We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More like a hostel”
Review of Travelodge Derry

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Derry
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Thank goodness we had only booked to stay one night, on our way from the Antrim coast to the west coast. It was basic to say the least, unattractive decor, far from comfortable bed and very noisy. To be fair, it is in a central location but not a very salubrious area. Not an enjoyable experience at all. My advice would be to avoid it!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank junee59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear junee59,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the travelodge. I am disappointed and sorry to hear that your stay with us wasn’t how it should have been. I would just like to take this time to explain the decor and modernity issues you mentioned. The hotel is currently undergoing refurbishment to modernize and update the property and so this should be completed before the end of the year. With regard to the noise, our prime central location means that while we are in the heart of the city, we have little to no control over the on street noise.

We do our best here to ensure our guests enjoy their stay and I am sorry to hear you didn't on this occasion. If you would like to discuss your issues with us further you can contact us at derry@travelodge.ie

Kind regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (502)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 502 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

By the time we arrived here it was our 4th Travelodge for the trip.
Travelodge Derry was by far the top of the bunch.
Fantastic location (the restaurant/pub across the road is excellent) near restaurants, the riverwalk and the city centre.
Parking in public carpark was reasonably priced and 2 mins walk from the hotel entrance.
Room itself was pretty standard. We slept well with the window open and had no issues with noise.
All in all a good stay elevated to a great one when you consider the price point.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank ChonyBails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Dear Chony Bails,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we are absolutely delighted that you rated us as the 'top of the bunch.'

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Derry.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed in the Travel Lodge on a Saturday night, we were originally booked in for 3 nights and had booked our room four months in advance. Yet by 4am when we had gotten no sleep we were on the (expensive!) wifi booking an alternative.

Had been warned about the bar below but the main issue had been doors slamming all night, paper thin walls combined with no soft close mechanisism, was constantly being startled awake. Our "window" was being completely covered by a vent, going on and off all night. Receptionist did not seem surprised when we explained our grievances in the morning. Have honestly never had to complain about any hotel, and have had better nights sleep at festivals or in hostels.

Management have failed to respond to our complaint and request for refund since the date. Thankfully we ended up in a nicer, and cheaper rival franchise a little further out of the city but worth it for a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HollyFur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Hollyfur,

I would like to take this time to apologise for the issues you have experienced during your recent stay,
If you would like to contact me directly I would be delighted to discuss this issue with you further.
My email is derry@travelodge.ie.

Kind regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Obviously a travelodge so you know pretty much what to expect, nothing amazing but in contrast to other reviews we found the hotel to be pretty clean. Despite being on a main street it was also quite quiet within the room.

Hotel is in the centre of Derry, so a very convenient location near to the bus station and major attractions. Staff were very friendly and keen to help.

Tip to travellers, the pub below does a very reasonably priced Ulster Fry or other breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling_Turtle84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Travelling_Turtle84

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following a recent stay with us.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Our team here at the Travelodge pride ourselves
on our good customer service and I will pass you comments on to the staff on duty.

We hope that you will visit us again on your next trip to Derry.

Kind Regards

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This hotel was booked for me as was working near Derry. The reception staff were pleasant enough and helpful re restaurants etc. The first room I had looked old and dated and the bathroom drains/ toilet was smelly. There was also mildew in the bath area and the shower was a thin spray and couldn't be repositioned. This room was overlooking the breakfast room and was quite quiet. We had to buy a 'continental breakfast' there (as the Lloyds pub next door that does cooked breakfast did not open till 8am). The cost was £4.95 and only limited juice, tea, coffee, cereal, toast, yoghurts and stale croissants/ Danish were available. The better, second room later in the week was on the third floor but overlooked Strand road. I was told the music would stop at midnight and bars close at 1am but it being the Flaugh folk were still marching down the road banging drums at 4am and then the road sweepers started! We went to the local bars and The Exchange restaurant both nights and we are no party poopers but I would not recommend if you need your sleep! we just about managed to get through our working day...

Room Tip: Rooms away from Strand St or higher rooms at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear del-froogo0,

We appricate you taking time to review our hotel. We're sorry your stay wasn’t as it should have been and for that we appoligize.
All of our rooms are now undergoing referbishment to make our hotel more up-to-date and modern. We are currently in the process of re-painting and fitting new fixtures to enhance the rooms.
As regards the noise from the street and bar during your stay, Derry was hosting the Fleadh Cheoil na hEireann from August 11-18th and there were over 450,000 visitors to the city, including a host of musicians, dancers and artists. Due to our prime central location, we had little to no control over the noise, but again we apologize for the disturbance.

We value your business and hope to show you a different side to our hotel if you choose to visit Derry again.

Kind Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

No car park (use public), WiFi expensive and poor quality, doorways dirty in the evening and night, bed sheets not changed, no hairdryer, no outside line with the phone in the room, girls at the reception (in fact hidden behind their desk) barely polite. And the last: awful drum&bass noise from the ground floor bar preventing from sleeping (needed to change room and to take pills) on Wed/Fri/Sat.

Room Tip: The highest floors the "better".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JLecocq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear JLecocq,

Let me first start off by apologising for any inconvenience that you have experienced whilst staying. If you would wish to talk about this matter further you can contact me directly at derry@travelodge.ie.

Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

we stayed here and were annoyed to find that it was above a bar which isnt stated in any of the hotel ads, rooms are over priced we paid £152 for 2 rooms and they were both disgusting. one had a cracked window, cracks in sink basin and damaged bath,the shower pressure was awful no shower gel r shampoo and really old furniture. the other the window didnt close shower was broke corridors were dark and smelly. we paid cash and on the morning we were leaving i noticed they had also taken money from my card. receptionist was very patronising telling me it had been preauthorised on my card the day we arrived and would be back in my account in 5 days as all hotels do this, me and my partner stay in hotels on a number of occasions and this is not what happens when you pay cash. cant believe we were charged the price we were for what we Recieved . ive seen nicer hostels. basic is an understatement. only plus was bed was comfy. i would not reccommend this hotel to anyone.its old and dated and disgusting.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank samc22197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear samc22197

I would like to take this time to apologise for the issues you have experienced during your recent stay. If you would like to contact me directly I would be delighted to discuss this issue with you further my email address is derry@travelodge.ie

Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.1 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#8 of 13 in Derry
2,131 reviews
1.1 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#4 of 13 in Derry
1,333 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#11 of 13 in Derry
552 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shipquay Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Derry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Derry

Address: 22-24 Strand Road, Derry BT48 7AB, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Price Range: $65 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Derry 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Derry Travelodge hotel is centrally located in the heart of the Maiden City. Our hotel is situated on Strand Road which is popular for nightlife, restaurants, shopping and minutes walk from Derry City’s many attractions. Travelodge Derry hotel has a rich and varied cultural heritage and the City Walls are home to a number of museums, galleries and theatres, as well as thriving musical and literary scenes. Step back in time and relive the city’s past on an inner-city guided walking, bus or taxi tour, where you’ll discover a wealth of history. Please Note: Possible noise due to City Centre location. Please contact the hotel directly for car parking options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Travelodge Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Derry Hotel Derry
Travel Lodge Derry
Derry Travelodge
Derry Travel Lodge
Travelodge Derry Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing