We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Musical and passionate host”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Abbey Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 44 Derry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Seamus is passionate about his city, and shared this with us at our recent stay in Derry. His B and B is clean, comfortable and absolutely central . He is also a keen musician and we are guessing that the next anthems for Derry is his composition! So you get not just a warm and informative. host when you stay at the Abbey.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatureLover1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (549)
There are newer reviews for Abbey Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 549 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

Derry is a wonderful city filled with important (and tragic) history. The Abbey Bed and Breakfast is located right in the middle of the Bogside, and access to the Walled City is excellent. Even though the Bogside is the heart of Derry's violent past, a visitor today wouldn't know it except for the murals scattered around that document the politics and emotions of the area.

Seamus Kennedy is a natural host. He invited Gary and me to the first concert of his rather large musical group called Once in a Blue Moon that performed downtown. As a bed and breakfast, the Abbey is about on par with most establishments. Our room was pleasant enough, but with a very small bathroom. Breakfast isn't the usual "buffet" style that one typically finds in B&Bs in Northern Ireland but is cooked to order. Options for a "continental-style" breakfast (breads, fruit, yogurt, etc) are, perhaps, a little limited.

We wouldn't hesitate to return to the Abbey for another bed and breakfast experience in Derry!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwitravelerpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed back in early May 2013 and have nothing but praise for Abbey B&B.

Namely, Seamus and his wife who are just wonderful. They went above and beyond for us and asked for nothing in return. We left some important items behind after our stay and Seamus pulled it from the room for safe keeping until we could pick it up late that night. Phew! A hero in our eyes still! Thank you!

The rooms are tidy and quiet for being near the centre of the city. It is very affordable and we were spoiled for breakfast. Some of the best black pudding we had on our trip around Ireland.

Seamus also had great recommendations for site-seeing, meals and lively nightlife!

We were only sad it poured rain the entire 2 days we stayed. But, hey! That's what keeps the grass so green.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RC_Empire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed here on August 17,18,19; our host Seamus was as enthusiastic and as helpful as always; the Fleadh Cheoil was in full swing, which is why we visited Derry at this time; Seamus gave us a warm welcome by playing "The Boston Burglar" on the squeezebox. He has done over the breakfast/sitting room since my last visit--is now a tearoom, serving breakfast and lunch. Beautiful re-decorating with many interesting photos, stories, etc on the walls; the full breakfast was delicious. We highly recommend this B+B

Room Tip: NOTE: error above-there is no fitness center
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I did not really stayed at the b&b but in the self-catering house just 100 meters from the b&b on b&b conditions (for 1 night as all rooms were ful). Situation is superb on walking distance of the old city, the bogside murals and the (bloody sunday) museum of free Derry as it is located in between William street and Glenfada Park. Staff and owners give great service. Absolute recommenable.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Erikerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We keep coming back here as its simply a 'welcome home' you really couldn't ask for more in terms of accommodation and the food but it really is the friendliness of the owners and staff that makes this place really special ! Love it ! We caught the first few days of the fleah festival and the atmosphere in Derry was simply awesome x didnt want to leave and can't wait to go back, thank you people of Derry for your amazing hospitality x

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mags1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

it has being almost 20 years since i had being in Derry so it as worth a visit. a lovely city. the Abbey is a wonderful b and b although the surrounding area can be a bit dodgy more so at night but a short walking distance to the stadium and the city center. i would come back here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keving771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.2 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 13 in Derry
2,065 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 13 in Derry
1,262 reviews
1.3 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
0.5 mi away
Bridge B&B
Bridge B&B
#3 of 44 in Derry
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Bed and Breakfast

Address: 4 Abbey Street | Leading on From Fredrick Street, Derry BT48 9DN, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price Range: $81 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbey bed and breakfast is Derrys city most centrally located B&B. It is the only accommodation in the bogside area of the city. Winner of "Northwest Guesthouse of the Year Award 2004 and 2005." Luxury rooms all en-suite, disabled access and ground floor disabled bathroom facilities. Five minutes walk to historic city monuments such as free derry corner, famous citywalls, cathadrals, shopping malls, theatre, pubs, restaurants and two minutes walk to swimming pool and fitness suite.Abbey B&B is currently upgrading its facilities which will also include the ABBEY STUDIO TEA ROOM where guest can avail of real Coffee and relax in the Studio, the wall are themed with paraphernalia of Derry,s rich musical history. Also buy a gift from the Abbey Gift display in the hallway.Our aim is to offer Guest THE COMPLETE EXPERIENCE.Our location is our uniqueness, in an area steeped in history and where you walk to everywhere without needing a Taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Abbey Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey b&b
Abbey Hotel Derry
Abbey Bed And Breakfast Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing