We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Derry
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The staff were really friendly on check in and the room was lovely. It's in a great location and there is a nice little bar attached to the hotel. The bathroom is a little dated but it was clean and plenty of hot water so all in all a great little hotel to stay in the city centre.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2012Catherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotelDerry, Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2017

Dear Valued Guest ,
Thank you for your fantastic review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted that you fully enjoyed your stay .
Since you last stayed with us , we have undergone a bedroom refurbishment and we have re branded to Maldron Hotel.

We do hope we can welcome you back again soon,
Warm Regards,
Linda Folan,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

979 - 985 of 1,203 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

Hotel fine Staff fine Bedroom a wee bit small Food lovely .They hotel could cater a bit better for smokers like a proper smoking area will be back overall a good hotel Car Parking space seems to be a problem.

Room Tip: look ror a room thats not facing street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotelDerry, Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2017

Dear Valued Guest ,
Thank you for your fantastic review on TripAdvisor.
I am delighted that you fully enjoyed your stay . Our entire team pride themselves on their customer service and I am delighted that you experienced this first hand.
Since your last stay , we have had a refurbishment and we are now re branded to the Maldron Hotel.
We do hope we can welcome you back again soon ,
Warm Regards,
Linda Folan,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the hotel st patricks weekend the hotel was really busy,but this did not interfere with the service that was provided in all parts of the hotel.The breakfast was magic ample to chose from and well presented all staff very cheery and helpful.We also used the bar for lightbites very well for 4*hotel,only failure was no swimming pool.Myself and friends will definetly be paying another visit.Regards Pat.Lennon & Shephen O'Niell

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Padris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotelDerry, Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2017

Dear Valued Guest ,
Thank you for your fantastic review on TripAdvisor.
I am delighted that you fully enjoyed your stay . Our entire team pride themselves on their customer service and I am delighted that you experienced this first hand.
Since your last stay , we have had a refurbishment and we are now re branded to the Maldron Hotel.
We do hope we can welcome you back again soon ,
Warm Regards,
Linda Folan,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

THIS is a great hotel very comfy and clean pleasent staff. But be carfull if have a special diet as cluless , i needed gluten free /vegetarian diet ,and was told to help slef to food but will be cross comination. we had a front room was overlooked by office staff no very private, also was waken at 6am with people on treadmill in gym. not handy when been out at night.
very local ideal .

Room Tip: ask for back room . as some front rooms overlooked and noise from gym . very handy location .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drumveiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotelDerry, Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2017

Dear Valued Guest ,
Thank you for your fantastic review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted that you fully enjoyed your stay .
Since you last stayed with us , we have undergone a bedroom refurbishment and we have re branded to Maldron Hotel.

We do hope we can welcome you back again soon,
Warm Regards,
Linda Folan,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This was our second stay in the Tower, and once again we weren't disappointed.

The hotel was pretty much full, what with a sporting conference running in the city, and a rather large hen party checking in shortly after us. The limited car parking under the hotel was fully taken, meaning we had to park in the side street, beside the car park entrance. This was safe and presented no problems.

Checkin was straightforward and easy, and the staff were as helpful as always. We had the Caroline Suite on the first floor, which was great (see accompanying photos). Lots of room, well appointed and importantly - warm and clean.

We didn't eat dinner in the hotel this time around as we had a separate reservation already made at a nearby bar/restaurant. Breakfast though was all you need - plenty of cereal options, cold continental fare, and a really good full Irish spread.

I would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are fine and spacious, and always clean. The Caroline Suite was beautiful, well furn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J50KPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotelDerry, Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2017

Dear Valued Guest ,
Thank you for your fantastic review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted that you fully enjoyed your stay .
Since you last stayed with us , we have undergone a bedroom refurbishment and we have re branded to Maldron Hotel.

We do hope we can welcome you back again soon,
Warm Regards,
Linda Folan,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The Tower Hotel was perfect for our night away. The hotel was very clean, comfortable and the staff were really friendly and helpful. The city is in a really central location within the famous walls of Derry. It's really convenient for shopping but is also in a perfect location to see many of the city's other attractions.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rickmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotelDerry, Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2017

Dear Valued Guest ,
Thank you for your fantastic review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted that you fully enjoyed your stay .
Since you last stayed with us , we have undergone a bedroom refurbishment and we have re branded to Maldron Hotel.

We do hope we can welcome you back again soon,
Warm Regards,
Linda Folan,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

I was very pleased with the size of our room in this hotel. Both the bedroom and bathroom had loads of space. It was very clean and comfortable. Staff were friendly and prompt. We ordered room service and had breakfast at the hotel. This was the only disappointing part. The food was quite dry and tasteless. However, I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotelDerry, Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2017

Dear Valued Guest ,
Thank you for your fantastic review on TripAdvisor.
I am delighted that you fully enjoyed your stay . Our entire team pride themselves on their customer service and I am delighted that you experienced this first hand.
Since your last stay , we have had a refurbishment and we are now re branded to the Maldron Hotel.
We do hope we can welcome you back again soon ,
Warm Regards,
Linda Folan,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#8 of 13 in Derry
2,109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#2 of 13 in Derry
697 reviews
1.1 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#4 of 13 in Derry
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
0.1 mi away
Shipquay Boutique Hotel
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Derry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Derry

Address: Butcher Street | The Diamond, Derry BT48 6HL, Northern Ireland (Formerly Tower Hotel Derry)
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#5 Family Hotel in Derry
#5 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#5 Business Hotel in Derry
Price Range: $67 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maldron Hotel Derry 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern building and interior, The only hotel within Derry's historic walls - City centre, ideally located and the closest Hotel to both of the Citys Shopping Centres. Has on-site Restaurant, Function room, meeting spaces and Music Themed Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maldron Hotel Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Derry
Maldron Hotel Derry Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing