We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally Satisfactory”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2009

This hotel is situated about a mile outside the city, maybe a bit far for walking with the shopping, but the city has a good bit of parking if you bring the car. Hotel has plenty of parking. I traveled with my elderly mother who uses a wheelchair and we found the hotel very accessible throughout. Rooms are large and have everything you could need. Good menus with room service. Food very enjoyable, and a relaxing atmosphere throughout. Derry/Londonderry is a very interesting and compact city to explore and it's worth taking a guided tour and have the fascinating history explained. It is a handy base from which to set out to the lovely Inishowen Peninsula of Donegal or the attractive areas of County Derry. Thumbs up all around!

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DublinFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (920)
There are newer reviews for Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

846 - 852 of 920 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2009

having read other reviews about how friendly the staff were and how nice the hotel itself was i was expecting the same quality myself! and boy did they deliver!! Our room was spacious and clean, staff were only to happy to help with any enquiries we made and were so pleasant towards us and down to earth and outgoing, so much that we decided to get some pictures with them! definately made a big contribution to the enjoyment of our weekend! breakfast and dinner were delicious and to top off our weekend we met a celebrity!
the hotel was reasonably priced and cannot wait until my next stay in da vincis. will definately be returning in the near future!
only 3 stars but really deserves more!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 9,876,543,210,086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2009

As other reviewers have noted, this hotel is a little bit outside of Derry city centre. Having said that, taxis are plentiful and much cheaper than 'down south'. There's a sainsbury's nearby too if you want to stock up on shopping (again, very handy for those from the south), but if you are shopping on a sunday, remember that, like all shops in the north, it's not open till 1.00pm.

The front desk is very friendly - always a bonus; rooms are very clean and nicely furnished. Our room rate was reasonable - we didn't feel that breakfast at £8 per person was though so skipped it - i think it probably should be included with the room rate (a friend who opted for it said it was very good). The double bed was a little cramped for two - lucky there were two in the room so we took one each (i'd say they are standard double beds so not strangely small, but at the same time, if you are staying in a hotel, it's nice to have a bigger bed than home!). Water pressure was great in the shower.

We went to the nightclub that night and really enjoyed it - also liked the fact that when we went back to our room later (and the music continued), no noise leaked into our room on the second floor.

We found the approach taken by the hotel of locking all the front doors while the nightclub was on (so you had to wait for a member of staff to unlock it and check your name against a list) was rather less friendly than the rest of the hotel's approach but i suppose if it guarantees a quiet night, i can't complain.

we'd definitely recommend it and stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2009

We stayed at this hotel after having read the review in the Lonely Planet- Derry's best hotel, essentially, 'where the celebrities and politicians stay'.

Absolutely not.

It's a Ramada- I think the review was written prior to it becoming a Ramada- nevertheless, it's now a Ramada.

It's decent and clean and everything, but NOT A BOUTIQUE HOTEL AS DESCRIBED IN THE LONELY PLANET REVIEW.

It's a Ramada.

Having said all this, it's bar is fantastic, and may possibly even be worth a visit even if staying elsewhere. Friendly, lively and classic.

But the hotel is nothing special.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle-Loic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDVs, General Manager at Da Vinci's Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2009

Hi,

Many thanks for the time taken to provide feedback.

The Lonely Planet Guide review was carried out some time ago and is an independent review to which we have no control or influence. The hotel is independently owned but operates under a Ramada brand and has done so for a couple of years, mainly to enhance the presence of the Hotel on a global basis as well as to help to create more awareness about Derry in the international marketplace. It’s a shame we didn’t meet your expectations however we are committed to enhancing the product through improving service and the facilities on site.

Many thanks again

Fintan Kelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2009

I have stayed at Da Vinci's for a total 10 weeks, during 5 visits over the past 2 years (or so). I have stayed in other motels in the area, and ALWAYS come back here. The staff is exceptionally helpful and friendly, and I have no complaints. I have stayed at the so-called "4-Star" motel in the area, "City Hotel," as well, and now stay exclusively at Da Vinci's. The bar is beautiful, and restaurant is pretty good, though the menu is somewhat limited. Just a very comfortable, no-problem stay!

There are only 4 things that keep it from being a "perfect" hotel:
1. No Air Conditioning.
2. Too far from City Center to walk - Taxi costs 3 GB Pounds
3. Beds are harder than I like.
4. Bar quits serving food too soon (8:30pm) - restaurant is a bit later

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dadidm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2009

We only stayed here one night last week but got in late and found our room to be ready with a baby cot/crib. The reception was incredibly nice. Dinner was fab with a great wait staff and hostess. They entertained the baby and helped take care of us. They were able to help with different activities.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kelley99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2009

Given the nearing expiry date of a Hotel voucher, we choose to have the break at the Ramada Da Vinci's Hotel in Derry.
First, a thank you for a nice stay in your hotel. Friendly and helpful staff, good food and wine, nice bar, relaxed (late) breakfast times, free paper, and a comfortable bedroom were the highlights of our stay.
The only constructive remark we would like to make is that the bedroom temperature was set too high at arrival, this should be set at a low to medium level. Also for environmental reasons.
I would recommend to include in the upfront information about the use of Hotel voucher/Ramada Hotel, the limitations on the use of the voucher for dinner (standard menu versus other options). Also, to state that the Saturday night is a party evening, attracting many local Derry people aged 30+.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jks60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
1.1 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 13 in Derry
2,065 reviews
1.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
1.4 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 13 in Derry
1,262 reviews
3.9 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
1.3 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#11 of 13 in Derry
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Da Vinci's Hotel Derry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Da Vinci's Hotel Derry

Address: 15 Culmore Road, Derry BT48 8JB, Northern Ireland (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Derry
#7 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#7 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#8 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range: $92 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Da Vinci's Hotel Derry 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Da Vinci’s Hotel Derry is the ideal base for sightseeing breaks in the North West of Ireland. Da Vinci’s is located just one mile from Derry City Centre and just a 15 minute walk to the historic Derry City Walls. Our guests are also conveniently located to visit the Giant’s Causeway, Royal Portrush Golf Course and Donegal’s breath taking scenery. Ramada Da Vinci’s Hotel in Derry can boast of having the largest bedrooms in the city; these 65 bedrooms are contemporary in style and include the fabulous Morrison Suite, Club and Superior bedrooms. In addition to our comfortable hotel accommodation Da Vinci’s Hotel Derry offers all guests complimentary car parking and complimentary unlimited Wi-Fi throughout the building. On site at Da Vinci’s Hotel guests can enjoy an award winning Irish traditional bar which serves the best pint of Guinness in Derry and on Friday and Saturday nights the hotel offers free entertainment in The Spirit Bar nightclub. Da Vinci’s Hotel’s restaurant The Grillroom provides guests with atmospheric surroundings, exceptional service and the highest quality of locally sourced menus at affordable prices. For business meetings and conferences in Derry, Da Vinci’s Hotel Derry provides contemporary facilities that can cater for up to 120 delegates with complimentary unlimited wi-fi and car parking. At Da Vinci’s Hotel Derry a warm and heartfelt welcome awaits you with engaging and anticipatory service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Da Vinci's Hotel Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Derry
Derry Ramada
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing