We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Eden in The City”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Primrose Cafe

Primrose Cafe
Ranked #11 of 186 Restaurants in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $8
Cuisines: Irish, Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Derry, Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“My Eden in The City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Primrose Cafe which still remains of of those hidden wonders in The Centre of Derry City on Carlisle Road.
I feel a sin has been committed with Guilt as on many a Morning I have sat out in their back Tented area straight through the Front of Cafe sitting and ordered from their freshly made selections of home made scones from plain to Strawberry/Blueberry and others with,wait for it White Chocolate,Mmm,Yummy,the sin is committed as I bite into these beautiful scones added with,butter,jam and whipped fresh cream.
That may be my morning treat.
Their lunchtime choices are just as good.
Their side orders of chips are the real home made think cut and sprinkled with seasalt.
The choice of cakes[Home baked] again to die for.
On a Summers Day to sit in this tented area with one side flab up and feel the almost Spainish breeze sweep over your face then you really feel your in Eden and peaceful.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    84
    33
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
216 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Lovely café in Derry city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Have had brunch here and coffee/bun on several occasions over the last few months. I can only reiterate what everyone else is saying about this place: it's a little gem and it does the city proud. A first-class addition to Derry's eateries.

My only issue is that it's a victim of its own success, i.e., it can get too busy.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AvidIrishReader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Top quality locally sourced food with excellent service and a very pleasant surroundings .
You wont be disappointed and would gladly recommend to a friend

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A little gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

First impressions wer that it was a little cramped until we got outside to the glorious little garden area. The food was fantastic and the rainbow cake in particular is a must! It's not the cheapest lunch menu in town but the quality is worth every penny. A definite must try-you will not be disappointed!

Helpful?
1 Thank bd_derry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buncrana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fresh & freindly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

Been on a Saturday lunch time the restaurant was full but they have a marquee to the rear of the premises with picnic type tables/benches, but still pleasant enough to dine at. The service was good and attentive well informed about the menu and on the servers recommendation we had the homemade pie and salad which turned out to be an excellent choice. Certainly would recommended and return again. On a lighter note I figured there were about 35-40 people eating, counted about seven males, are the ladies keeping the Primrose a secret for themselves?

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PedroBun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Primrose Cafe also viewed

Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
 

Been to Primrose Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing