We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic - best b&b ever - don't get a hotel stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Victoria Gate Bed And Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 42 Derry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic - best b&b ever - don't get a hotel stay here”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My wife, daughter and I stayed here last week and had a brilliant experience: huge rooms, wonderful decor, and a delightful welcoming Irish family that were so helpful. To top it off breakfast was possibly the best I ever had. The poached eggs were just perfect. Simply excellent - thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JORDLUCY, Owner at Victoria Gate Bed And Breakfast, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thanks Paul much appreciated............... See you on your return from Australia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
88
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our host came to our rescue when satnav failed. Hosts greeted us with homemade scones and a cup of tea. Very helpful with local knowledge and suggestions. Breakfast was beyond what we expected. Overall would have to be one of the most welcoming and thoughtful hosts we have encountered. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Any of their rooms would be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank chris3801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JORDLUCY, Owner at Victoria Gate Bed And Breakfast, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thanks for staying with us Chris........The homemade scones are getting rave reviews! See you soon.............
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Little hard to find but well worth the find! Keiran is a wonderful host, treat you like a long list friend. Rooms are spacious and bed was pure luxury. Shower fabulous. All amenities were top class. Recommend anyone to stay here!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tazzie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JORDLUCY, Owner at Victoria Gate Bed And Breakfast, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thanks for staying with us. It was great having you. We look forward to seeing you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I stayed in the Victoria Gate b&b for the walled marathon. A lovely family run business with top quality service. The McCaul family were more than willing to share their knowledge of the city with us. We received plenty advice on where to eat and drink and Mr McCaul also made himself available for dropping us to the town. A very spacious room with creature comforts. All in all a terrific weekend with no stress. Thank you again

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mubehtpu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JORDLUCY, Owner at Victoria Gate Bed And Breakfast, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Delighted to have you. With any luck there'll be a rerun next year..........
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Had a fanastic stay over Radio 1s Big Weekend. The Mc Caul's were so friendly and helpful offering to collect us from our previous accomodation for our stay at Victoria Gate with early check in and a lift to the Big Weekend. The accomidation was excellent and the hospatility

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noreen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JORDLUCY, Owner at Victoria Gate Bed And Breakfast, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thanks Noreen it was a pleasure to have you both as guests...............
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying in this B&B on the weekend of 18th of may , the rooms were really spacious with an ensuite and superking bed, the breakfast served was unbelievable with a choice of continental and cooked breakfast and there was also a nice decking area out the back, I found the owners to be extremely nice and helpful and were kind enough to pick my friend and I to and from our bus , I would thoroughly recommend Victoria Gate to anyone wishing to stay in Derry!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicoleoreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JORDLUCY, Owner at Victoria Gate Bed And Breakfast, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thanks for your kind words Nicole. No doubt you'll be back for the Fleadh!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We got Victoria Gate B&B as a last minute find and was a gem of a find! A wonderful welcome, perfect location from the city and outstanding hospitality. Ciaran and Clare couldn't do enough for us, providing information on the city’s hotspots and giving us tips of where would be best to go for food. The room was beautifully decorated, spacious and kitted out with all the essentials. They provided a first class breakfast service with more than enough options to keep any tummy full all day long. The lovely, welcoming family atmosphere made us feel like home from the moment we walked in the door. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Victoria Gate and I would highly recommend it to anyone staying in the city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BronaghKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JORDLUCY, Owner at Victoria Gate Bed And Breakfast, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Bronagh it was great having yourself and Jonny staying with us. We hope to see you again soon. Thanks..........
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.8 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 12 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
1.1 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#6 of 12 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
0.5 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 12 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
No8 New Bed & Breakfast Derry-Londonderry
1.5 mi away
Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Bridge B&B
Bridge B&B
#6 of 42 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Gate Bed And Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Gate Bed And Breakfast

Property: Victoria Gate Bed And Breakfast
Address: 74 Victoria Gate, Derry BT47 2TQ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria Gate is a family run house offering bed and breakfast accommodation. We can assure you of a warm welcome and good Irish home cooking. We are located in a residential area on the main A5 Derry to Dublin Road with Derry City Centre being less than a mile away. Victoria Gate B & B is a newly built house set in a beautiful location with views of the historic city of Derry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Victoria Gate Bed And Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Gate Bed And Breakfast Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing