We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“mid-may away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clanabogan House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clanabogan House
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Omagh
Armagh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“mid-may away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

we were like 2 children when we found Clanabogan Country House--well named- secluded in the most beautiful part of Ireland. we rang the bell and were greeted with a lovely young woman with a smile that was a welcome in itself. Robert appeared with out streatched hand and soon we felt 'AT HOME'!----words do not describe how much we have relaxed---Oh it has been a lovely early Birthday break--and I will remember my walk through the millions of Bluebells on the woodland walk where I stood still while a Badger searched for his supper---I came back to my lovely big warm room and comfy bed. If you want to experience Old and Modern combined--the Character and history of this place has to be experienced and Mary serves a super breakfast----all good wishes to the family from Isaac andLorna

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    16
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
26
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Penzance, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

Clanabogan is a fantastic place to stay. We visited in April 2014 after falling into a spot of bother cycling the length of Ireland but luckily we were saved by the generosity of the owners, Mary and Robert. The rooms were spacious, the showers fantastic and the warmth of the wood burner in the hall a great welcome. The breakfast in the morning set us up for the next day of our adventure and we left feeling rejuvenated. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

We had to book into this b&b at short notice, what a shame we could not spend longer. Instantly we felt at home and relaxed in the cosy, warm atmosphere. Our room was charming with a delightful view of the gardens. An excellent breakfast topped it off and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 32Bernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

Stayed 7 May. You'll either love this place or hate it. It's subjective.

Location about 2 1/2 miles outside of Omagh and is well signposted. On arriving at the B&B we were about half an hour earlier than the check-in time of 5pm, but this didn't present a problem to the lady who greeted us and we were shown to our rooms straight away. To give some of the background to this B&B, which we were told by her husband, he had rescued this property which had been derelict 20+ years ago and with little money to start with, to get it where it is today. This has been a fantastic endeavour and a lot of hard work over a long period of time by the owners. He said it was sad to see the place deteriorate to such an extent.
However, in my opinion, it still has a long way to go. The building originated in the 1600's and in the last 20 years has required a full refurbishment to get it to a standard that is acceptable to the Irish tourist board. It has a lot of charm and the gardens and outlook are really lovely, but and it's a big but, charm competes with the reality of what is on offer. The main heating appears to be from a wood burning stove fire in the entrance hall, which even with the addition of floral candle scent does not disguise the smoke emitting from this fire which seems to pervade the house. The house creaks, but then old houses do. The decor needs to be refreshed. The oval glass atrium in the ceiling at the top of the stairs needs cleaned to remove a variety of insects. The wallpaper and paint need to be revisited! The bedroom, (number 3), while comfortable enough for our one night stay, has a sloping floor. I tried the "Four in a Bed" route and ran my finger over the top of the wardrobe and it was covered with dust. The old fashioned single-paned sash windows should be refurbished. The wallpaper needs to be re-thought - perhaps with plastered walls and painted with a good quality paint. The ceiling had had the cracks painted over, but were still visible. However, the beds were very clean and comfortable. The bathroom had a good shower, but the wash-hand basin was tiny.

We went to Omagh for dinner and came back for a drink at a pub that had been mentioned on Trip Advisor as being a stagger from the B&B. This is a very peculiar arrangement. It literally is a pub with no name and has signs outside warning that "Drivers are not allowed past this point". As it turned out it was a golf driving range and meant that this did not refer to car drivers, but people using golf drivers off the tees! If you are a visitor to the B&B how would you know it was there? Note: only drinks available, not food.

The next day the breakfast was excellent and the dining room was lovely.
We enjoyed talking to the owners and they clearly display a long term comittment to this historic house. We can only wish them continued success and that their obvious hard work and endeavours create a truly memorable Ulster experience.

I hope this will help anyone thinking of visiting this B&B. I would go back, not least to support the honest endeavour of people who truly care about the future of this house.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Hey all, have stayed in Clanabogan House a few times with a few mates. Rooms are spacious, clean and cater up to 3 people. It is a wonderful place, beautiful gardens and the most helpful staff ever..the owner Mary is just Wonderful!!! Highly recommend this wonderful cosy, character filled house...oh yes and the softest pillows and bed sheets ever..will be back to find out Marys secret lol..great breakfast too!!!!

Room Tip: They are all great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed here as recently as this Thursday and found it a joy from start to end. The rooms themselves are clean, spacious and charming. The outside of the hotel is a gorgeous country home and is set amongst some picturesque land. There is a bar within stumbling distance, a large ASDA a five minutes drive away and the city of Omagh not much further. But by far and away the best part of this hotel is it's hosts. They are extremely friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them! A very well cooked breakfast completed a perfect stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanJones90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Stayed one (Saturday) night in April. Beautiful old house, very comfortable, warm and full of character. Picturesque grounds also. Very accommodating and friendly hosts, who would do anything to help you. Great breakfast too. The house is in a peaceful rural setting, near a GAA club, and right next to a quiet public house if you fancy a nightcap. Couldn't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnjoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Omagh
3.7 mi away
Silverbirch Hotel
Silverbirch Hotel
#1 of 3 in Omagh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
12.7 mi away
Corick House
Corick House
#1 of 1 in Clogher
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
13.3 mi away
The Valley Hotel
The Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fivemiletown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Glenavon House Hotel
Glenavon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Cookstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
3.5 mi away
Tattykeel House B&B
Tattykeel House B&B
#2 of 16 in Omagh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Laurels Bed & Breakfast Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clanabogan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clanabogan House

Property: Clanabogan House
Address: 85 Clanabogan Road, Omagh BT78 1SL, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Tyrone > Omagh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Omagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clanabogan House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Clanabogan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clanabogan Hotel Omagh
Clanabogan House Omagh, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing