We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Serendipity House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Serendipity House
Ranked #6 of 47 Derry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

We had 2 nights here and we were so impressed. A beautiful house...room was great...the best bed I ve slept in. The room , and all of the house was so warm and cosy. The people were lovely...very friendly and helpful (and this extended to everyone we met!)...5 star treatment from Stephen and Paul...and a great breakfast from Yvonne...thank you !

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    79
    31
    12
    5
See reviews for
62
115
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swinford, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stayed 2 nights and had a compact but lovely room with a great view over the city - good hot shower, wifi, tv really comfortable bed nice bedlinen - everything you could want. Breakfast was continental style but with the owners freshly baked scones and croissants - i was sorry i didnt try the cooked breakfast for a very reasonable £3.50 extra - it will be good and there were plenty of options to choose but next time,,,,,
The owners were lovely ppl - friendly, informative with excellent knowledge of the city. The Serendipity was in easy walking distance of everything, parking wasn't a problem - we just had a really great time,

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bavose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stopped for 1 night in Derry and I must say I was pleasantly impressed by this guest house. The room was very clean and comfortable, and the view at night was just breathtaking. The owner was very friendly and accommodating. The location also is very convenient. I would recommend this guest house without any hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oana-Istrate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Three of us stayed here and we were instantly impressed with a view of the city from the breakfast room and the decor. The room was perfect and the mattresses were unbelievably comfortable.
The city centre was within strolling distance. Within a few minutes we were in a lovely restaurant.
Would highly recommend a stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelle0k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Our family of four shared a family room at Serendipity for one night. We had a very enjoyable stay! The location is central, lots of parking outside and the B&B is very charming. The room was comfortable and quiet, and breakfast in the morning was lovely. Stephen was a fantastic host who gave us all kinds of useful tourist information. Would highly recommend this Bed and breakfast to other travelers!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKawer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Just returned from a weekend in Derry, and the Serendipity House was fantastic. Great location, rooms, and food, and Stephen was an excellent host. The location was perfect for walking to and from the major attractions in town. I wouldn't of stayed anywhere else. Will return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Th0mas8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

I brought 10 university students for an overnight, and we couldn't have chosen a better place. The location is great, with a quiet street overlooking the Bogside. Very convenient to all of the sights and attractions. The rooms are beautiful, neat and beds are divine, with tea and coffee available in the rooms. Stephen is an excellent host and cooks a delicious Ulster Fry for breakfast (including a vegetarian version) with extra fruit, yogurt and scones. Highly recommended and we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FabiolaPal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.4 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#6 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,950 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Angel House Bed and Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Bridge B&B
Bridge B&B
#8 of 47 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serendipity House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serendipity House

Property: Serendipity House
Address: 26 Marlborough Street, Derry BT48 9AY, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Serendipity House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Derry, Serendipity House features panoramic views of the city and its historic walls. Derry Cathedral is only a minute's walk away.Serendipity House B&B was named one of the ‘12 Best Bed and Breakfasts in Britain' by The Times newspaper.Serendipity House offers comfortable, modern accommodation. All rooms include luxurious beds, power showers and individual decor. Free Wi-Fi and tea/coffee facilities are also available.Serendipity has a spacious decking area and a dining room. Foyleside Shopping Centre is an approximately 5-minute walk from Serendipity, while the city’s numerous bars, restaurants and shopping centres are less than 5 minutes away. Free on-site parking is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Serendipity House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serendipity House Hotel Derry
Serendipity House Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing