We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We were travelling around Northern Ireland and had nothing booked in advance. Called this hotel in the morning to ask for the best rate, and we were happy with the rate for 2 connecting rooms. The rooms were on the ground floor and we were concerned about noise, but there was no issue. We left the car in the parking lot and took a taxi into town. Breakfast the next morning was fine. We were moving onto Belfast the next day and were having trouble finding well-priced accommodation. Shannon at the front desk went out of her way to help us out and secured a reservation for us - many thanks for going the extra mile.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctpToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaVincisHotel, Sales & Marketing Manager at Da Vinci's Hotel Derry, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear ‘ctp Toronto’,
It is lovely to hear from you and thank you for taking the time to review your experience. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and that Shannon our receptionist impressed you so much. We have a great team at the hotel and it is encouraging for them when a guest takes the time to mention them personally so thank you. We hope you enjoyed your visit to Northern Ireland and hope you will visit again soon.
Best wishes,
Natasha O’Hea
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    248
    83
    32
    40
See reviews for
174
274
28
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derrylin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

stayed here for 2 days we went to derry for a 40th birthday in the town , got a great deal for 2 nights room only but plenty of places about for breakfast , there was a breakfast place open called wheelers , just a short walk away, i always try to eat at the hotel but on this occasion i missed it the first morning and the 2nd morning, i well lets say the 40th went on a bit later than expected. Overall a good hotel with free parking, a bit far from the town but taxis are easy too get !!

The girls on the front desk where excellent and they dont always get the praise they deserve

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaVincisHotel, Sales & Marketing Manager at Da Vinci's Hotel Derry, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear ‘peter a’,
I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on this forum. I am delighted your birthday celebrations went so well and that your enjoyed staying at our hotel. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to our front desk staff and thank you for mentioning them in your review they are excellent at their job and as you have said don’t always get the praise they deserve! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Many Thanks,
Natasha O’Hea
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Overall the staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms are dated with no fridge or any moving air which makes it a bit stuffy. With 14 of us travelling together the bar and bar food was great for us, we spent more time there than in the room thankfully.

Great food and atmosphere, rooms could use an updating.

Room Tip: Make sure you qualify what you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael_NT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaVincisHotel, Sales & Marketing Manager at Da Vinci's Hotel Derry, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear ‘Michael_NT’,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we appreciate all feedback from guests. I am pleased you and your friend enjoyed our main bar and our gastro menu offering, we are very fortunate to have an authentic traditional Irish bar within the hotel complex and it is very popular with all our guests. We pride ourselves on providing quality facilities and service to our guests and are continually improving them to maintain our high standards. We are currently working through renovation project which includes bedrooms, restaurant and night club so the next time you visit you will have modern luxurious offering to enjoy.
Many Thanks,
Natasha O’Hea
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

With our group of 33 Australians and 2 Brits on a coach, we stayed in this hotel on 14th June '13. It is a big modern hotel and our room, 205, had a big, double, comfortable bed. In the bathroom we had a shower over the bath which could be awkward to get into if one had mobility problems. The only critisism is that the soap provided was the liquid variety in dispensers with no cloths or sponges to use to apply it. Dinner was good and had in an unusual styled restaurant with high vaulted ceilings. breakfast was buffet style and plentiful but I felt the sausages were of poor quality.
In the evening, water started to pour through the ceiling in the bathroom. A person above us had started to run a bath and then fallen asleep! The management staff responded very quickly with mops and buckets but we were unable to change rooms as the hotel was full. The exhaust fan would not switch off until the fuse was pulled and we dared not use the lights in the bathroom for the rest of the night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmydeeinhq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaVincisHotel, Sales & Marketing Manager at Da Vinci's Hotel Derry, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear ‘emmydeeinhq’,
Thank you for providing your comprehensive review of your recent stay at our hotel. I am pleased that you had a pleasant one night stay and that our found our bedrooms comfortable and spacious. I can only apologies for the issue with the above guest’s bathroom this was out of our control but I am pleased that the staff dealt with the problem efficiently and to your satisfaction. It is a pity you had not spoke to our front desk in relation to your bathroom fan as this could have been resolved very easily. I hope enjoyed your visit to Derry and that you return again soon.
Best wishes,
Natasha O’Hea
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I booked this online, then had to cancel as my business took me to Belfast instead. I called the hotel as soon as I knew and thought no more about it.
Then I get a call saying I had not been, and would be charged. I explained what had happened and was asked for the cancellation number. I had no recall of a cancellation number ever being mentioned, but was told this was essential. Not being happy with this, the girl on the line assured me they would call me back, but never did.
I called, and was told they would check with the staff on duty, and.....they would call me back. They didnt.
I was promised another call back on the Monday, from the Reservations manager......no call.

Now I am told that they have asked the staff who were on duty, all deny having made this mistake, and essentially it means I am lying! I am disgusted by the level of run around this hotel have given me. I travel all the time, have great respect for the hotel trade and staff and am generous in my positive feedback wherever I see good service. Avoid this hotel like the plague!

I will be taking this to Ramada head quarters, as I have been promised, yet again a call back from the General Manager this time.......not holding my breath.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank minnie016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaVincisHotel, Sales & Marketing Manager at Da Vinci's Hotel Derry, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear ‘Minnie016’,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I would like to highlight that you posted this comment whilst you were on holidays from work and the only contact details we had for you was a work email address and telephone number which we attempted to contacted numerous times during your annual leave to discuss your issues. My colleagues in our accommodation department have informed me that any grievances you have had are now resolves and we look forward to welcoming you to Da Vinci’s Hotel soon.
Best wishes,
Natasha O’Hea
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed recently in a junior suite. No view other than a building directly opposite with banks of extractor fans. Room was spacious but both furniture and fittings were tired. Large bathroom but extractor fan not working which resulted in fogging from steaming hot water - a danger in itself.
Breakfast next morning was forgettable. Will try another establishment before returning here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank conagra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaVincisHotel, Sales & Marketing Manager at Da Vinci's Hotel Derry, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear ‘conagra’,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is unfortunate that you didn't have a good stay, our Morrison Suite is very popular with guests and this is the first complaint we have had which has been passed on to our General Manager for his consideration.
Regards,
Natasha O’Hea
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Hello I stayed in ramada few times even if I live in the same city :) great rooms with the great deals sometimes include a evening meal and breakfast :) the rooms are spacious and very modern and clean the staff are really friendly and attentive nothing is too much for them will definitely stay again :)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaciejM53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaVincisHotel, Sales & Marketing Manager at Da Vinci's Hotel Derry, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear ‘maciejM53’,
It is lovely to hear positive feedback from a loyal customer, so I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
With Kindest Regards,
Natasha O’Hea
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
1.1 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 12 in Derry
1,994 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 12 in Derry
539 reviews
1.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 12 in Derry
1,231 reviews
3.9 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
1.3 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#10 of 12 in Derry
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Da Vinci's Hotel Derry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Da Vinci's Hotel Derry

Property: Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
Address: 15 Culmore Road, Derry BT48 8JB, Northern Ireland (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Derry
#7 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#7 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#8 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Da Vinci's Hotel Derry 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Da Vinci’s Hotel Derry is the ideal base for sightseeing breaks in the North West of Ireland. Da Vinci’s is located just one mile from Derry City Centre and just a 15 minute walk to the historic Derry City Walls. Our guests are also conveniently located to visit the Giant’s Causeway, Royal Portrush Golf Course and Donegal’s breath taking scenery. Ramada Da Vinci’s Hotel in Derry can boast of having the largest bedrooms in the city; these 65 bedrooms are contemporary in style and include the fabulous Morrison Suite, Club and Superior bedrooms. In addition to our comfortable hotel accommodation Da Vinci’s Hotel Derry offers all guests complimentary car parking and complimentary unlimited Wi-Fi throughout the building. On site at Da Vinci’s Hotel guests can enjoy an award winning Irish traditional bar which serves the best pint of Guinness in Derry and on Friday and Saturday nights the hotel offers free entertainment in The Spirit Bar nightclub. Da Vinci’s Hotel’s restaurant The Grillroom provides guests with atmospheric surroundings, exceptional service and the highest quality of locally sourced menus at affordable prices. For business meetings and conferences in Derry, Da Vinci’s Hotel Derry provides contemporary facilities that can cater for up to 120 delegates with complimentary unlimited wi-fi and car parking. At Da Vinci’s Hotel Derry a warm and heartfelt welcome awaits you with engaging and anticipatory service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Da Vinci's Hotel Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Derry
Derry Ramada
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing