We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok”
Review of Travelodge Derry

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Derry
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Dessel, Belgium
1 review
“ok”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

the cleaning could better,the bed was ok,they were almost don but it was not to bad,the funuters where old but i don't mind, my priority is the cleannes of the beds and the badroom, and the floor, thanks

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Lucienne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Lucienne S

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following a recent stay with us.

We are pleased that you chose Travelodge and we hope that you will visit us again on your trip to Londonderry.

Kind Regards

Travelodge Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    87
    117
    93
    112
See reviews for
81
174
34
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on Wednesday 29th Jan 2014, we were given room 315, on entering the room and proceeding to the bathroom I found the toilet had big dirty poo marks, too much info sorry, not in the toilet but all around the outside of it!!! Disgusted I went to look around and half of the tap was corroded away on the bath!!! I went to reception and asked for a clean room, it was disgusting, I never slept all night at the thought of how dirty this was!! The new room we were given was far too warm and smelly!! Will never be returning and will be contacting the tourist board!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank CJM1187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Derry hotels

County Londonderry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We had a comfortable stay here good size room friendly staff central location suited our purpose very well we had been here about 3 years ago the room then was awful but seems there has been an upgrade since then

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonaldJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Ronald James

Thank you for your recent review.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel.

We pride ourselves on our good customer service and I will pass you comments on to the staff on duty.

Don't forget to visit our website for our latest deals.


Kind Regards
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2014

the room was too warm even I turned heating off.. the hotel is located over nightclub and even we had room in the back it was still noisy.. there was previous customers hair on my bed.. thought shower was nice and hot..

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Guna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Guna A

Thank you so much for your feed back in relation to your stay with Travelodge Derry.

We greatly value feedback and appreciate you taking time to post this review and hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards,

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Terrible service. Unhelpful staff. Cant have visiting guest at anytime of the day. Even while you get ready. Worse than a boarding school. Dont know how it can be called a hotel. Area is smelly out front

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Saus15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Saus15,

Thank you so much for your feedback in relation to your stay with Travelodge Derry.

We greatly value feedback and appreciate you taking time to post this review and would just like to take up this opportunity to note take we like all other hotels have a residents only policy at the hotel due to health and safety although if you would like to speak with us further about the matter you can do so and contact us derry@travelodge.ie

Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Accommodation isn’t particularly expensive in Derry but even with that in mind, the Travelodge is a bargain. It’s in a prime location from which to explore the city which is pretty compact anyway.

The hotel is situated above a Wetherspoons pub which some might find off-putting due to drunks and noise however, as I’m generally one of the noisy drunks myself, it didn’t particularly bother me, especially given that you can get a massive cheap fry the next morning! Saying that, if I was wanting to sleep before 1am there was no chance as there was loud music audible in the hotel room until then. I’m not sure if it was from the Wetherspoons or not but it was a considerable volume.

The room itself was large and completely without view, with a comfortable enough bed and a corner bath. It was very much no-frills, as you’d expect and reception was friendly with quick check-in. I’d happily stay here again as long as I didn’t want an early night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rubyglittershoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear RubyGlitterShoes,

Thank you so much for your feed back in relation to your stay at the Travelodge Derry.

We greatly value feedback and appreciate you taking time to post this review and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,

Mangement Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here this week for two days on my own. It was my first time to Derry. What a wonderful city. Do visit..Ireland's greatest asset is her people and in Derry they do her proud! Cannot say enough about the people, and the sights. I am a Native New Yorker, so I need a bit of 'wow!'
This hotel is ideally located. Room 304 though chilly, actually has some good views. And it was quiet. (At least midweek, it was.) The price was right. Everything is old and tired. Very basic. But not dirty. Not unhygienic.
Just really NO frills, which is what I expected. I thought about leaving after the first night as I was cold, and couldn't get the wifi working properly. But they kindly gave me an extra heater, and offered whatever help they could towards troubleshooting my complaints. That makes the difference sometimes, between staying or going. If you ask for help and the staff deliver, or try hard to, that's important. The shower was hot, the towels were clean, as were the sheets. No surprises. Lastly, but no less importantly, all the staff were friendly, professional and helpful. Especially Sandra!

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank TerribleBeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Receptionist at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear TerribleBeauty

Many thanks for your recent review for Travelodge Derry. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and will look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Derry. I will also pass on your lovely comments made about our staff.


Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.1 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 13 in Derry
2,048 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 13 in Derry
1,251 reviews
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
1.1 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Derry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Derry

Property: Travelodge Derry
Address: 22-24 Strand Road, Derry BT48 7AB, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Derry 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Derry Travelodge hotel is centrally located in the heart of the Maiden City. Our hotel is situated on Strand Road which is popular for nightlife, restaurants, shopping and minutes walk from Derry City’s many attractions. Travelodge Derry hotel has a rich and varied cultural heritage and the City Walls are home to a number of museums, galleries and theatres, as well as thriving musical and literary scenes. Step back in time and relive the city’s past on an inner-city guided walking, bus or taxi tour, where you’ll discover a wealth of history. Please Note: Possible noise due to City Centre location. Please contact the hotel directly for car parking options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Derry Hotel Derry
Travel Lodge Derry
Derry Travelodge
Derry Travel Lodge
Travelodge Derry Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing