We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Living history of Derry graphically described”

Bogside History Tours
Ranked #2 of 18 Tours in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This walking tour deals with events in Bogside area of Derry City known world wide as Bloody Sunday. The company was set up by some of the relatives that were shot on the day of Bloody Sunday. This hour long walking tour will begin in the center of Derry at the Guildhall and will retrace part of the original march. The tour will the take you into the heart of Derry's Bogside area and visit the places where Bloody Sunday occurred. The tour will pass the Museum of Free Derry and finish at the Bloody Sunday monument on Rossville Street in sight of Free Derry Corner and just below Derry's world famous walls. This walking tour will cover the Civil Right era and Bloody Sunday in great detail and also cover both inquiries into the day. This is the authentic Bloody Sunday tour that no other tour guide company can offer. Political tour of Derry with an insight from family members. Derry walls walking tour. Explore derry's four hundred years old walls with local and knowledgeable guides. Taxi tours of Derry City are also offered as well as half and full day tours of Donegal and the Antrim coast.
Belfast, N Ireland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Living history of Derry graphically described”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

On Sunday while our wives were at the excellent food festival in Guildhall Square a pal and I went with Paul Doherty on his Bogside History Tour which was superb. Paul provided historical background information to us from a vantage point on the walls of Derry and then walked us through the Bogside describing in graphic and harrowing detail what happened on Bloody Sunday. He supported his description with photos of the very places, where we were standing, taken on Bloody Sunday. This brought to life for us one of the blackest days in British military history. We finished the tour at the Bloody Sunday memorial and Paul told us of the Savile Inquiry. I would highly recommend the tour to anyone interested in a Republican perspective on those dreadful events in 1972.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MackersBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at Bogside History Tours, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
hi thanks for your excellent review it was a pleasure to take you and willie on the tour and i.m glad that you found it worhwhile and well presented , hope you enjoyed yourvisit to the city of culture and hope you will return again soon ,, thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    433
    15
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Without doubt one of the best tours we've ever had.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

This walking tour through bogside was by far the best tour we've had in Ireland.
What made it stand out was that we were guided by the son of one of the victims of Bloody Sunday. Listening to him tell the story of the troubles and events of that day was really moving and left quite an impact on us.

To really understand the history I think it's important to hear it from a local, someone that's lived it and lived through it. These guys are it.

Although honest, we didn't find the tour to be too graphic for our 9 year old daughter. She enjoyed learning about the history and looking at the murals.

The cost was totally fair and well worth it.
We feel very fortunate to have had this walk. Touring with Bogside History tours is highly recommended.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JandHandO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Owner at Bogside History Tours, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear JandHandO, Glad to hear that we made an impression on your trip to Ireland and I hope you enjoyed your pint in the Bogside Inn. Thank again, Paul Doherty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robinson, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Real history!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

On a recent visit to Derry, we took this tour with Paul as our tour guide. We were planning on another tour but when we saw the flyer for Bogside History Tours, we decided to see what it was about. We knew some information about the events of that day, but discovered how little we really knew. Learning from family members who were affected by the events of that day made the tour much more powerful. How lucky were we to have made the correct choice! Young children may not understand the explainations, but we were not uncomfortable having our 9 year old daughter hearing about the events of the day. Real history should never be avoided! Considering the amount of money we spent on this two week trip to Ireland, the cost of the Bogside History Tour is one of the most reasoanbly priced activities in which we participated.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank hollyg1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Owner at Bogside History Tours, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
hollyg1968, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are pleased that this tour was so special to you and your family on your holiday to Ireland, thanks again Paul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Compulsary tour.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Although this was always going to be an uncomfortable tour, it was passionately and excellently delivered. Not really suitable for young children- as some of the details are graphic, obviously. To have such a well presented tour, that gave excellent background history to what happened on that day and for the subsequent troubles will help with understanding past and current feeling. The facts were balanced and well documented. I think that having relatives of the victims undertaking the tour makes the emotions genuine and makes the Bloody Sunday massacre real and not a story you've seen/heard or read about. This is a must do for visitors to Northern Ireland and at £5 it is very reasonable.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Juepig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Owner at Bogside History Tours, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear juepig, Thank you for your positive and honest review of Bogside History Tours. Each and every tour is delivered with genuine emotion and passion from our guides. Thanks again, Paul D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
“Some of the best Irish History I have ever experienced!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

I have been on many tours as a visitor to many different countries but this tour by far was one of the best I have ever had. My tour guide was very passionate about the history of his city (Derry aka the City of Culture for 2013). There were details that I am not sure you would get from a book or from the internet and he made you feel as if you were a part of its history right then and there. Paul was the guide and you could just feel something in the air when you listened to him speak about the history of his city (it's giving me goosebumps as I write this review). Not only did it keep my attention but he would field any questions you had and was a down to earth kinda guy and would crack a joke from time to time. Some tour guides I have come across in the past were very robotic but Paul was nothing like that. Because of this tour I have started doing my own research to understand the history of the culture and people. I highly recommend this tour to anyone who visits Derry.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Owner at Bogside History Tours, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Anthony C, Thank you for your kind review and we are glad that we were able to contribute to your trip to Ireland and also in igniting your passion for Irish history, Thank you, Paul D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bogside History Tours also viewed

Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
 

Been to Bogside History Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing