We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Derry
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location and wonderful staff”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I've stayed at the Tower regularly over the past year as I had to be in Derry often for work. I've just returned from a week's stay, and wanted to express my appreciation. The hotel is brilliantly located and well equipped, but the best thing about it are the staff, who are just fantastic. Friendly, helpful, kind, accommodating... you couldn't wish for more. I wouldn't hesitate to come back. A big thank you from Nicky and the whole Artichoke team.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickyWebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear NickyWebb

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us at the Tower Hotel over the past year, we are delighted you had such a lovely experience and have such lovely things to say about our hotel and staff. We do hope that you will come back to visit us in the future and thank you and the whole team for everything.

Angela Fitzpatrick
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    331
    136
    36
    14
See reviews for
200
462
36
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

I visited the tower hotel when in Derry for the week for the all Ireland fleadh ! Honestly the staff were just absolutely amazing ! Everyone in the hotel staff couldn't do enough to help us! Kadie was just unreal and Gary C was brilliant ! Brilliant laugh aswell !

Thanks for a brilliant week guys
Liam (Glasgow)

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank LiamM96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
LiamM96

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Tower Hotel during the all Ireland Fleadh, we rae delighted with you wonderful review, we have passed your lovely comments to the staff you mentioned. We hope that you will come back to visit us in the future

Angela Fitzpatrick
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Was in Derry for a conference and stayed here with my wife. Couldn't get parking in the hotel, but the car park up around the corner was brilliant value at £8 for the weekend. Hotel was very central. The staff in all areas of the hotel were fantastic, they couldn't do enough for you. Room was spacious and spotless. Food, dinner & breakfast were excellent. Bar was nice and reasonable prices. I would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheajoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Sheajoo

Thank you for choosing the Tower Hotel during your recent business trip, we are delighted you found our staff to be so friendly and helpful, this is a great compliment. We really do hope you will come visit again as it would be great to welcome you back

Angela Fitzpatrick
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killinchy, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Having read the reviews on TA I knew we wouldn't be paying for the wifi on our mixed business / couples one night stay over. We did avail of their prebooked for guests dinner for £15 for three courses which was pretty good - though it's helpful if you are told something is 'off' or finished before choosing from the menu. What we had was very good as well as great value. The smell in the corridors / halls was 'talc' chemical type and very strong. Room nice but more 3 than 4 star. Noisy outside in early evening but I suppose when you are near the centre of the action that is inevitable. Friendly staff. Good card security for lifts when it is city location. Others seem to have done a bit better here but it is ok.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank SortedbyGwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear SortedbyGwen

Thank you firstly for choosing to stay at the Tower Hotel and secondly for giving us some feedback of your stay. If you would like to discuss any of the issues raised during your stay further I would be more than happy to discuss these with you, my direct email is afitzpatrick@thd.ie. We hope that you would comeback and visit us in the future

Angela Fitzpatrick
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We recently stayed overnight in the Tower Hotel as my husband and I were in the city to watch a show in the Millenium Forum. The hotel is very central to the Forum and the shopping centres. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay; the staff were very pleasant, the room was spotless and the breakfast was really nice - a wide variety to suit all.We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lelia585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Ielia585

Thank you for choosing the Tower Hotel, we are delighted you chose to stay with us during your recent visit to the Millenium Forum. It is great you had such a lovely stay and we hope to welcome you back in the near future

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed here on a Saturday night, The staff were friendly, the room big and the location central, However the place really needs a refurb. The washbasin in the bathroom was cracked and there were several scorch marks on the writing desk, The carpets throughout are and our (not especially large) bed lumpy. When we arrived in the room there was a strong and not very attractive smell of cleaning product but as this wore off it was replaced by an smell of Deep Heat/wintergreen which seemed to come from one of the pillows. Wifi is £9/day - ridiculous in 2013.

Breakfast was reasonably good apart from the coffee which seemed to have been made the day before.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dublin_boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Stayed here for two nights on business and was impressed. It's a good hotel - not a fantastic, boutique hotel, but good. Certainly good enough for a business trip.
Great sized rooms, friendly staff, free parking, pub is nice, breakfast was fab. Food was great.

Down sides include the wifi - should be free in a business hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annadayscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 13 in Derry
2,016 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
565 reviews
1.1 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 13 in Derry
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
3.8 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Derry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Derry

Property: Maldron Hotel Derry
Address: Butcher Street | The Diamond, Derry BT48 6HL, Northern Ireland (Formerly Tower Hotel Derry)
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Derry
#5 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#5 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#5 Business Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Maldron Hotel Derry 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern building and interior, The only hotel within Derry's historic walls - City centre, ideally located and the closest Hotel to both of the Citys Shopping Centres. Has on-site Restaurant, Function room, meeting spaces and Music Themed Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maldron Hotel Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Derry
Maldron Hotel Derry Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing