We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thelma and Louise go to Derry”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Serendipity House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Serendipity House
Ranked #6 of 47 Derry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dromahair, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Thelma and Louise go to Derry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Serendipity is motivated by excellent personal service and individual attention in a relaxed friendly atmosphere. Stephen shared his local knowledge with us and made our stay and exploration of the city so enjoyable. The breakfast was very tasty and a real substantial start to the day. The location is very convenient and a very quiet street. The bedrooms were very comfortable and we had a great sleep. We enjoyed the craic and we would highly recommend Serendipity. We look forward to returning there. Thanks everyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leitrim1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    79
    31
    12
    5
See reviews for
62
115
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perry, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

We arrived late in the day, and after a few wrong turns, and one way streets, we arrived at this little gem of a B&B. At first we were a bit apprehensive about the neighborhood, but soon realized it was a great location, and perfectly safe. Obviously tourists need to exercise care wherever they travel. Our hosts, Paul and Stephen were most gracious and helpful in giving directions and suggestions about places to visit and restaurants. Serendipity House is within walking distance to the Walled City, where we found a great walking tour, lovely shopping and wonderful Irish food. The rooms are on the smallish side, which is to be expected of this refurbished neighborhood, but they were adequate, and spotlessly clean. These folks provided the most comfortable beds and luxurious bedding, of all the places we stayed during our three week visit in this beautiful country. We did not choose the full hot Irish breakfast, for an extra charge, because the provided Continental breakfast was lovely, and more than adequate. The breakfast room was bright and cheery with a view of the walled city. We highly recommend Serendipity House to visitors to Derry City, and will choose to stay here again on a future visit. Great value for the cost.

Room Tip: Don't judge this B&B by it location. Our street facing 2nd floor room was nice and very qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niseko
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

This has to be the most appalling hotel I have ever stayed in...or should I call it a hostel.
We booked through bookings.com under the impression that my 23 and 21 year old chjildren and I had a "family" room with 2 double and 1 single bed. This is what it stated! When we arrived, there was one double bed and 1 single bed. I queried this with the young man who checked us in and he was adamant that it stated on all of the sites they were on that there were only 2 beds. Not so if he actually looked!
That was only the start of the horrid experience:
The shower attachment was coming away from the wall.
The shower recess sealing was falling off which meant that the floor outside the shower was covered with water.
There was no bath mat provided.
There was also no soap in the bathroom and when my son went to ask for some, he was told that it was not provided. Staggering.
Overall, a terrible experience. Do not stay there!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank person88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Serendipity House, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
I would like to thank the guest for there review, however i feel deeply saddened that the guest felt this way about our accommodation, i would like to assure future guests that this review is far from the truth as our many other reviews will indeed confirm, i'm just glad to see that petulance and bad will still exists in the world. finally a pictures says a thousand words, please have a look and decide for yourself, many thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

We arrived in Derry after a wonderful drive up the west coast. Found Serendipity with not too much trouble.
Stephen met us at the door and insisted on carrying our heaviest bag in from the street parking, right outside.
He was the perfect host and guide for the city, which was all within easy walking distance.
The top of the house room is small but with the best view over the city.
The continental breakfast was very good and cooked items could be added at a very reasonable cost. Altogether a very enjoyable stay in 2013's city of culture!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alex b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

As we arrived at the B&B, Paul was already waiting for us and the welcome was very lovely! We enjoied our stay and we would recommend this B&B to all our Friends! Good walking distance to the city center an a beautiful view out of the dinning room!Free wifi in every room :-) und nun kurz auf Deutsch...Wirklich sehr zu empfehlen, vorallem wegen der Gastfreundlichkeit und der tollen Restaurantempfehlung! Thanks to Paul and Stephen

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeLoMoMu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

My wife and I visited this B & B a couple of years ago following a review in this website and a cheap deal from Ryanair(completely free flights).

First impression on arriving by taxi was not good as firstly we went through an obviously strong republican area with tricolours on lamposts etc. and then entered what appeared to be a rather dark, down at heel street, however the B and B itself was well lit up.

On entering we were pleasantly surprised with nice, bright and clean accommodation and a very friendly welcome from the owner, Steven. we were the only guests that night and Steven advised us that we were in the top floor bedroom as he though we would appreciate the view but we were welcome to change lower down if we preferred. We did n't change as both room and view were fine. The breakfast was good also( not the biggest I've ever had but OK). The information we were given about all the local sites, pubs etc from Steven helped us have a very enjoyable visit to Londonderry and daylight showed the surroundings to be a lot better than it looked on arrival. We were there for 4 nights and as it was my wife's first visit to Northern Ireland we took a day trip on the service bus to Belfast and did the tour bus thing there. The location of the B and B is only a 5-10 minute walk to the Town Centre( 15 mins. on the way back as its uphill) and we walked most of the time to all the various places we went to visit. We hope to return someday and would recommend this to anyone looking for good accommodation. This may have changed but Steven told us that if we had booked directly with him by phone we would have saved £10.00 per night compared to the web price.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeeEckGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

Great b&b,had a wonderful time amazing rooms stunning view of the city of Derry great host and good value 10/10 :)

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tessahouze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.4 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#6 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,950 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Angel House Bed and Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Bridge B&B
Bridge B&B
#8 of 47 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serendipity House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serendipity House

Property: Serendipity House
Address: 26 Marlborough Street, Derry BT48 9AY, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Serendipity House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Derry, Serendipity House features panoramic views of the city and its historic walls. Derry Cathedral is only a minute's walk away.Serendipity House B&B was named one of the ‘12 Best Bed and Breakfasts in Britain' by The Times newspaper.Serendipity House offers comfortable, modern accommodation. All rooms include luxurious beds, power showers and individual decor. Free Wi-Fi and tea/coffee facilities are also available.Serendipity has a spacious decking area and a dining room. Foyleside Shopping Centre is an approximately 5-minute walk from Serendipity, while the city’s numerous bars, restaurants and shopping centres are less than 5 minutes away. Free on-site parking is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Serendipity House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serendipity House Hotel Derry
Serendipity House Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing