We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPER B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Number 8 Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 44 Derry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Would highly recommend Number 8 Deanfield for visitors to Derry. Stayed here during the Fleadh and found it very conveniently located to city centre...just a short walk across the Peace Bridge. Room was beautifully decorated, clean and comfortable with en suite. Karen and Bob were perfect hosts....Karen even drove downtown the following morning with us to find us a place to park. Breakfast was delicious, and tea and coffee making facilities in bedroom was just what we needed on arrival. All in all the hospitality, convenient location and Karen and Bob's attention to detail make Number 8 an outstanding B&B. Will definitely stay here again when I visit Derry.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BERNADETTE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenNumber8, Owner at Number 8 Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Many thanks Bernadette for your lovely review. We really enjoyed having you stay and are so glad you enjoyed Derry and the Fleadh. Hope to see you again another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 306 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

Booked paegent weekend as a last minute thing so all the top Hotels had gone! At least that's what I thought came across Bob and Karen's Bed and Breakfast struck Gold. It was like home to home breakfast was brill (catered for all tastes) set us up for the day. Hospitality second to none Bob was even kind enough to give us a short tour of the main city centre. Thanks for making it a wonderful weekend see you December.
All the Best Jeff

Room Tip: only two to choose from en-suite the best, however I had double and it was very confortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeff l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenNumber8, Owner at Number 8 Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thanks for the lovely comments Jeff and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you and we look forward to seeing you again in December with your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Number 8 Guest House was a fantastic find, a friendly welcoming B&B with 5 star hotel standards.
We arrived late but were greeted in a warm welcoming manner by Karen who offered tea and homemade cake. Breakfast the next morning, served in the conservatory overlooking a beautiful garden, was delicious. Freshly brewed coffee, fruit juices, fruit salad, yogurts and a choice of cooked breakfast, everything you could want.
The en-suite rooms are elegant and so clean and comfortable. Fresh luxurious towels and the bed freshly made daily.
The location was also excellent beside a beautiful park, within walking distance of the Peace Bridge and convenient to Derry city centre.
Hospitality was superb. Karen and Bob were excellent hosts, they were so helpful and friendly. They made our stay perfect.
I would highly recommend it for anyone visiting Derry as it is a home away from home and if we were to visit Derry again we would definitely choose to stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gillian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenNumber8, Owner at Number 8 Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely comments Gillian. We really enjoyed having you stay and it was very nice to meet your lovely son and his new fiance. Maybe you will come back another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nights at Number 8 Guest House and it was a real treat.The house itself is beautiful with luxurious rooms in a lovely, peaceful setting. Food was excellent and Karen and Bob looked after our every need.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Derek613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Just back home after few days in Northern Ireland. Found the greatest B&B in Derry. The rooms are fabulous and so clean and comfortable. Hospitality was super. The hosts were so helpful and friendly. It was like a home away from home. Loved the breakfasts and the house is close to the town centre we could walk home.Definitely the best place we ever stayed in and we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dArAt186482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here during the weekend of the recent marathon. Very well located, within walking distance of the new Peace Bridge. This is a family home with a friendly atmosphere. Rooms are excellent and we would highly recommend this B & B.to all.

Tom & May

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Landsdowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I recently stayed here on the 24th of may 2013 for Radio One's Big Weekend. I was lucky enough to have excellent weather when I stayed in Derry, I was able to find the B&B easily. The owners are very friendly, welcoming and accommodating and were ever so helpful. The guesthouse is located in a lovely quiet area. Once I stepped inside, I couldn't believe how huge it was it was so lovely! My room was very elegant with en-suite toilet and shower and there was a nice view from my room. It was the most cleanest place I've stayed in before, with the extreme comfort of the bed I got a great peaceful nights sleep, the bathroom was very modern, very clean and tidy and shower was great! The owners cooked up the next morning the best breakfast! The food was spot on. The back garden was absolutely stunning! It was a shame I didn't stay another night.

This really is a lovely, clean, friendly B&B when you've stayed here once you'll be looking forward to your next stay. Thanks to the owners Bob & Karen for making us feel so welcome, hope to stay again soon! :-)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sophie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.9 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.7 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#8 of 13 in Derry
2,098 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shipquay Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Bridge B&B
Bridge B&B
#3 of 44 in Derry
84 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast
0.9 mi away
No8 New Bed & Breakfast Derry-Londonderry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number 8 Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 8 Guesthouse

Address: 8 Deanfield | Limavady Road, Derry BT47 6HY, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price Range: $90 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number 8 is a family run B&B situated only a stone’s throw away from Ebrington Square and Derry’s Peace Bridge. We are ideally placed for those wishing to explore the City of Culture 2013. Each of our rooms is bright, spacious and individually decorated. Our aim is to provide guests with a warm and relaxed ambiance, ensuring that your stay is as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Number 8 Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 8 Guesthouse Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing