We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Genuine Italian Treasure” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Gondola

La Gondola
Ranked #8 of 67 Restaurants in Omagh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Buffet, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
306 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“A Genuine Italian Treasure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

I've eaten at Luigi's little restaurant several times over the years and have always had fantastic food. Recently reopened about a year ago, he's now got more comfortable surrounds and a bigger menu. All the usual Italian classics, freshly cooked and with an obvious love of what he's doing. The atmosphere is also great, usually opera and sometimes if you're lucky Luigi himself singing as he goes around the tables, chatting with everyone and making sure they're having a good time. He cooks the right stuff in the right way with the right ingredients and the value for money is pretty incredible. It's like some back-street trattoria from Rome or Florence or Venice, somehow picked up and dropped into the middle of Omagh's little market town.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    17
    5
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fintona, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Super. As usual !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

What can I say ??? Luigi, the food, the atmosphere, the craic. It's always an enjoyable experience to visit La Gondola. AND, of course, Luigi's version of opera ! Must be heard to be believed.
I WILL BE BACK ! Again and again.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Harold C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

I sent my mother and father here and they thoroughly enjoyed the food be received. I have dined in luigis restaurant for a long time and personally I think is the best In Omagh. Superb food served in fantastic surroundings. CB

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Conorbrads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTHERN IRELAND
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Once again we have been treated to the best food in omagh. New menu with the same standards.
Well worth the number 1 in Omagh

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NS-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh
2 reviews
“Fantastic local Italian Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We have eaten in many restaurants over the years both local and abroad. La Gondola is up there with the best of them. Luigi the owner and staff are very friendly, the menu is varied, standard of food is excellent and great value. All the food is authentic Italian cuisine with the pasta freshly prepared in the restaurant.
If you still have room after your starter and main course the Tiramisu is to die for and the coffee is the best in Omagh!
Give it a go you will not be disappointed

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gandlOmagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Gondola also viewed

Omagh, County Tyrone
Omagh, County Tyrone
 
Omagh, County Tyrone
Omagh, County Tyrone
 

Been to La Gondola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing