We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Derry
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Derry
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Outstanding hotel”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights & were particularly impressed by its convenient location inside the city walls, with secure parking underneath. Our room was very spacious and comfortable, with bath & shower. Breakfast was fantastic, with huge choice, staff were friendly & helpful. Really outstanding value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PreservedKillick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    323
    131
    36
    12
See reviews for
187
454
35
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stayed at the Tower Hotel in Derry for 2 nights during a tour. The hotel is pleasant and the rooms are clean but need updating. The staff was very helpful and the hotel is in a great location with an adjoining bar, the Lyric. All in all, I enjoyed my stay at the Tower hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaghan, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was never in Derry before, we stayed at the Tower Hotel on Butcher Street and it was fantastic. The buffet breakfast was amazing. 10/10. We will definitely go back. We spent most of the day walking the Walls of Derry and this was followed by an amazing Chinese. The weather was dry which made our stay even more fantastic. We ended our week end away with a visit to Primark. The receptionist allowed us to check out and leave our car in the under ground car park of the hotel which I thought was very kind of her. I would recommend any one who has never been to Derry that they should go.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Concepta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here at the weekend. Warm, quiet room in what can be a noisy City on a Saturday night. Extremely helpful staff and Manager to a point of beyond the call of duty.Would definitely recommend staying here when in Londonderry/Derry.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silverbadger1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2013

a couple of friends and my boyfriend and I are just home from a 2 night stay here. the location is excellent as your near everything you need, great nightlife, cheap dining and all the shopping you can do. staff are lovely and very helpful, the rooms are lovely and warm with again everything you need and the beds are very comfortable. the only reason i haven't given this hotel a full rating is the lack of parking, its the only fault which is the price you've to pay because your right in the center of Londonderry. there is no swimming pool but you do have a small gym and sauna, you are aware of this when booking though so it shouldn't be a problem. would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chele90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just arrived home from our one nite stay at the tower hotel. From the time we arrived check in was quick staff very nice. Lovely big room wit comfortable bed and spacious bathroom. Breakfast was lovely and a get choice of food from cereal to fruit salad to bread scones and of course the English breakfast. We had a sandwich in the bar and it was lovely and bar staff are lovely.overall we had an enjoyable stay and would return again.

Room Tip: Lovely hotel and great value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvers25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
96 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I was in Derry with my main goal to see the Bogside area, and for that this hotel had a wonderful location. Right inside the city walls looking down on the Bogside side of town. Short walking distances to pubs, cafes and these kind of things. One minus is that you had to pay for wifi, and the price was really stiff...8.95 pounds a day...the other hotels I stayed on during my trip (Belfast and Dublin), this service was free of charge. The breakfast was nice and the staff did a good job, serviceminded and all just well. Clean, large rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TommyNaess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 12 in Derry
1,994 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 12 in Derry
539 reviews
1.1 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 12 in Derry
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
3.8 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Derry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Derry

Property: Maldron Hotel Derry
Address: Butcher Street | The Diamond, Derry BT48 6HL, Northern Ireland (Formerly Tower Hotel Derry)
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#5 Business Hotel in Derry
#5 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#5 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Maldron Hotel Derry 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern building and interior, The only hotel within Derry's historic walls - City centre, ideally located and the closest Hotel to both of the Citys Shopping Centres. Has on-site Restaurant, Function room, meeting spaces and Music Themed Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maldron Hotel Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Derry
Maldron Hotel Derry Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing