We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Walled City Apartments
Ranked #4 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Derry
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Decent Accomodation”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

The Walled City Apartments consist of three centrally located, immaculate apartments (which are basically IKEA showrooms) above a shop front with one apartment on each of the 1st, 2nd and 3rd floors.

I stayed on the third floor in apartment 3 with my wife and baby for three nights at the end of December.

Pros:
1. Spotlessly clean
2. Central location
3. Lovely, powerful shower
4. Well equipped kitchen

Cons
1. Had problem with living room heating on first night. There are no staff on site and no one answered number provided, returned my call or responded to my voicemail
2. Poor wifi signal (in apt 3 on 3rd floor)
3. Felt a bit like new student accommodation i.e. cheap toilet paper and really annoying heavy doors that swing closed in bedroom, living room and front door.
4. A lot of stairs required to access apt 3 (we had a baby with buggy etc)
5. Must find parking nearby (car park or on street in vicinity)
6. Buzz/ hum of some kind of generator/ fan outside apt 3 bedroom window
7. No DVD player as advertised - we planned on watching some movies so we should have been told player wasn't provided. As no one returned my call, there wasn't much else we could do about it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank snottycrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    7
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
16
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed in the attic apartment.

Good points: the apartments are very central. And I mean CENTRAL - they are slap bang in the very middle of the city. So when you look at the cost, take into account the fact that you won't be paying any taxi fares to get to your hotel. We were going to stay in the Premier Inn - a couple of miles away - but once you factored in the cost of transport, there was no price difference.

Our apartment was clean and well equipped. I never met the owner - but I spoke to him over the phone,and he sounded like a nice bloke.

On the downside: the next door restaurant has a large extractor fan which runs adjacent to the back of the apartments - it hummed at quite a volume until about midnight. So we had to spend £3.00 on some boots earplugs (problem solved). Also - the handle kept falling off the bathroom door.

Derry / Londonderry is a fascinating place. Like Belfast, it's a piece of living history - the past blends into the present, and events from 400 years ago are treated as if they took place yesterday. There's a lot to do and see. Interestingly, there aren't that many hotels - I imagine this will change - but from a cost and convenience perspective, I'd prefer to stay in an apartment like this.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misterpastry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The apartment is brilliantly placed for exploring the city- literally a footstep or two away from the walls. Clean, well supplied with all you need and the owner was extremely helpful- he stayed there late to let us in due to our late arrival. Warm and comfortable, I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michele_eve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Well-equipped and cosy self-catering apartments, perfectly located for access to Derry shopping, pubs, restaurants and attractions. Martin McCrossan walking tour leaves virtually from the doorstep. Clean kitchen and bathroom, spacious living area and cosy bedroom.

Room Tip: Apartment 3 at the top probably less roomy due to the roof line, but perfectly OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JohnTruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I stayed with my partner in Aug2012, we thoroughly enjoyed the apartment. It was very clean and there was a lot of storage space. The bathroom in quite compact but perfect for a couples needs! fresh fluffy towels and little shampoos and soaps were provided! The bed was comfortable and the sitting room/kitchen area was bright and spacious! We would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Lots of restaurants around the city, many with offers on like 30% off your meal and 2main courses fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CVI88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We visited Derry City in early July to see part of the clipper boat race and found these apartments to stay in. The location was perfect, very central, right beside old city wall at Ferryquay Gate, which made it easy to walk everywhere. There is also a great restaurant right next door which was very handy for dinner!
We had the middle apartment which was bright and modern, obviously newly fitted out (bit of a contemporary scandanavian feel to it). The open plan kitchen and living area was very well equipped and comfortable, table and seating for 4, flat screen tv and free wi-fi connection. The sofa opened into a bed for our small son, our own double bedroom was compact but comfortable with good storage space.
The bathroom was small but modern and spotless and the little soaps and shower gels were a nice touch!
We were welcomed by Francis who was able to give us information on events in the city (the continental food market also happened to be in town) and parking nearby. Originally we had booked in for one night but ended up staying for two, would definately recommend and will stay here again. Also can recommend trip to nearby beach in Donegal which is only 15 mins drive away!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Eve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.3 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 13 in Derry
2,045 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.1 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 13 in Derry
1,248 reviews
1.9 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#11 of 13 in Derry
531 reviews
0.0 mi away
No8 New Bed & Breakfast Derry-Londonderry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walled City Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walled City Apartments

Property: Walled City Apartments
Address: 3 Carlisle Road, Derry BT48 6JZ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Walled City Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walled City Apartments provide stylish, self-catering accommodation in Derrys historic heart and are the perfect place to stay during your visit to the City.Walled City Apartments offer amazing value for money. Each of our self catering apartments are furnished to the highest standards and come fully equipped with all crockery and linens; kitchen with fridge, dishwasher and oven, modern bathroom, and living/dining area with flat-screen TV. Laundry facilities are also available.Each of our apartments sleep two adults with additional sleeping facilities for one adult or two children available on request.Situated conveniently for all of Londonderrys' attractions our apartments make for an exceptional base while visiting our historic city. The Millenium Forum and Tower Museum are both within a 5-minute walk, and Ferrygate and Foyleside shopping Centre are less than a minute away.By staying with us you will find great value, stylish accommodation and privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Walled City Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walled City Apartments Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing