We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of Serendipity House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Serendipity House
Ranked #5 of 43 Derry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
reggio nell'emilia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Pro|: owner very nice, nice room, very flexible, great shower, nice toilette
Con: no toilette paper, we asked for it, for Irish breakfast you should pay more, is not included, if you pay with credit card is more expensive

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amelie123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    84
    31
    12
    6
See reviews for
64
125
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have just returned home from a two night stay at Serendipity and am somewhat disappointed with some aspects of my stay. Firstly I would say how clean the room was on my arrival with regard to bedding and ensuite however my room was not hoovered, tea, milk etc replenished and had very little hand soap in the ensuite. There was neither a liner in the bin ensuite and no bin at all in the bedroom - not very hygenic!!! My biggest disappointment was breakfast, having paid £40 per night this did not include a cooked breakfast. The quality of the 'continental' style was really quite dibolical. The fresh fruit was well past being edible, the cold meat was clearly of the cheapest cuts and left on uncovered plates and a sliced tomato which was so limp fell apart when I tried to lift it off the plate. This really is not good value for money when you are paying £40 per night. I had a four day stay in September travelling in the South of Ireland and paid £25 for a nights stay with a fully irish breakfast included in all my accommodation, therefore in comparision this is a complete rip off. I would not recommend this B & B as value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I fail to understand how this Bed & Breakfast has earned itself the accolades it apparently receives, from Trip Advisor and the Times. There’s no way this is one of the 12 best B&B in the UK! I’ll give it the following, the staff are agreeable, the place is clean and tidy and the view of Derry from the dining room and bedroom are very good, but that’s all. The attic double room we were allocated cannot by any stretch of imagination be described as luxurious, it is tiny, with an on-suite shower room that is even tinier and not a single cupboard or chest of drawers to store clothes. Talk about swinging a cat, two people hardly fit in, what with the inevitable suitcases on the floor. Once you’re in, the shower is a good one, but the basin is about 25 cm in diameter and you have to open the bathroom door in order to be able to stand in front of the mirror to shave. However, the main complaints are that the breakfast doesn’t include hot plates unless they’re ordered the day before and they come with a surcharge; first night admittance is limited to 20.00 hours (although this cut off time was stretched to 21.00 after a telephone call); and, worst of all, payment has to be made in cash with a 5% surcharge if you insist on paying by credit card… totally unacceptable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maignon48b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulderry, Manager at Serendipity House, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
I would like to thank the guest for there review, however i do feel that the guests expectations may far exceed the product that we offer, the guest must have missed the two lockers and the dresser which in total as 9 drawers, we do not pretend to be a five star establishment, we are offering budget accommodation to the middle market and value for money prices, we are a converted town house and as such some rooms (not all) have been limited in size to accommodate en-suites, we pride ourself on our standard of finish in each room to compensate for our shortfalls eg, excellent showers, top end beds and fitting and furniture, The guest has failed to mention a lot of detail and has somewhat embellished the shortfalls, we offer continental breakfast as standard with the option of cooked at a mere £3.50, which guest quite often do not wish for as we include but not limit to, 6 cereals, fruit salad, yougarts, pate, fresh cut ham form the local butcher, two cheeses, salami, tomatoes, freshly baked scones, pancakes and muffins, orange juice, 4 different tea's, coffee, white and brown toast,
Im sorry that this guest felt so disappointed with there stay, however i do feel people who want five star accommodation should book 5 star accommodation.

many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Myself and a friend visited Serendipity House for a long weekend at the end of May. Although slightly on the small side, the room was fine - it suited our needs, was very clean and the bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in away from home! Breakfast was very nice and set us up for the day. The owners and staff made us feel extremely welcome and went out of their way to help, giving us tips on where to go and what to see. I would definitely recommend Serendipity to anyone visiting Derry and will be sure to return there if I visit again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura2687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

when we arrived at serendipity house we were greeted by the owner Stephen who was very pleasant and left us in the capable hands of Shirley who showed us to our room which was lovely and clean, had an en suite and an amazing view from the window! We were given a key to come and go as we please. After being out all day we would come back and sit in the lounge to watch tv. We had a tv in the room, but we loved to sit downstairs and chat to stephen and his mum Charlotte and dad Paul. I have never been to a b & b and given such a warm welcome!! Paul told us it would only cost £2.50 to get a cab back from town but the walk in to town isn't far, downhill and uphill on the way back which we weren't looking forward to, but enjoyed immensly! Thank you so much for making the 3 of us sooooo welcome!! xxx

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catherine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

My two friends and I had a comfortable and very enjoyable stay at the Serendipity House on our first trip to Derry this weekend and couldn't have asked for better hosts, (Charlotte, Paul and Stephen), the lovely owners of this cosy little Guest House. Nothing was too much trouble for them. They made us feel very welcome and gave us some good tips on places of interest to see. The Continental breakfast was also very nice and we would have no hesitation at all in recommending the Serendipity to anyone looking for a warm welcome to Derry. Lilian, Catherine and Margaret.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilianGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We recently stayed at the Serendipity House in Derry with a prepaid reservation. We based our decision on what we had read from others who had stayed there and it all seemed ok. Well, when we arrived, the owner wasn't there but a nice guest greeted us. So we waited and waited for the owner to come and check us in and show us to our room. The room was WAY TO SMALL with a queen bed in the main room and a cot with a horrible mattress that was in what could only be described as a foyer off the bathroom. That was my bed! And the bathroom was so small and so badly designed, I couldn't stand in front of the sink because the toilet was there. And then we took our showers which flooded the bathroom floor and ended up seeping through the ceiling and onto the ground floor sitting room. The owner and this guest banged on our door and threw towels at us and said no more showering. Sleeping that night simply didn't happen as it was too hot and no fan or ventilation of any kind. So, the next morning we went down to the breakfast room which looked out over the rear yard which was full of rubbish from a remodel. The breakfast was very skimpy. We spoke with the owner and asked for our money back and he REFUSED AND WALKED AWAY. HOW RUDE!
We were in Ireland for 18 days and this was the only B&B that was HORRIBLE. All the others were over the top wonderful with very gracious hosts and I have reviewed all of those on TripAdvisor with glorious praise.
I can't say enough HORRIBLE things about this place and this owner. Do yourself a favor and DON'T STAY HERE.

Room Tip: My tip is don't stay here!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulderry, Manager at Serendipity House, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Im soo sorry that this guest has felt the need to be so critical and highly in acurate about her experience, as we all know as accommodation providers that there is as in life a small minority who choose to deliberalty sully peoples reputation without just cause or care, i can only hope that this will not detract or influence future guests, we have had thousands of guests through our doors ovrer the past few years who have enjoyed every aspect of there stay with us and we hope that this will continue in time to come,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.4 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 12 in Derry
1,993 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.5 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 12 in Derry
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 12 in Derry
1,232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Angel House Bed and Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Bridge B&B
Bridge B&B
#4 of 43 in Derry
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serendipity House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serendipity House

Property: Serendipity House
Address: 26 Marlborough Street, Derry BT48 9AY, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Serendipity House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Derry, Serendipity House features panoramic views of the city and its historic walls. Derry Cathedral is only a minute's walk away.Serendipity House B&B was named one of the ‘12 Best Bed and Breakfasts in Britain' by The Times newspaper.Serendipity House offers comfortable, modern accommodation. All rooms include luxurious beds, power showers and individual decor. Free Wi-Fi and tea/coffee facilities are also available.Serendipity has a spacious decking area and a dining room. Foyleside Shopping Centre is an approximately 5-minute walk from Serendipity, while the city’s numerous bars, restaurants and shopping centres are less than 5 minutes away. Free on-site parking is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Serendipity House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serendipity House Hotel Derry
Serendipity House Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing