We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location...”
Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed May 17, 2010

We chose this hotel mainly for the location - which turned out to be a good idea as the hotel is very central and handy to return too after walking the walls or museums etc.

The City Hotel, lives up to the 4stars, but you do pay for that luxury. In saying that, parking is free, as was wifi. Breakfast was included (as was dinner in our package). All was very nice.

Perfectly clean, friendly and helpful staff, lovely dinner.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yessillah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CitySales, Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us at the City Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,065)
There are newer reviews for City Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,851 - 1,857 of 2,065 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2010

We booked a deluxe room last minute for the bank holiday wkend of the Jazz Festival. The place was extremely busy but we were lucky enough to get parking and we did not move the car for the entire break as the location of the hotel is so central. Our room was lovely, although I thought the bed a little small for a deluxe room, staff were attentive, efficient and courteous even though they were run off their feet! The buzz in the hotel lobby was electric as the bands blasted out their tunes til the wee small hours of the morning. We ate in the hotel restaurant on the Saturday night and the food was lovely with an adequate wine list.
Overall I thoroughly enjoyed the experience and would certainly return.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alidickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CitySales, Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2010

Thank you for your review of the City Hotel and i was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Jazz Festival weekend is always very popular with our guests! We look forward to seeing you again.

Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2010

Was recommended to stay here by friends who had raved about it and as closeby to everything in the city, car-park was full when we arrived and recommended we park in the multistorey nearby! Unfortunately we had to pay for this even though they advised at booking stage they have free parking !
Requested a quiet room when we arrived at reception but our room was along the front of the hotel beside a busy road !! Alot of noise from the outside street from people travelling home after a busy night. Not a great start !
We decided to go downstairs to the restaurant on our second night and then the live entertainment in the lobby. Food ok, vegetables and potatoes with main course were cold so had to ask to get these reheated. Decided against the live entertainment as tables were dirty and cluttered with glasses.
At breakfast on our second morning we had to ask for tea and coffee twice, eventually getting it when we had nearly finished our hot breakfast, ok it was busy but they should have been staffed to allow for this !
We did highlight our disappointment to the reception on check out but felt it was ignored ! For the price we paid we would have expected more, will not be back again !

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evelynd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CitySales, Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2010

Further to your recent review of the City Hotel, i was disappointed to read your comments. In relation to the car parking, we have a limited number of spaces at the hotel and we do advise guests of this at the booking stage although there are a variety of carparks less than 1 minute from the hotel. The weekend you stayed with us may have been the Jazz Festival in Derry and the hotel was extremely busy but we certainly will investigate your comments further.

Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2010

we stay for a weekend, on the fri nite was a bit older crowd and we were going to head out on sat nite, but as we went down on sat it was a far better then the fri nit more of a mix crowd the band was playing was great called the horzon i would love to go back and see them playing again, for the hotel was great, if i had to pick one bad thing it would be there dishwasher i think they need a new one are new cup's and so on.....
oh the Double bed was two Twin beds put together..

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roblib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CitySales, Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2010

Thank you very much for your recent feedback from your stay with us at the City Hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2010

I stayed here on business for 2 days. The hotel is modern with a comfortable ambience and well appointed bedrooms. I found the staff very helpful and willing to accommodate my needs. For instance, I needed to check out early (5.30am) but the staff were happy to arrange for their night porter (hello Liam) to provide me with a breakfast. The restaurant was also happy to cook me an evening meal to order as i didnt want to eat the same vegetarian meal two nights running.

The hotel is on quite a busy road but i didnt hear any traffic noise so the hotel must have very good sound insulation. It's location is very central with Derry's historic city walls less than 5 minutes away (well worth walking round).

All in all a very good place to stay whether on business or leisure.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalvernTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CitySales, Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2010

Further to your recent review i would like to thank you for taking the time to feed back to us. Im glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2010

We made a large booking and a girl called Alison was superb in accommodating our needs with such a large party. The hotel was clean and staff very friendly. Everyone enjoyed the food and entertainment. This is a hotel that goes the extra mile to make your stay one to remember. We will be going back to repeat this wonderful experience.
Congratulation City Hotel right from the Management to the cleaners.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TAGNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2016

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your kind words and are happy to be of service, thank you for taking the time to review, we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2010

Had a midweek confo in Derry and stayed here for the duration.Cosmetically it's a nice hotel but nothing special and Derry is a very rough town so it's best to stay in at night.Not bad mate,but need to fix water pressure in showers and a smile would be nice

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffbucks2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CitySales, Sales Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2010

Further to your recent review i was disappointed to read some of your comments in relation to your stay. At the 4* City Hotel we pride ourselves on providing excellent customer service which has been reflected in the awards our team have won in 2010 alone. I certainly will feedback your comments and i do hope you will visit the hotel again soon.

Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
617 reviews
1.4 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 13 in Derry
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
1.8 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#11 of 13 in Derry
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Address: Queens Quay, Derry BT48 7AS, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Derry
#6 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#6 Business Hotel in Derry
#6 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#7 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range: $82 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary hotel located on the bend of River Foyle, 200 yards from Guildhall - Many rooms overlook these points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing