We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the forge castlederg county tyrone.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mellon Country Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Omagh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mellon Country Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Omagh
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“the forge castlederg county tyrone.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

We have stayed at The Forge self catering cottage every year since 2001 when it was built. It is ideal for touring as it is only 30 minutes in different directions to Ballybofey and Donegal in the south, and Enniskillen and Omagh in the north . The Forge sits on its own , high on a hill with beautiful scenery all around . It is ,however only 5 o 10 minutes away from the local small town where u will find plenty of bars, (The Derg Arms where u can get great value meals ). supermarkets to fill up and take aways . Denise the owner is full of info and very friendly . The cottage itself, is 4 star with the only downside being 1 shared bathroom and no en-suite although there is a seprate downstairs toilet . The downstairs bedroom is also very good for those less able .All in all a great place to stay. It would suit families, or couples .

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraJ-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    10
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
18
20
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

I was very disappointed with the rooms and the over all service I had stayed in the Greenmount lodge the night before and I have to say the Mellon needs to learn a thing or two 3 stations on the tv were as the Greenmount offered freeview breakfast was poor we requested breakfast at 7:30 and we didn't receive it until 8 Greenmount had breakfast at 7 homemade bread was on offer rooms were freezing for the 30 a difference in price I would have expected more

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yellowmoon27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2010

The hotel is located some distance from any local town. It is very well appointed and the rooms are spacious. Everything works well in the rooms. The bars & restaurant are nice and the food good quality and well presented. Reception staff are not as welcoming as we would have liked. Overall, a good hotel with some tourist attractions close by for families.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Shamrock-Estates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2009

Very rarely have I found a hotel on my travels that I would go out of my way to stay at, the Mellon Country Inn is one such hotel. The staff are very friendly and go out of their way to make you feel welcome, but the real feather in the cap is the food, truly excellent in every regard. Are they any down sides? the bedrooms (that I have stayed in) have always been clean and comfortable, although ones at the front of the hotel overlook the main road so are not as quiet as those in the back, and the hours of food service are more limited than other much bigger hotels, but do you know what, I don't care, I love the place, and genuinely go out of my way to stay there

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GBOMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Omagh
5.1 mi away
Silverbirch Hotel
Silverbirch Hotel
#1 of 3 in Omagh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
7.5 mi away
Clanabogan House
Clanabogan House
#2 of 3 in Omagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
19.0 mi away
Corick House
Corick House
#1 of 1 in Clogher
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Mahon's Hotel
Mahon's Hotel
#1 of 1 in Irvinestown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
23.7 mi away
Lough Erne Resort
Lough Erne Resort
#5 of 7 in Enniskillen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
3.1 mi away
No photo provided
Castle Inn
#2 of 4 in Newtownstewart
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mellon Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mellon Country Inn

Property: Mellon Country Inn
Address: 134 Beltany Road, Omagh BT78 5RA, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Tyrone > Omagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Omagh
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mellon Country Inn is situated on the main A5 road, between Omagh and Newtownstewart. It nestles between Mary Gray and Bessie Bell Mountains, overlooking the Strule River, offering outstanding scenery and views of the Sperrins. The Hotel is also centrally located to many tourist attractions, and only one mile from the Ulster American Folk Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mellon Country Inn Omagh, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing