We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location-very basic hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Derry

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Derry
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Kilbarchan-Renfrewshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location-very basic hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2010

The location of the Travelodge Derry is great-within walking distance of all tourist attractions and shops etc. Some rooms are facing the main road and therefore can be noisy. The rooms are in need of upgrading for example there are remnants of cigarette burns on woodwork in the bedroom and the bathroom plastic. Although spacious rooms are very basis. Avoid the breakfast it too is very basic and not value for money. The beak fast room also have has the atmosphere of a morgue :O( There are many other places very close by severing breakfast at decent prices. Derry itself is well worth a visit. The people are very friendly. I would recommend a trip on the open top bus-very informative and entertaining :O) Also for food "The Metro" just behind the wall-at the water spouts. Great value for money, lovely staff, and the food was fab. For a better hotel maybe try the City Hotel just round the corner. It looked much better than the Travelodge.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kibble-L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, November 13, 2010
Good afternoon Kibble,
Thank you for your positive review in relation to Travelodge Derry, We hope to see you again soon.
Regards,
Travelodge management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    85
    105
    84
    103
See reviews for
72
164
32
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2010

It was with some trepidation that I went to the Londonderry Travelodge having read the reviews. If you want a luxury, state of the art hotel, with plentiful staff to assist you then a Travelodge is not the right place for you. If you want a cheap, but adequate hotel - £19 for a family room - with the added bonus of a great location in Londonderry, then I could recommend this hotel.
We arrived at 9.30 at night - wife and 2 children aged 10 & 11. We were checked in in a couple of minutes and sent to our room. The room was fairly large and the room/bedding was clean. We were short of a put up bed for our second child (there was only a double and single bed in the room), but this was brought up by the night clerk within 5 minutes of phoning down, with all the necessary bedding and an additional towel.

There was no noticeable smell that some people have referred to, in the hallways or the room. There was the usual door lock, plus a security chain on the door. For some reviewers the presence of a security chain was a problem, but this just made me feel safer as the door was securely locked at night - I have stayed in many more expensive hotels and wished they had a security chain on the door.

We barely saw another person in the hotel and had no problems with any noise. We were situated on the front of the hotel and were able to sleep with the window open as the room was too hot. There was some street noise, but nothing that kept us awake - the beds were very comfortable and we were tired after a hard day of driving. We may have been lucky that we stayed on a Wednesday night at the start of September and so avoided any stag/hen or other noisy groups in the hotel or in Derry generally, but everything was fine.

We did not have breakfast in the hotel as it was available elsewhere at a much better price - as advised by the night clerk on arrival.

If you want wifi use the Derry city wifi which is free rather than pay for the Travelodge service.

We used an open air pay and display car park opposite the City hotel about 50 yards from the Travelodge, which is free overnight. You just pay for time used after 8.30am the next day. This seemed to be the car park of choice for the locals on a night out - the car park is well lit and well used.

As I said at the start, I would have no hesitation recommending this hotel as a cheap and cheerful place to stay, with or without children. It could do with a bit of a touch up here and there, if it wanted to pass itself off as something a bit posher, but if this is what you want then stay round the corner at the City hotel and pay £100 rather than £19. I have stayed in hotels not as good as this for considerably more money - for what it is and what you pay, it was very acceptable and the location is great. No frills just about sums it up perfectly, but not in a disparaging way.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nlpnlp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, October 6, 2010
Dear NipNip,
Thank you for your great feedback in relation to your visit to Travelodge Derry.
We hope to wlecome you again soon.
Kind regards,
Travelodge Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2010

We booked this hotel because it was recommended in a DK travel guide. The rooms were basic to say the least. I had to wiggle the wires on the TV to get a few fuzzy channels. The carpet was sticky and had holes in it, as did the comforters on the beds. The hotel claims to be non-smoking but the smell of stale cigarettes was so bad in one of rooms that we'd booked, that I had to move into the other in the middle of the night. There were no toiletries available in either bathroom and the towels were threadbare. There was one young guy behind the desk and he seemed completely overworked. Nothing aside from the actual room was included in the price - breakfast was additional, internet was additional, parking was additional. We felt completely ripped off, which was awful given how overcharged we already felt for the horrible accommodations. Absolutely, the hotel is well located, but our experience there made us want to get the heck out of Derry the minute we woke up and go someplace else entirely.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corkonian69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, November 13, 2010
Good evening Corkonian,
Thank you for taking time to review this property.
Travelodge are a no frill's accomadation provider and room's are sold at room only per room helping to make our product more afforable.
Extras are chargeable should they be required and can be booked online in advance at a discount rate.
Regards,
Travelodge Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Derry hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2010

This has to be one of the worst hotels I have stayed at in a long time. I was travelling with my parents and we had booked 2 double rooms. When we arrived at 5pm the rooms, in particular the bathrooms had not been cleaned properly. There were toothpaste stains in the bathroom cups, stains in the toilet bowl (eww) and in my parents room cigarette ash on the window sill (in a non smoking room) and the stale smell of the smoke in the room. not to mention the hair on the bathroom floor.

When they offered to move our rooms the suggested rooms were in an equally bad state! we asked to have our rooms cleaned but all they did was sweep the floors and remove the toilet stains.

The mattresses didn't have protectors on them and the rooms were really noisy facing the main street - We were there on a Sunday night so luckily the nightclub over the road was not running or I doubt I would have slept!

This hotel has serious issues with cleanliness. Rooms were dusty (we wrote 'clean me' in the dust on the TVs) I would not stay here until management addresses these problems.

The 2 good points - Rooms were a good size and mercifully the curtains were very good at blocking out the light.

We lodged a complaint at the desk however management have yet to contact us! If it weren't for the fast that this site insists on a rating I wouldn't give it one!

If you do decide to stay then I suggest Breakfast in the pub next door this was fantastic and cheap only about 2GBP per head as opposed to the 6GBP they were charging in the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missmedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, November 13, 2010
Dear Miss Media,
Thank you for taking time to review our property.
I wish to assure you that we have appointed a new accommadation supervisior and theses issues have been ironed out.
We hope we have the chance to show you a positive side to our property in the future.
Regards,
Travelodge Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

We spent two, non-consecutive, nights at Derry Travelodge. Rooms were clean enough, beds were comfortable and the staff were helpful. In both bathrooms, the toilet seat was broken and one bedside lamp did not work, in the first room we occupied. Our rooms were quiet. but we noticed that there is a nightclub next to the front of the hotel. No doubt rooms, on that side, could suffer noise, especially at weekends. The hotel uses the third level of the adjoining Quayside public carpark. Parking is not cheap (about £10 overnight). Do not pay at the hotel or machine. Go to the kiosk, near the exit, where the supervisor will deduct 20%, if you say you're at the Travelodge. Generally, a reasonably good, inexpensive place, within easy reach of Derry's sights. Don't expect The Ritz and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Homeandabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, November 19, 2010
Dear Homeandabroad,
Thanks for time to review our Hotel. We greatly appreciate all your positive comments.
We hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards,
Travelodge Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks ND
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2010

VERY centrally located to the city centre, the walls and various other touristy things to do/see in Derry. There isn't any close parking, but there is street parking and a free car park around the corner (skip the over priced attached carpark £20 per night!) Also skip any meals offered by the hotel.....the Wetherspoons about two doors down not only has super great food but an Ulster Fry in the mornings WITH coffee for £3.50....the travelodge version was £8.50 and beyond rediculous for something as simple as breakfast.

The rooms are VERY souless and lacking in furniture, comfy beds etc however there are brand new flat screen small tv's...it made no sense. The carpets were very dirty and after walking on the carpet without shoes all of us had filthy socks. The bathtub was full of someone else's hair and there was a mystery stain on the shower curtain. The room faced the street that had a large club and on a Saturday night it was loud but not as loud as the people in the room next to us having sex for 5 hours!

On the upside we required a triple and they did move us from a double to a triple with no problems. The staff was nice. Considering it was bank holiday weekend £70 for the room seemed 'ok' however we half expected a serial axe murderer to kick the door in and a film crew to follow...it was a creepy place to stay. Derry is a lovely city, find somewhere else and ONLY book this as an extreme last resort....even then I'd just drive the 20miles to Letterkenny in Donegal!! Lesson Learned!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darktourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2010

Great location, right in the centre of everything. The staff made us feel welcome, they were great, nothing was too much trouble, from city maps, to places to see, places to eat. One of the girls on the desk even set us up a tour trip. 

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shajen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.1 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,927 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Derry / Londonderry Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
1.1 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
1.8 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#10 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Derry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Derry

Property: Travelodge Derry
Address: 22-24 Strand Road, Derry BT48 7AB, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Derry 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Derry Travelodge hotel is centrally located in the heart of the Maiden City. Our hotel is situated on Strand Road which is popular for nightlife, restaurants, shopping and minutes walk from Derry City’s many attractions. Travelodge Derry hotel has a rich and varied cultural heritage and the City Walls are home to a number of museums, galleries and theatres, as well as thriving musical and literary scenes. Step back in time and relive the city’s past on an inner-city guided walking, bus or taxi tour, where you’ll discover a wealth of history. Please Note: Possible noise due to City Centre location. Please contact the hotel directly for car parking options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Travelodge Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Derry Hotel Derry
Travel Lodge Derry
Derry Travelodge
Derry Travel Lodge
Travelodge Derry Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing