We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location speaks volumes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Derry
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Derry
Northern ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location speaks volumes”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed at the Tower Hotel for the first time because of its central location. Nice hotel , good bar meals. Rooms could do with a bit of TLC. A hearty breakfast although we say for an age with no one taking tea/coffee order despite only 4 other tables occupied . Eventually we flagged down the maitre de type person . Otherwise service at reception and the bar was pretty much faultless

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NiTraveller65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear NiTraveller65

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Tower Hotel, you will be delighted to know that we are currently undergoing refurbishments we have recently finished our lobby and bar and the bedrooms are next. We aplogise that there was a wait for tea / coffee and we have addressed this issue within the hotel, thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are delighted you found all other service to be faultless. We do hope that you will return and maybe the rooms will be completed on your next visit.

Angela Fitzpatrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    323
    130
    36
    12
See reviews for
187
453
35
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I stayed here for one night with my wife whilst on a fleeting business trip. The Hotel and room were very clean. My wife loved the towels on the bed that had been folded in such a way to form a swan. The bathroom and room amenities (tea,coffee, chocolate) were more than adequate for anyones needs. The breakfast buffet was phenominal and set for a king ( and a foody like myself).
Being I believe the only hotel positioned within the city walls put us in the ideal position for all the shops and a early morning stroll through the Bogside (murals) and around the walls. Although this was a business trip, my wife has requested a return trip to the same hotel so that we can explore a tadd further. All in all, we were suitably impressed and had a lovely experience of the Hotel, the hotel staff, the people of Derry and Derry as a whole,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tannavoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Tannavoll

Thank you for such a lovely review we are delighted yourself and your wife had a lovely time and liked the small touches in your room. We are so happy you enjoyed our breakfast, we are indeed the only hotel in the city walls and we are really pleased that you and your wife will plan to come back and visit us again we look forward to welcoming you both back.

Angela Fitzpatrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This hotel appeared to be the only hotel within the city walls. Hence an excellent location - just off the Diamond, also very convenient to walk the walls. There is limited parking.
The breakfast was very busy and impersonal - all mass produced. Adequate but nothing to write home about !!
We had a drink in the bar but I must admit I thought it lacked a bit of atmosphere. We had our evening meal in Fitzroy's - go out the front door of the hotel, turn left, walk across "The Diamond," and head down towards Dunnes Stores. It was a busy venue and we got a nice meal.
I would definitely recommend the Martin Mc Crossan Walking Tour, We found the people of Derry very friendly and welcoming

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Ariii

Thank you firstly for choosing to stay with us at the Tower Hotel, we are indeed the only hotel located within the City Walls, we are sorry that you found breakfast to be busy as sometimes we have full occupancy and you can find sometimes guests will all come at one time and we try to manage this as best we can. We do have live entertainment at weekends in our Lyric Bar which is complimentary for all guests we hope maybe if you return you can enjoy this. It is great you enjoyed your walking tour and we really hope you will visit us again

Angela Fitzpatrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L-Imgarr, null, Malta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Excellent welcome, great food and service. The glazed duck with honey was superb! Also, the prices are worth it when considering it is sitauted in the heart of the city. It has a spetacular view of the popular derry walls and is very close to several tourist attractions like the famous murals

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernice V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Bernice V

Thank you so much for such a lovely review of your stay with us, it is great you enjoyed your meal and our location and prices were great. We hope that you will come back and visit and we are delighted you had such a great time.

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Overall had a lovely stay at this hotel. Rooms very spacious. We were overlooking the road and on a Saturday nite I thought it would be noisy but it wasnt bad at all. Excellent breakfast. Had a issue with the hairdryer and the welcome brochue not being there but the girls on reception were brilliant and very helpful. Had a few drinks in their lovely bar as well. Excellent location will be back to visit them again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Magot

Thank you for choosing the Tower Hotel and for such a lovely review. It is great that our reception team was helpful during your stay. It is great you will be back to visit, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed here for two nights whilst attending an event at "The Venue" just over the river. Handy central location near the walls, restaurants and bars, but the decor in the room was a bit tired, though I understand they are being refurbed soon. Decent breakfast.

As a light sleeper, I noticed that my room was facing the road, so I asked the receptionist if it was OK to swap with my colleague, whose room was at the rear (and could sleep through a war). She agreed and this is what I did. As soon as I entered the room, there was the sound of what I thought was a small motorbike coming from outside. It turned out to be the extractor fan from the kitchen. I checked my colleagues room and, as expected, due to its proximity to the road, it was noisy, so I asked at reception if it was possible to move rooms, but I was informed this wasn't possible as they were full, however I was assured that the fan would be switched off at 9PM. When I returned to the hotel at 11:30PM it was still running, so I called reception and they informed me that I had been given incorrect information - the fan ran all night. Result - very little sleep in a very hot room that I couldn't cool down by opening the window as that made the noise even worse.

The next night I asked to move rooms, but was informed the only room available was two floors below mine and therefore nearer to the source of the noise. I was informed again that the fan would be turned off at 9PM. Despite me querying this due to the previous night's events, I was assured this would happen. When I returned to the hotel at 11PM, you guessed it, the fan was still running. Result - another hot and sleepless night.

I didn't appreciate being lied to by the staff, and it's unlikely I'll be going back.

Room Tip: Bring some ear plugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Gary B

Thank you firstly for choosing to stay with us at the Tower Hotel, we apologise that the noise of the fan had affected your stay and I have contactedy you and hope to hear from you soon. My direct email is afitzpatrick@thd.ie should you wish to contact me.

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
142 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Only stayed one night and it was okay. We managed to get the last parking spot which was great. While we were there, the lobby wifi went down. The front desk provided me free access for 24 hrs, but when my travel companion asked, they told her no and that she had to pay for it or be patient until the free wifi came back up. The next morning, one of the card readers in the elevator broke. The room while spacious and clean was quite warm. Overall, it was just okay for me.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishTravelingGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
IrishTravelingGirl

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Tower Hotel, we did experience a WIFI problem whilst you were here at the hotel and this was rectified shortly after we hope that your companion was able to then avail of this complimentary WIFI in our lobby. We issued you with a complimentary WIFI pass which the hotel covers the cost with an external company as this was a gesture as it seemed WIFI was an important aspect for you during your stay and we didnt want you to be inconvienced. The elevator reader did as you mentioned break but this was fixed when the Elevator Maintenance Team arrived at the hotel the same day. We are happy you found our rooms to be spacious and clean. We do hope that you would come back and visit in the future as the aspects of WIFI and Elavator were out of the hotels control but were addressed and fixed as soon as possible.

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 12 in Derry
1,990 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 12 in Derry
536 reviews
1.1 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 12 in Derry
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
3.8 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Derry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Derry

Property: Maldron Hotel Derry
Address: Butcher Street | The Diamond, Derry BT48 6HL, Northern Ireland (Formerly Tower Hotel Derry)
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Derry
#5 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#5 Family Hotel in Derry
#5 Romantic Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Maldron Hotel Derry 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern building and interior, The only hotel within Derry's historic walls - City centre, ideally located and the closest Hotel to both of the Citys Shopping Centres. Has on-site Restaurant, Function room, meeting spaces and Music Themed Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Maldron Hotel Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Derry
Maldron Hotel Derry Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing