We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Number 8 Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
$133
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast(Derry)(Great Value!)
$83
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
City Hotel(Derry)
$137
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
$94
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
$98
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Groarty House & Manor B&B(Derry)(Great Value!)
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (314)
Filter reviews
314 results
Traveler rating
303
11
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
303
11
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbob and karenpeace bridgetea and cakeguest housecomfortable homechilled watera pleasant minute walkhelpful hostsperfect hostsfresh fruit saladquiet neighborhoodcity centrebeautiful housecomfortable bedensuite roomfantastic staybreakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
254 - 259 of 314 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2014

This is just the most amazing home ever and what wonderful hosts. Karen is not in this for the money but just sharing it with others. It is sumptuous and large. Everything is catered for and we have never quite seen the like of it. So if you are ever in Derry - forget hotels, guesthouses etc and stay with this remarkable couple - you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mervynnixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen T, Owner at Number 8 Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments Mervyn. It is so encouraging when our guests enjoy their stay with us and then take the time to share their experience.We thoroughly enjoyed meeting yourself and Joan and hope that it won't be too long before you come back.
Best regards K.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

This must be the most welcoming Guest house in Europe, or far beyond. The hosts' prioritization of the person, and their meeting all needs, e.g. transport, catering, value accommodation, comfort, kind, personal care and concern, attention to every detail, space and freedom. Their overall hospitality was outstanding. I can confirm the details already outlined in previous reviews.

I wish to nominate Karen and Bob, and No.8 Deanfield, for an award for excellence in all aspects of genuine caring, and all aspects of very fine accommodation.

Room Tip: Every room in this house meets the highest standards.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank assessor2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen T, Owner at Number 8 Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Many thanks for such lovely comments. We always strive to meet our guests' requirements and make their stay as enjoyable as possible. We're so glad you had such a positive experience and do visit us again.
K.T.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

A wonderful guesthouse. Every conceiveable need was catered for. My clothes were ironed, coffee and scones provided while we watched the 6 Nations rugby, the bed was heated, and the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ross D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen T, Owner at Number 8 Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review Ross. It was a pleasure having you and perhaps we'll see you again on future trips to Derry.
Karen T.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Stayed at number 8 guest house with my young daughter just before Christmas. Had a fantastic stay in very comfortable and beautifully decorated accommodation. Karen was a helpful host and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our walk through the park and the peace bridge brought us to the centre of Derry City in a few minutes. Can't wait to visit again next month.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bernadine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen T, Owner at Number 8 Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us Bernardine and Louisa. It was lovely having you both and we're so glad you enjoyed your visit to our lovely city. We're looking forward to seeing you again in January.
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed with Bob and Karen at Number 8 for 2 nights and only wish it had been longer! We arrived to find their home beautifully decorated for Christmas ... Our room was lovely, luxurious and spacious (the ensuite was gleaming!). It was all the little touches which made our stay so special - the Egyptian cotton sheets, the decor, the lavendar diffuser in the ensuite, the denby tableware at breakfast. The breakfast was wonderful, Karen makes a super fruit salad, the Ulster fry was perfect and it is all served up with a dash of Bob's humour!! They are wonderful hosts, a mine of information about where to go and where to eat and even offered us a lift to the restaurant of our choice... we came away feeling as if we had made new friends and will MOST definitely be back in the near future! A real find in Derry!

Room Tip: Room at front of the property, decorated in gold and cream - stunning!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hortatius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen T, Owner at Number 8 Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Thank you for staying with us David and Elaine and we are delighted that you had such a good time. We look forward to seeing you both again soon.
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews