful and pretty good value. The restaurant itself is fantastic. Very homely, very quirky and full of character. To steal a phrase from the excellent staff at Omagh Tourist Information, it feels like being on a ship, perhaps in the depths of Jack Sparrows' Black Pearl. But without pirates. And with nice staff (instead of pirates).
I had a steak which was perfectly cooked - impressive as I enjoy mine "blue". My girlfriend enjoyed a vegetarian spinach, vegetable and ricotta cannelloni, which she described as one of the best pasta dishes she has ever had. The tobacco onions were also excellent (why can I only get these is Northern Ireland?)
It's a happy place. Go there. You will like it.
Oh, and make sure you go to the loo. That's some corridor!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Red_V_Rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry N Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A little gem in Omagh”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Having a couple of hours to spend between shows at the bluegrass festival in the American folk park near Omagh we decide to pop into town for a quick meal. We chose Grants as Vanilla was booked, with a private party, at the time we wanted to eat and we were not disappointed. The decor is simple and rustic but very comfortable and the service quick, friendly and efficient. We had a bit of a time constraint but were served quickly with a two course dinner that was both tasty and great value. The food was beautifully served, on nice hot plates, and remained hot throughout the meal. We will definitely make a point of visiting this restaurant again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jazz1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great food, a restaurant for adults, not especially child friendly or suitable for functions”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I have eaten in Grants many times over the years and have rarely been left disappointed by the quality of food. The atmosphere in the restaurant is great and service is always excellent.It is not cheap though, and there are better value options in the area for food of an equal, high standard a few doors down the street.
While I would go regularly with a group of adults/ my husband, I would hesitate bringing my young family here in the evening time.
As a regular patron, I recently booked a family function. No discounts or special offers were considered despite it being a held at a not very popular day/ time over lunch. We did not hire the venue exclusively, and five other customers were in at the time were in at the time. The bill came to over £400, which was fair enough, but I was a bit annoyed to see they had included the three jugs of orange juice for the kids in the price. While not cumpulsory to offer a gesture like this, I would have thought it would have been decent, considering the lack of clientele in at the time and the amount we spent.
In short, good for a special treat, but there are many other more family friendly venues for get togethers if you have kids.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VernonGrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
355 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Fantastic...5 Stars”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Made a reservation for a Monday Night for 8 people as I had some friends visiting from Malaysia. I was really very happy with Grants. Atmosphere was really good, as was service as food was spot on.

Fish was very fresh, portions large (but not oversized) and all in all seems like Omagh has a Gem on a restaurant here. Obviously a chef that cares and knows what they are doing!

Would definitely return.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aniceglassofred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grant's also viewed

Omagh, County Tyrone
Omagh, County Tyrone
 

Been to Grant's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing