We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Serendipity House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Serendipity House
Ranked #4 of 44 Derry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Me and my mum stayed one night here in May 2013, around the time of the Derry Jazz Festival. Whilst the weather wasn't great, the B+B was fantastic, friendly welcome, lovely, clean room, with plenty of coffee, tea and biscuits. We had the use of a private bathroom, with a super hot shower.
The breaskfast included was ample, (continental) with loads of selection of cereals, fruits, cheese, muffins, irish bread, toast.
I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms were amazing:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinkydms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 311 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

We are just back down in Dublin after staying in Angel House, Serendipity's sister across the road. We were up for Other Voices, the amazing music festival and spent two nights in this great little spot. Our room was lovely, the shower was better than our own at home so we loved it and the staff are just little gems. We really felt at home there and would defo advise people to book in. Paul and Charlotte are great hosts and they gave us travel advice and told us about some great little pubs to go to. The breakfast finishes too early on the weekends though, i think ye should push it to 10am or 1030. X

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joestarstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

My Aunt and I spent two night in a lovely room overlooking the street. Initially we only intended to stay one night but after information provided by Stephen we changed our mind.

Stephen met us and showed us to our room which was spotlessly clean, beautifully appointed and with a great ensuite. Stephen assured me that the water pressure was good and that I would not run out of water....he was true to his word. The ensuite was a good size.

Stephen is a credit to his establishment, his city and country. He provided us with information on where to go and what to see and was engaging and knowledgable about his home city.

Whilst a cooked breakfast does cost a few Extra Euros, we were not looking for this and where well pleased with toast, cereal, yogurts and fruits.....and a good stong cup of tea.

I do not understand the negative reviews. I found that Serendipity delivered all that it stated on various sites. The information on credit card charges and breakfast are there for all to see. For a budget conscious traveller, Serendipity delivers.

As women travellers, safety and security is paramount and Serendipty delivers in this respect also.

I hope to bring my daughter back to Derry and we will be staying here.

Room Tip: The front room is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noeleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Pro|: owner very nice, nice room, very flexible, great shower, nice toilette
Con: no toilette paper, we asked for it, for Irish breakfast you should pay more, is not included, if you pay with credit card is more expensive

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amelie123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have just returned home from a two night stay at Serendipity and am somewhat disappointed with some aspects of my stay. Firstly I would say how clean the room was on my arrival with regard to bedding and ensuite however my room was not hoovered, tea, milk etc replenished and had very little hand soap in the ensuite. There was neither a liner in the bin ensuite and no bin at all in the bedroom - not very hygenic!!! My biggest disappointment was breakfast, having paid £40 per night this did not include a cooked breakfast. The quality of the 'continental' style was really quite dibolical. The fresh fruit was well past being edible, the cold meat was clearly of the cheapest cuts and left on uncovered plates and a sliced tomato which was so limp fell apart when I tried to lift it off the plate. This really is not good value for money when you are paying £40 per night. I had a four day stay in September travelling in the South of Ireland and paid £25 for a nights stay with a fully irish breakfast included in all my accommodation, therefore in comparision this is a complete rip off. I would not recommend this B & B as value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I fail to understand how this Bed & Breakfast has earned itself the accolades it apparently receives, from Trip Advisor and the Times. There’s no way this is one of the 12 best B&B in the UK! I’ll give it the following, the staff are agreeable, the place is clean and tidy and the view of Derry from the dining room and bedroom are very good, but that’s all. The attic double room we were allocated cannot by any stretch of imagination be described as luxurious, it is tiny, with an on-suite shower room that is even tinier and not a single cupboard or chest of drawers to store clothes. Talk about swinging a cat, two people hardly fit in, what with the inevitable suitcases on the floor. Once you’re in, the shower is a good one, but the basin is about 25 cm in diameter and you have to open the bathroom door in order to be able to stand in front of the mirror to shave. However, the main complaints are that the breakfast doesn’t include hot plates unless they’re ordered the day before and they come with a surcharge; first night admittance is limited to 20.00 hours (although this cut off time was stretched to 21.00 after a telephone call); and, worst of all, payment has to be made in cash with a 5% surcharge if you insist on paying by credit card… totally unacceptable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maignon48b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulderry, Manager at Serendipity House, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2012

I would like to thank the guest for there review, however i do feel that the guests expectations may far exceed the product that we offer, the guest must have missed the two lockers and the dresser which in total as 9 drawers, we do not pretend to be a five star establishment, we are offering budget accommodation to the middle market and value for money prices, we are a converted town house and as such some rooms (not all) have been limited in size to accommodate en-suites, we pride ourself on our standard of finish in each room to compensate for our shortfalls eg, excellent showers, top end beds and fitting and furniture, The guest has failed to mention a lot of detail and has somewhat embellished the shortfalls, we offer continental breakfast as standard with the option of cooked at a mere £3.50, which guest quite often do not wish for as we include but not limit to, 6 cereals, fruit salad, yougarts, pate, fresh cut ham form the local butcher, two cheeses, salami, tomatoes, freshly baked scones, pancakes and muffins, orange juice, 4 different tea's, coffee, white and brown toast,
Im sorry that this guest felt so disappointed with there stay, however i do feel people who want five star accommodation should book 5 star accommodation.

many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Myself and a friend visited Serendipity House for a long weekend at the end of May. Although slightly on the small side, the room was fine - it suited our needs, was very clean and the bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in away from home! Breakfast was very nice and set us up for the day. The owners and staff made us feel extremely welcome and went out of their way to help, giving us tips on where to go and what to see. I would definitely recommend Serendipity to anyone visiting Derry and will be sure to return there if I visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura2687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.4 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
1.2 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#4 of 13 in Derry
1,298 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#8 of 13 in Derry
2,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Angel House Bed and Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Bridge B&B
Bridge B&B
#3 of 44 in Derry
83 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serendipity House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serendipity House

Address: 26 Marlborough Street, Derry BT48 9AY, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price Range: $55 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Serendipity House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Derry, Serendipity House features panoramic views of the city and its historic walls. Derry Cathedral is only a minute's walk away.Serendipity House B&B was named one of the ‘12 Best Bed and Breakfasts in Britain' by The Times newspaper.Serendipity House offers comfortable, modern accommodation. All rooms include luxurious beds, power showers and individual decor. Free Wi-Fi and tea/coffee facilities are also available.Serendipity has a spacious decking area and a dining room. Foyleside Shopping Centre is an approximately 5-minute walk from Serendipity, while the city’s numerous bars, restaurants and shopping centres are less than 5 minutes away. Free on-site parking is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Serendipity House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serendipity House Hotel Derry
Serendipity House Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing