We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably Nice, Good Value & Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Derry
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Derry
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
251 reviews
214 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Reasonably Nice, Good Value & Location”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I'm not sure I'd put this in the 5-star category, but it was certainly clean and nice. The room was plenty big enough and everything was clean and in working order. There's also parking for hotel guests which was good, too. It's located just inside the city wall, which made it very convenient to walk the walls. It's not too far to reach the murals, either. Derry was extremely quiet... almost deserted. But we learned that this is usually the case on Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday evenings here. We were a bit disappointed that the hotel bar quit serving food at 9:00 as there weren't many choices nearby that were open and acceptable. But, as it turns out, we discovered a great little place called Fitzroy's just a couple of blocks away (go out the front door of the hotel, turn left, walk around "The Diamond," and it'll be immediately on the right after you walk under the wall on the other side).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyGuy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
FlyGuy47

Thank you for firstly choosing to stay with us at the Tower Hotel and secondly for taking the time to write this review. It is great that you found our rooms to be clean and nice and that you made use of our complimentary underground car park. We serve food until 9pm midweek and until 9.30pm Friday but have a room service menu available after this time. Thank you again for choosing to stay at the Tower Hotel

Angela Fitzpatrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    323
    131
    36
    12
See reviews for
187
455
35
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Tower Hotel on a room only basis very recently, my room was a very good one. There was a a local food guide in the room containing a list of restaurants and cafes detailing their signature dishes - a great touch. Staff at reception were attentive and very helpful. No better hotel to stay at whilst visiting Legenderry!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenBlair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Stephen Blair,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us at the Tower Hotel, we are delighted you had such a good time with us, thank you for the compliment that there is "No better hotel to stay at whilst visiting Legenderry" this is greatly appreciated.

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Our first trip to Derry was highlighted by our stay at the Tower Hotel. We were in walking distance to virtually everything we wanted to see and had a lovely dinner in the hotel dining room.

In our booking we were even able to arrange a walking tour of the city walls, which was fantastic. The room was spacious and had a view back to the city walls. The parking is extremely limited and can be difficult to navigate (especially for a Yank!), but not enough to damper our fantastic time at the hotel and in Derry!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin21210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Erin21210

Thank you for such a lovely review about your recent stay with us at the Tower Hotel, we are delighted that your time at the hotel was the highlight of your trip. It is great that you had a lovely dinner and enjoyed a Martin Mc Crossan Walking Tour, thank you so much for choosing the Tower Hotel and we hope that you have a fantastic onward journey through Ireland.

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzptrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed here and found the location and the rooms fine. The parking was great and the breakfast was satisfactory. However there is alot of street noise and there was alot of noise on the corridoors late at night. It is suitable for people who like being out late and enjoying the late night scene.We didnt find it great travelling with children.

Room Tip: Not fronting on to the street. Derry has done alot to promote itself and to generate tourism . It is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maire_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Maire_10

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us at the Tower Hotel, we are delighted you had a lovely stay and although you felt the hotel was too noisy we hope that that you would come back and visit us again in the future.

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
255 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed here for two nights. Excellent location for exploring the city. Staff was very pleasant. Free wifi in lobby. Good security as you need a key card to use the elevator. Food was good. Decent choice of wines.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millie4t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Millie4t

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Tower Hotel, we are delighted that you found so many great points about your stay. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope you have a fantastic onward journey

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night while visiting Derry city. Its very central, most central for the city centre. Although its advertised with parking, its a small car park & it was full by 5 pm Friday, so we had to pay in a car park overnight. The rooms were lovely, clean etc. The bar was nice & a very good one man band playing. However there was alot of street noise at night, firstly a gang outside and later at about 4am noise (like people arguing) that went on for a good while

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Elste

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay with us, we are delighted you had a lovely time in our hotel and bar. Our hotel does offer complimentary underground car parking however this is a first come basis, once filled we offer alternative parking at Bishop Street Carpark which is 50pence per hour and free after 7pm until 8am the following day. We hope you do come back and visit us in the future

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The location is excellent for exploring the city, and the staff are very helpful and pleasant. Breakfast is abundant and varied, rooms are clean and comfortable, and the hotel is quiet. The wifi connection was dependable.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank BogCottonCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
BogCottonCanada

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Tower Hotel, we are delighted you have wrote such a positive review. We wish you a great onward journey and hope that you will come back visit one day.

Angela Fitzpatrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 12 in Derry
1,994 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 12 in Derry
539 reviews
1.1 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 12 in Derry
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
3.8 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Derry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Derry

Property: Maldron Hotel Derry
Address: Butcher Street | The Diamond, Derry BT48 6HL, Northern Ireland (Formerly Tower Hotel Derry)
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#5 Family Hotel in Derry
#5 Business Hotel in Derry
#5 Luxury Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Maldron Hotel Derry 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern building and interior, The only hotel within Derry's historic walls - City centre, ideally located and the closest Hotel to both of the Citys Shopping Centres. Has on-site Restaurant, Function room, meeting spaces and Music Themed Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maldron Hotel Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Derry
Maldron Hotel Derry Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing