We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“poor service and very unpleasant staff on Saturday” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sperrin Restaurant & Steak House

The Sperrin Restaurant & Steak House
Ranked #7 of 67 Restaurants in Omagh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“poor service and very unpleasant staff on Saturday”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

The table service was poor. There didn't appear to be any Manager on duty as everything was so disorganised..There was three different people seving our table.When the child's dinner was being served it all slid onto the table,and it was very evident that hand hygiene was below standard.A member of our table of five was asked to clean the child's food back onto the plate,no please or thank you.Choice of deserts available poor,I was then told by the waitress that my desert slid off the plate,and it was presented to me like mush. I was so glad when it was time to leave,and will not be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank mmm8070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    22
    10
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Called in yesterday with my partner, 10 month old daughter and my mum, excellent service very friendly, great menu and food was excellent, ordered soup and potatoes for my daughter , came out at the perfect temperature, and as soon as she finished the last spoonful our mains came out. Would definitely vist again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank icklegir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham England
Level Contributor
110 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A steak house that overcooks steak?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

Service was slow but friendly, although having to wait 15 minutes for someone to locate a couple of wine glasses for us is pretty poor.

If I order a steak rare then that is how I expect it. Not medium to well done. Seriously if you are going to call yourself a steak house then at least cook them properly.

20 quid for a piece of meat not done to your request - that's just not right

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Scudamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cooking of a steak”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Had an excellent family night out with fantastic bar staff helping to make the evening good fun. Starter was very good but I was frustrated to order a steak to my taste (medium) as did the rest of the family and for them all to come pretty much cooked the same - well done - overdone. For the price that was being charged, I was disappointed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Food such a pity about the service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

On Tuesday evening myself and my partner decided to grab a quick bite to eat after work. We didn't go home to get changed so maybe we weren't dressed appropriately enough although its not exactly the Ritz on entering the premises we were greeted by a less than friendly tall girl with black hair. while browsing the menu we could hear the constant text message beep on her phone then it rang then she proceeded to have a conversation. When taking our order she seemed bored. When we finally got our diner it was of very high standard and most enjoyable however we did have to wait a bit. My partner his mother and 2 children were the only ones in it the sunday previous until 2 coach loads arrived and they were completely forgotten about and waited 50 mins for their starter and by the time they were ready to leave the 2 coach loads have already finished and left. On paying the member of staff was just as disinterested looking.


Bottom line is staff can destroy a business and while the food is excellent we wouldn't be in a hurry back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 4deirdre1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sperrin Restaurant & Steak House also viewed

 
Omagh, County Tyrone
Omagh, County Tyrone
 

Been to The Sperrin Restaurant & Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing