We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic”
Review of QUAYWEST

QUAYWEST
Ranked #7 of 188 Restaurants in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: European, British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We were over in Derry visiting family and we all went out to eat at Quaywest. From the minute we went in to coming away I found everything to be top notch. The food was excellent, I had the "Barbary Duck" with "Arctic Roll" for dessert. Dan our waiter was very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. The atmosphere was right "up to the minute" and there was a wonderful "buzz"about the place. I can certainly recommend this restaurant to visitors especially, as the people of Derry must know this is one of the best.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheila F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quaywest-manage... D, Owner at QUAYWEST, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your recent review Sheila, much appreciated
Will pass your comments to Dan he will be delighted :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    694
    233
    89
    37
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great night out”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Went here fr a friends bday recently and had a great nite.good food and service and the cocktails were beautiful.the manager was able to make cocktails that we liked but werent on the menu.will def be back soon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Moj1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quaywest-manage... D, Owner at QUAYWEST, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your recent review, much appreciated :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Restaurant in Derry”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My wife and I have been to this Restaurant countless times, and we have never been disappointed. The food, service and atmosphere are excellent. It can get very busy, so try to book ahead for your table. We have been to quite a few other restaurants as we enjoy eating out but we never have the same satisfaction as when we dine in Quaywest. Thank you to all the staff.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Danny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quaywest-manage... D, Owner at QUAYWEST, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your recent review, much appreciated :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Subsidence on the Quay”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Recent visit, first in 6 months, seems to have been a change in core management & team over the last 12 months & it shows. Bar team, excellent as every, restaurant team well below par. Had to pay an extra £5 for a bottle of wine, because the one we wanted was out of stock & no suitable alternative. Surely u swallow up the cost & keep the customer happy.

Salmon dish excellent, Fillet steak, not so good, Would rather pay a little bit more for excellent service & product. Discounts are great, but not if you are cutting corners to deliver. Have previously driven over an hours drive, just to have dinner here, wouldn't rush back.

Definitely will be trying out some where else next visit to town

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TakeMeHome66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quaywest-manage... D, Owner at QUAYWEST, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
I am sorry we did not meet your expectations on your recent visit, we have taken on board your comments :-(
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

I decided to treat a friend for her birthday to dinner at Quaywest last night. We had booked for 9.15 and were seated by 9.30 which was fine. Ordered our starters (which were fine), mains and a bottle of wine. The bottle of wine was sat in between us with a dirty glass, I don't think it's much to ask that the wine be poured, depends on the standard the restaurant considers itself to deliver. Easily within 30 seconds of our starters being cleared, our main course was placed in front of us. No more than 10 seconds later a waiter came to check if everything was ok, this was before we had touched the food, this was the last interaction we had with staff until paying. The steaks we ordered medium rare had come medium well, if not well done. They had clearly been placed under hot lights waiting for us to finish our starters, this is really poor. I work in a restaurant, if I seen that happening I would have told the chef to put two new steaks on immediatley, especially considering they only take a few minutes to cook. Perhaps the manager on duty would have done so if he wasnt standing outside on his phone for 20 minutes. We were so put off that we didn't finish our main or order dessert. When we came to pay our bill the waiter taking payment didn't enquire as to how we found the meal. I left with a bad taste from a restaurant I visit regularly, it felt like our custom was not valued, it felt like the chefs were more concerned with getting home than cooking properly.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruairi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quaywest-manage... D, Owner at QUAYWEST, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
I'm sorry that we did not meet your expectations on your recent visit, we do have a bistro style service which is why we do not pour the wine, apologies about the glass , I will look into the service that you received this is not what we would expect :-(
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed QUAYWEST also viewed

Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 

Been to QUAYWEST? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing