We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
City Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Banbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

From the time we arrived until the time we left this morning all staff were friendly, helpful and nothing was to much hassle. We were there for a conference and everything went to plan thanks to the very helpful hotel staff. From the news paper under the door first thing in the morning Breakfast and to any request asked of them. On return to our room it was sitting perfect thanks to the house keeping staff. We used room service late one night the food was excellent and was delivered to the room very quickly again by a very helpful staff member.

Room Tip: If you are going to Derry/Londonderry this hotel has everything Views over the River Foyle to a very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedBossie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we are certainly proud of our staff, we thank you for posting and hope you chose to return soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,023
    630
    223
    94
    46
See reviews for
355
861
61
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Booked the hotel for my hubbys birthday for one night only,,, had a really great time. Staff couldnt have been more helpful and plesant.. our room overlooked the foyle absolutely lovely.. very clean and food was great.. we had a bed evening meal and breakfast deal.. We were only in our room five or ten minutes when the phone rang and it was reception asking if everything was ok?? Ive stayed in many hotels and this is the first I have had this.. a few minutes after that our door was knocked and my husband was handed a bottle of wine and a birthday card from the staff!!! we were sooo overwhelmed!! I must say we were both very happy and very impressed with this hotel and its staff.. we will definatly be back, hopefuly next time for several days,, oh and the hotel is soo well situated so convenient to many local attractions and shopping etc... good stuff City Hotel Derry.. keep up the good work. and thank you xxxxxx

Room Tip: all I can say that this is the first time I have stayed here and our room overlooked the foyle abso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerri1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Gerri1961
Thank you for your review, it is wonderful to hear you had a great time for your husbands birthday, we do hope it will encourage you to visit us again.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in one of the superior rooms on the 7th floor, and it was stunning! The little extras such as the robes and free drinks and snacks really made it.
Upon arriving at the hotel we were in front of a whole coach of tourists who had just arrived. The hotel handled the volume of guests checking in at the sametime smoothly & efficiently.
When I reached the desk I was greeted with a warm smile by Laura who is a credit to the hotel and could not do enough to help us during our stay.
We ate our evening meal in the restraunt on a meal deal of 2 courses and a bottle of wine for £35, with it being so cheap I wasn't really expecting much, however I was pleasantly surprised at just how good the food and service were.
All together a fantastic hotel and we will return.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Katie_T1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Katie_T1985
Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay, i've passed your kind words on to Laura your receptionist, we look forward to seeing you again.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

I am here at the moment and can just say I am certainly enjoying it! The hotel is amazing, the restaurant is amazing, the staff are amazing, everything is wonderful. It's located so close to everything, including the walls, and the city centre is just over the road.

My mother has contacts within the hotel and they told us that we could either get one room with a river view or two rooms with a city view. The views both ways are lovely though, but I would ask for a river view next time.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Lauren D,
Thank you for your review, we look forward to your return, please be sure to request a river view room for your next visit, the views truely are stunning.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Booked in for a weekend to attend a wedding which was being held there and when we arrived there was nowhere to park, we were told they couldn't reserve us a space for the following night either, we were not told this when booking, it resulted in us having to pay almost over forty pounds to park elsewhere. When we got to our room I went to use the bathroom only to see that the bathroom was a disabled bathroom, with no bath and a shower which only went up to my shoulder and I'm only 5ft 7. The room also had an adjoining door to another room which I wasn't pleased with. We rang reception and were told they may not have a room available, and if they did it may only be for the one night and we'd have to come back to the original room the following night, I told the girl that wouldn't be happening as we couldn't use the bathroom facilities as they were for w wheelchair user, so our heights restricted us, I also told her I wasn't happy with being giving a room with an adjoining door as it gave us no privacy. She then found an available room but we had to sit around for about half an hour waiting for keys being brought up. First impression of the hotel was bad.

But the other room was nice and had a bathroom we were happy with. The food in the restaurant was beautiful and the staff were really nice.

On to the wedding, absolutely beautiful for a wedding, rooms set up beatifully, food beautiful and staff all very accommodating and friendly. Could not fault it for that.

I would go back and recommend this hotel but if I were going back I'd want reserved parking and a room with a functional bathroom.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fallon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Fallon M,
Thank you for your review, apologies if there was a confusion over the room booking, i am pleased the staff were able to rectify this and you enjoyed the remainder of your stay and the wedding also.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Derry was a stop on our way from Galway to Giant Causeway. It turned out to be a great destination on it own. Lovely city recovering from recent history. Lovely people. And excellent service at the hotel. The penthouse rooms are worth the extra cost. Cool entrance door that painted like a townhouse resident entry. Rooms are styish, boutique style. Smart decor and comfortable beds and furnishing. Stylish for sure. Our friend stayed in a superior room and it was clean and comfy as well. Though the penthouse rooms were a cut above the average 4 star hotel for sure. Bed was very comfortable and view from room was scenic. 10 times nicer then the "5-star" Fitzwilliam Dublin which turned out to be a huge disappointment (separate review). The Derry itself is a nice walking city with alot of nice restaurants, shops, and pubs.

Staff, including front desk, door man, and restaurant team, were all welcoming, professional, and warm.

City itself is worth a couple of days. Wish we had stayed longer. Next time.

Room Tip: Penthouse rooms for sure. We had the deluxe/executive penthouse rather then the junior suite. Ours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThuanMTran9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear micahtran,
Thank you for your review, and for choosing to stay with us on your travels, we hope your onward journey was as enjoyable and maybe you may return to enjoy a longer stay with us at a later date.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Charles and myself have just returned from a three day break at The City Hotel.
Our room was lovely overlooking the river Foyle and 'The Peace Bridge'
By far the most enjoyable break ever.
The staff were just so kind, helpful, and friendly and a big thank you to all including Laura at reception.
Needless to say, I give this hotel full marks on everything.
Wonderful Hotel and magical city to visit.
Hazel McIntyre (author)

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river and the lighting on the peace bridge is magical
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meenawara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Meenawara,
Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you had such a lovely time, we appreciate the kind words, I've passed these on to Laura also, we hope you can make a return visit soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guestr Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
566 reviews
1.4 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 13 in Derry
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
1.8 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#10 of 13 in Derry
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Property: City Hotel
Address: Queens Quay, Derry BT48 7AS, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Derry
#6 Business Hotel in Derry
#6 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#6 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#7 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary hotel located on the bend of River Foyle, 200 yards from Guildhall - Many rooms overlook these points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing