We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Valentines Day Package”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Derry
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Valentines Day Package”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My boyfriend and I are only back from a stay here over valentines day. We purchased the Valentines day package which we truly cannot fault. The food was excellent, the rooms were very clean and the service was wonderful. We had great craic with many of the members of staff who very friendly and fun. They gave us great advice on the best nights out in Derry, and overall were all just lovely people. Cocktails in the bar were yummy and the entertainment was also good! Will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KerryannMcG91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    320
    129
    36
    12
See reviews for
185
448
35
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed for one night here. I was very impressed from the minute we walked through the door. The reception staff were very welcoming. I judge everywhere on their toilets - clean toilets, clean kitchen and I have to say the place was spotless. I was even more happy when we checked into our room which was again spotless with added touches of swans and chocolates which was. lovely. We stayed for dinner which was fantastic. There were six of us including a veggie but the menu catered for all. I have to say the steak was great. The staff who served us were friendly and couldn't have done enough for us. We had a wonderful night in Derry and a great night sleep. Breakfast was to the same standard, everything you could ever ask for and again service was impeccable. We have stayed in 4 other hotels in Derry and would say the service here outshone all of them. We will be recommending and we will be back in the future. Thanks to the staff who served so well and the manager who spoke to us before we checked out - not sure of her name. Look forward to returning,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager2013, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear PaulB.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. We are delighted your stay went well and the Tower Hotel suited your needs. I note you have said the service and staff were first class, we are here for our guests and to insure their needs are met and I am glad you were happy with the service during your stay, once again thank you and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit the the Tower Hotel.

Kind Regards
Mike Gatt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

our daughters bought us a weekend away in derry to celebrate our 25 anniversary we were so looking forward to it .when we got to hotel was impressed but then it went down hill from there . we went to our room it was like walking into a freezer.no atmosphere at all .went for our meal and asked if i could see a la carte menu as the dinner menu didnt suit me but my husband had the dinner menu .our daughters had paid for the whole package and i said didnt mind paying difference in the 2 menus we said it would probaly be around 10 pounds or so .got to end of meal and asked for bill as we had a couple of drinks .got the bill nearly died 38pounds 25 for my meal and the rest for drinks girl was adamint that it was right but i no she was wrong .would never stay there again whole weekend spoilt and a waste of money on my daughters behalf

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marie238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager2013, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Marie238

I am sorry I have had to contact you like this as I have attempted to address your comments several times with you but you will not reply to me.

Kind Regards
Mike Gatt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I hosted a small conference of 8 delegates just before Christmas with dinner bed and breakfast, and the boardroom for the afternoon. An all around great experience from booking through to departure. Food was first class and service excellent. Highly reccomended venue for business or pleasure (returning shortly for the latter!)

Kieran (RMS Ireland)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kieran A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager2013, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Hello Kieran A,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that the hotel suited your needs and your conference went well. If we can be of further assistance to you in the future please contact any of our team and they will be happy to assist in any way they can.
Kind Regards
Mike Gatt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Went to Derry to see starlight express and stayed in the tower hotel.The hotel and staff are very nice.We had seafood chowder for lunch and sirloin steak for dinner both in the bar and was very good..When we came back from the show we sat in the lobby area a girl asked if we wanted a drink we asked if we could have sandwiches she said she would see,after a while she came back and told us the manager said we would have to take them in our room, as we were hungry we agreed, the reason for this was if we had eaten them in the lobby they could not have charged us the £5 tray charge a bit mean we thought .When they arrived they were poorly made 2/3 little pieces of chicken and a piece of lettuce no mayo or salad cream total price £15.00.We were disappointed we had to go to our room at 10.30 and could not eat in the lobby and had a few more drinks to finish of our evening in the city of culture.

Room Tip: Room looking over river
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ballymaguigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager2013, Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Ballymcguigan,

Thank you for posting your comments on the Tripadvisor web site. We are delighted to read you had a lovely stay and when you stayed with us as you were going to a production of starlight express in the Millennium Forum, We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Mike Gatt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on the winter warmer offer and couldn't fault it. Both the meal and breakfast were lovely. We stsyed in the erinsuite which was absolutely fantastic and a great size. Thanks tower hotel for a great weekend

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcvarnock01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager2013, Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear McVarnock01

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. We are delighted the hotel suited your needs and we look forward to your next visit the the Tower Hotel.

Kine Regards
Mike Gatt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kajaani, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Service is great and location is perfect but free wifi does not work and thats why just 4/5. Great bar at first floor and the breakfast is also good. You can even start your day with the wiskey borrige :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Juhpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager2013, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Juhpe,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on tripadvisor. We are delighted to read them and are glad the hotel suited your needs. I understand you had difficulty connecting to the free wifi we provide and I do apologise for this as we had a brief problem which has now been resolved. Thank you once again and best wishes.

Kind Regards

Mike Gatt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#6 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,966 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
1.1 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
3.8 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Derry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Derry

Property: Maldron Hotel Derry
Address: Butcher Street | The Diamond, Derry BT48 6HL, Northern Ireland (Formerly Tower Hotel Derry)
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Derry
#5 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#5 Business Hotel in Derry
#6 Luxury Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Maldron Hotel Derry 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern building and interior, The only hotel within Derry's historic walls - City centre, ideally located and the closest Hotel to both of the Citys Shopping Centres. Has on-site Restaurant, Function room, meeting spaces and Music Themed Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Maldron Hotel Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Derry
Maldron Hotel Derry Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing