We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly great”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mostly great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2007

Great rooms, breakfast, parking and location. Would have got five stars, but one member of staff was a total tube, so i'm giving it four. Had we not encountered this rude dude, it would have got five.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank write2david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we appreciate all your comments and hope to earn a 5 star review for your next visit, thank you for taking the time to review, we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,002
    607
    212
    85
    44
See reviews for
338
842
57
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2007

We booked the night before going as we got a surprise day off work, we arrived about 4p.m. the receptionist Sherlie never once looked us in the eye on booking us in, bad sign. The room 332 was tiny, had a huge wine stain on the wall and carpet, it was like a brottle!
We asked to be changed and got an even smaller room with a toilet almost as big (one could tell from the Fire Excape drawings). The Decor was Cheap and Nasty, the room 327on the 3rd floor looked out over the top of the Swimming pool and into the rooms opposite, we kept the curtins closed all the time. This Hotel was only 4/5 years old, one could tell it was built on a budget and run with NO budget. The changing rooms/wash areas for the Tiny Swimming Pool were hairy and dirty and littered with toilet tissue with an overflowing bin and linin basket. The Bar and Restraunt Area was open plan and not very appealing, again needed a good cleaning . The Sairs and Lift area were in need of paint and a hover. This hotel was ment to be a 4 Star Romantic Night away - all I can say is STAY WELL AWAY.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — The Reception staff menber
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank POPIEDUBLIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CitySales, Business Development Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2007
Dear “Popie Dublin”

It is with regret that I recently read your comments on Tripadvisor regarding your stay with us.

We at the City Hotel pride ourselves for the warm, genuine welcome we provide to our guests and can only apologise that this was not your experience on this occasion.

All of our Guest rooms conform to strict guidelines laid down by NITB regarding the Standard Size requirements for a Hotel Bedroom. In the case of our Executive rooms, they are designed to be larger than the standard requirements.

Many of our Guest rooms benefit from fabulous city and River views. Unfortunately not all our rooms are front facing. We do endeavour, when possible, to allocate rooms with one of our great views to our guests, although when the hotel is very busy, some guests may be disappointed that this view is not available.

A clean and safe environment is of the utmost importance to us. Our swimming pool is 15 metres long and is subject to ongoing Standard Inspection from the local Council to ensure water quality and general levels of cleanliness. Our changing areas are regularly inspected by a member of staff and we do encourage Members and guests to inform staff if the area becomes untidy.

We are committed to providing a great stay to all our guests and while your comments are disappointing for us to hear, I can assure you that the issues raised have been addressed with the relevant departments. I do hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back to the City Hotel soon.

Best regards,
Matt Doherty
Business Development Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new haven, connecticut
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2007

As another reviewer stated, this hotel is probably the best hotel in Derry, but that doesn't say much. However, you must remember that Derry has not been a "tourist city" for long, and is experiencing growing pains in this regard. My wife, son, nephew and I stayed here on a visit, and finding a room that can sleep four is always good. The rooms are large by Irish standards, and look even larger because they are so sparsely furnished. There is very little in the way of drawers or furniture, but there was a hair-dryer and coffee/tea maker. Food was good though a little dry. Wait staff and pool staff were friendly and helpful, reception staff was not. The location is good as you may walk to the walls and the shopping area. However, their garage seems to be permanently full and you must pay to park across the street. The color scheme of the hotel is a boring beige, but the place was clean. As I stated earlier, Derry is new to the tourist trade. When I was there several years ago, even though the "peace accord" had been signed, you could still sense tension. Now however you can walk the walls and take snaps of the once deadly Bogside area. You can cross the border without seeing any security, and the Republic is where you should fill up the tank as it now has the economic edge on the North.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no parking
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CoClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments and hope to improve to earn a 5 star review for your next visit, thank you for taking the time to review, we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
264 reviews
219 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 756 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2007

GOOD:
*Location is perfect
*Unfortunately, probably the best hotel in the area
*Great view of the water and city

BAD:
*Pillows are too thick
*Shower curtain blows in and touches you during showers
*May to wait to get a table at breakfast
*Parking spaces may be difficult to acquire
*Staff was sometimes rude
*No A/C in rooms and they get hot
*Our room was on a busy street and opening the window caused loud road noise in the room
*Charge for wi-fi is nearly US$20

If you need to stay in Derry, this is probably still the best option. Next time I will stay 15 mins outside of Derry, where they have the EU (not pound) which will save money on a hotel (and get a better one), dinners, etc. I would drive into Derry for the day for the sights. Letterkenny has some great new hotels and nice shops for a fraction of the price of Derry.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelSnob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we appreciate all your comments and hope to earn a 5 star review for your next visit, thank you for taking the time to review, we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2007

The hotel is centrally located (thus the name), it offers free parking. The rooms were clean & comfortable. The hotel bar/dining is very good as well though it closes early (9:30 for dinner menu).

  • Liked — Location & Price
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ksaints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your kind words and are happy to be of service, thank you for taking the time to review, we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2007

Stayed there for weekend at end of june, Great location. Fine reception/bar area. I enjoyed my stay there. Here are my observations, none of which would prevent me from staying there again.
Singer on Saturday night didn't know the Derry Air, perhaps it was a political thing. Rooms spacious and clean. Shower/bath had shower curtains. I hate the way the cling. No room safe. Empty fridge in room. Lots of nearby parking and limited free parking under hotel. Wish they would find some way of letting people know when its full before you have to start reversing back up the access ramp.
Nice breakfast but WAY too expensive if not included in package.
Wifi access is more than too expensive. It would be cheaper to hire a courier. There is free wifi access in the tower hotel close by. Will probable stay there (City Hotel) again, but sorry I didn't have a look around the Tower Hotel when i was there so I could include it in my decision next time.
btw Derry has changed a lot in the 15 years since I was last there and I would recommend it for a visit any time.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank wearb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we appreciate all your comments and hope to earn a 5 star review for your next visit, thank you for taking the time to review, we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2007

I’m just back from a three night stay at the City Hotel. My room overlooked the river Foyle and was very spacious and clean. A desk and swivel chair is provided with internet connection for your laptop and there is also a keyboard provided to access the internet through the TV (a bit pricey at £4 or £5 an hour though). Breakfast is buffet style and varied although the fried food was not as tasty as it looked.
The hotel is a short walk from the bus station, the Guildhall and the city walls. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Com4tlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your kind words and are happy to be of service, thank you for taking the time to review, we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
1.4 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel
1.1 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
1.8 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#10 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Property: City Hotel
Address: Queens Quay, Derry BT48 7AS, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Derry
#5 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#6 Business Hotel in Derry
#6 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#7 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary hotel located on the bend of River Foyle, 200 yards from Guildhall - Many rooms overlook these points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing