We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great staff, fabulous views”
Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Just got back from a 3 night stay in Derry and had a wonderful time. The City hotel is in a great location just outside the walls and on the river front. Great welcome from the reception staff, always took the time to get me any information i required, cant fault them at all. Stayed in a Junior Suite, and as this was on the corner of the hotel I had great views up the river to the Foyle bridge and the lough as well as across to the Guildhall, the city and the hills of Waterside. The only downside that i came across was the bed was extremely firm - now i like a firm bed but this took it to extremes - however that is my only gripe! Breakfast was a buffet style but with lots of staff to look after you too. I went on the Martin McCrossan walking tour on Saturday and although it was tipping it down the tour went ahead and Brian our tourguide really brought the history to life. We ended up in the Java Coffee shop for our complimentary coffee (included in the £4 tour price) and myself and a couple of the other women on the tour chatted for about an hour and a half - fantastic. I ate at Fitzroys and Quay West in Derry (both offering 30% off the bill at the moment) and also Icon over on Waterside - all excellent and i didnt feel at all unwelcome as a single diner although all the restaurants were very busy. The only place i didnt eat was at the Exchange because you cant book - it was so popular that on Saturday evening at 7.30 I was told that there would be a 90 minute wait - so i didnt!! Taxi costs are fixed rather than being on meters - from the airport it was £14. Each of the three restaurants and the two cafes i used (the second being Cafe Artisan) offer gluten and wheat free options - a wide range of them - so Derry is definitely the place for you if you have this requirement. Go to Londonderry, stay in the City Hotel, wonder at the place and the surrounding countryside - go there soon - it definitely feeds the soul!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingLight02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CitySales, Sales manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2010

Thank you for your great feedback from your recent stay with us at the City Hotel. Im glad you enjoyed your short break to Derry and you took the time to explore the city. We hopefully will see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,894 - 1,900 of 2,132 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2010

Clean large rooms. Free parking under hotel. Free Wi Fi.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irishrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CitySales, Sales Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2010

Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the City Hotel. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2010

i really enjoyed my stay here, we stayed in the suite, very spaceous clean rooms and nice and warm, lovely view of the river. the staff were very friendly and helpful, and the evening dinners were very tasty. the bar in the lobby was very busy and full of life, met lots of lovely locals. the hotel has great location, very near the shopping centres and local shops. i have nothing bad to say about this hotel, the parking is limited inthe underground hotel carpark, but not to worry there is a fine big carpark directly across from the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamiebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CitySales, Sales Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2010

Many thanks for your review of the City Hotel and im glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Check in very simple and receptionist very friendly, Room quite spacious and clean with a view over the river. The location was great, right in the centre and near the city walls which were only a short walk away. A swimming pool . jacuzzi and steam room are on site which we had all to ourselves for a time.
As part of the package we booked we had dinner on the first evening but the food and service was so good we chose to eat their on the second evening.
There was entertainment in the bar both evenings.
We loved everything about this hotel . What we least liked?.....Leaving!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HartlepoolChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CitySales, Sales Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2010

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay in the City Hotel. Im glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Great hotel, very comfortable, food great, service great, walking distance to many historic sights, staff very pleasant, service great, car very safe, Bar busy and fun.
Nothing bad to say although get up for breakfast early and so long as u don't mind a wee bit of noise from the main road you will have a very pleasant stay!
Perfect hotel for relaxing weekend break! Delighted! :)

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anniephil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2016

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your kind words and are happy to be of service, thank you for taking the time to review, we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights (Saturday and Sunday) in August as part of a 10 day trip to Ireland. The hotel is a large building on the quayside in the 2013 'City of Culture'. We arrived by car and found the hotel easily - it's location is very obvious as you drive into the city and there is free underground parking so arriving by car is very straightforward.

We had a junior suite which was comforable and very well equipped. he hotel helpfully set up a full size single bed in the seating area. Our shower themostat did not work so we had to change rooms which was a bit of a pain but the hotel were responsive and efficient.

We ate in the hotel restaurant as part of the deal and iI wouldn't recommend this. On Saturday night the hotel was incredibly busy - there was live music in the lounge which is open plan with the dining room. In addtiion there was a wedding reception and thus much hustle and bustle. It gives a lively atmosphere but really the dining area needs to be separate from the live music, lounge and reception as it makes for a very very noisy dinner. The hotel is used by a lot of coach tours and this adds to the sense of busy-ness.

The food itself was pedestrian and rather disappointing and we found this at breakfast also.

On balance, as a place to stay it has a great location and is comfortable but i'd suggest finding somewhere else to eat if possible.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CitySales, Sales Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the City Hotel. Our lobby is very popular at weekends with residents and locals and therefore does get extremely busy with people enjoying the atmosphere and entertainment. In relation to your comments about the restaurant, our guest surveys suggests that the majority of guests are more than satisfied with the quality of the food in Thompsons although i certainly will investigate these further with our restaurant manager. We do hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

my wife,daughter and son-in-law stayed at this 4* hotel situated right in the heart of the city of derry. we drove to our destination as we were using derry as a venue to visit the giants causeway and the carrick a reed bridge , both well worth a visit. the hotel has an undergrond car park for residents which was ideal. the hotel itself has a striking appearance and the decor,while excellent, still manages to onvey a homely atmosphere. the staff were very well trained and exceptionally friendly as,indeed, we found the derry people themselves to be. the rooms are modern, the hotel opened in 2002, and have air conditioning. shoers/bath are up to the minute modern appliances. the towels are changed daily and the rooms cleaned and beds made. there is tea/coffee making facilities in the room. television is a combination of satellite tv and computer. you will find amessage on it addressed to you on arrival welcoming you. there isonly music at the weekends which i prefer allowing conversation over a welcome drink. i have no hesitation recommending this hotel to anyone and i intend to visit it again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smiler16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CitySales, Sales Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2010

Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us at the City Hotel. Im delighted to read you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#2 of 13 in Derry
744 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shipquay Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
1.4 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#4 of 13 in Derry
1,337 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Address: Queens Quay, Derry BT48 7AS, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Derry
#6 Business Hotel in Derry
#6 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#7 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#7 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range: $70 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary hotel located on the bend of River Foyle, 200 yards from Guildhall - Many rooms overlook these points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing