We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maldron Hotel Derry
Nearby Hotels
Waterfoot Hotel(Derry)(Great Value!)
$127
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry(Derry)(Great Value!)
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$176
$163
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
$68
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
City Hotel(Derry)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,270)
Filter reviews
1,270 results
Traveler rating
683
365
162
43
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
683
365
162
43
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstower hotellyric barinside the city wallscar parkwithin the wallsderry wallshen partycentral locationhotel barreception staffexcellent locationthe heart of the citylovely hotelwould highly recommend this hotelfood was lovelyporridgewalking tour
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,162 - 1,167 of 1,270 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Stayed for one night, a warm welcome from friendly desk staff and helpful in recommending places to eat. The girl behind the bar was very friendly. Room was very basic and the wife found a small stain on the bed sheet but we were quickly supplied with a new sheet.
Location is great inside the old city walls and the breakfast was nice but fairly expensive.
Overall not sure it deserves 4 stars, that is probably due to the spa but we didn't use that.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotelDerry, Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2017

Dear Valued Guest ,
Thank you for your fantastic review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted that you fully enjoyed your stay .
Since you last stayed with us , we have undergone a bedroom refurbishment and we have re branded to Maldron Hotel.

We do hope we can welcome you back again soon,
Warm Regards,
Linda Folan,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Great location in Derry city centre. Paid for a suite. Large bedroom with seperate lounge and seperate hallway.Large bathroom. All rooms clean. Lots of floor to ceiling windows in bedroom and lounge, however, it looked as if these windos had not been cleaned recently.
Decor, furniniture and fittings in rooms was 'spartan' and in need of modernisation.Small LCD TV in lounge with poor reception quality. The bathroom was spacious and had a seperate walk-in shower. Only 1 bottle of shampoo and 1 bottle of shower gel. A bit mean for a room for two people.
No air-conditioning.
No safe.
No iron or ironing board.
No free wi-fi.

The above would be the bare minimum I would expect from a 4 star hotel in the 21st century.
Even the larger, but cheaper national chains of hotels provide air-con anf free wi-fi.

Breakfast was in my opinion plentiful, but poor quality.

The staff, from reception, the bar and the cleaning department were truely excellent:polite,good humoured, friendly and professional. I would say that the hotel appeared to be a bit under-staffed - the reception folks appeared to be doing everything.

Derry will be the UK City of Culture in 2013. I sincerely hope this hotel is updated between now and then.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aarakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotelDerry, Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2017

Dear Valued Guest,
I appreciate you taking the time to post your review.
On behalf of the entire team , I would like to sincerely apologise that you found us lacking on this occasion , I can assure you it was not our intention to disappoint .
Since you last stayed , We have now re branded to Maldron Hotel .
We do hope you will consider giving us an opportunity to restore your faith in us ,
Warm Regards,
Linda Folan,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

excellent hotel,staff very friendly,perfect location for the jazz weekend.look forward to next year.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brendan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotelDerry, Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2017

Dear Valued Guest ,
Thank you for your fantastic review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted that you fully enjoyed your stay .
Since you last stayed with us , we have undergone a bedroom refurbishment and we have re branded to Maldron Hotel.

We do hope we can welcome you back again soon,
Warm Regards,
Linda Folan,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Brilliant location, inside the walls, and easy to walk to everything. Our room was on the 4th floor (which we had asked for) and great view over city.Visiting Derry to go to a couple of concerts at Millenium Forum about 5 mins walk away (v impressive concert venue). Hotel would benefit from some tlc (make sure painters wipe away excess paint round light fittings etc next time), but it was clean and comfortable. Excellent breakfast choice and when we were leaving v early to catch a flight a 'continental' breakfast was arranged which we really appreciated (thanks to those involved who were v courteous and helpful in spite of the early hour!). All staff were warm, helpful and enthusiastic about their 'lovely wee city'. Highly recommend Tower Museum, Free Derry Museum and City Tours (Martin McGrossan) walking tour - thanks to Garvin; also walk over the Peace Bridge.

Room Tip: Really good view from rooms on upper floors - room 421 had great city view & could easily see 'bogside' murals and a slanted view of river.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arransue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotelDerry, Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2017

Dear Valued Guest ,
Thank you for your fantastic review on TripAdvisor.
I am delighted that you fully enjoyed your stay . Our entire team pride themselves on their customer service and I am delighted that you experienced this first hand.
We do hope we can welcome you back again soon ,
Warm Regards,
Linda Folan,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Booked this hotel for myself and a group of friends for the weekend. Booked directly with the hotel over the phone, found the booking staff very friendly and professional and easy to deal with. Had a great weekend, hotel is just within the city walls, walking distance to all that the city has to offer. I found the rooms clean and tidy, with plenty of hot water all the time. Bar staff very friendly and the bar food was lovely and a good price too. The staff were very informative about the attractions in the city, had many good recommendations on where to go and what to do and were happy to organise things to do for the group. All in all, The rooms were a good price and the staff were very welcoming. I would definitely book here again.
Ciaran

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ciaran_Mc763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotelDerry, Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2017

Dear Valued Guest ,
Thank you for your fantastic review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted that you fully enjoyed your stay .
Since you last stayed with us , we have undergone a bedroom refurbishment and we have re branded to Maldron Hotel.

We do hope we can welcome you back again soon,
Warm Regards,
Linda Folan,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews