We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to go”
Review of The Exchange

The Exchange
Ranked #9 of 188 Restaurants in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Exchange Restaurant and Wine Bar is a family friendly, informal restaurant located centrally near the Peace Bridge in the busy town centre. Established 10 years ago, we have become a well known attraction on the riverside. We serve a comprehensive range of good food, including vegetarian options, and quality wine. All of our food is locally sourced and freshly produced on the premises by professional chefs. The establishment has been awarded a Five Star hygiene rating.
Derry. N.Ireland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The place to go”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This restaurant is considered one of the best in the city. It is right in the centre of Derry- a beautiful walled city. The restaurant is right by a lovely riverside walk- ideal to build up an appetite beforehand or to walk off your meal afterwards. I left not one single morsel on my plate.The food was beautifully served by friendly staff to our party of ten.
This is the year to visit since Derry is the UK City of Culture 2013. Only disadvantage is that they only take bookings for larger groups and at busy times small numbers may have to wait for a table but it is well worth the wait.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daoinenaheireann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    184
    52
    20
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“What a Surprise”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Had heard about this establishment on several occasions & visited, with another couple on Saturday 12/1/13 for our 1st time. They had been before.
Will not be our last visit.
Very pleasant & clean inside, staff could not have been more friendly or helpful.
The food was nicely presented & excellent. 4 different dishes & the verdict from all was 'Delicious'.
Also great value for money.
The toilets were also spotless.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alan-robinson12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food.Great service.”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

The Exchange restaurant, in Derry is one of the best eating experiences you will find. The food is excellent as is the service, it is situated in the city centre just around the corner from Guildhall square. There is a lunch menu and a evening menu, both of which I would recommend to locals or visitors alike, and if you like desserts then you will be very well satisfied. I would give this restaurant 10/10 for food, service and location.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Leader of the pack”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

The exchange is the best restaurant for casual dining in Derry, we go at least once every few weeks. The menu has been copied by most of the restaurants in Derry but they cant quite get the quality or consistancy that the Exchange delivers. Well done Mark and team.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 11marley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The Exchange for dinner”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We ate here on our second evening in Derry/Londonderry. The location is perfect; on the river and near the centre of things. The dining room was pleasantly full and there was a very nice atmosphere. We explained that we needed to talk business and the waitress showed us to a table for four with plenty of room to spread papers, etc. The food was good and the staff pleasant and smiling. Service was prompt and unobtrusive.

Highly recommended.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tyremarxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Exchange also viewed

Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 

Been to The Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing