We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stayed here overnight in family room with my husband and 2 daughters. The family room was large and spotlessly clean, just thought the décor was a little dull and the lighting poor. Staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. We had four course meal in the restaurant that evening and the food was the best hotel food we have ever had amazing... good food and good service and the wine a resonable price could not fault. Breakfast was ok plenty of choice but bacon etc. a little overcooked.Hotel great location parked the car in hotel car park and didn't use it again until we were leaving everywhere within walking distance. The leisure facilities were good and we enjoyed the swimming pool great bonus on a wet day for the kids.
Thanks to all at the hotel will definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms away from front of hotel quieter when entertainment in the evenings. although rooms at front h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marjorie306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your review, and for choosing to stay with us, we are pleased the location and staff helped make a positive impression, we hope to see you again in 2014.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,002
    607
    212
    85
    44
See reviews for
338
842
57
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Our second stay this year at the City Hotel to celebrate the New Year was up to the standard one would expect in a four star hotel. The hotel was extremely busy with party goers, we enjoyed an excellent meal in the restaurant (Two's Company deal for £35 + wine) - great value, breakfast next 2 mornings very good and well organised by a great team of staff. The only fault we would have was the Wi-Fi was a complete waste of time trying to get connected.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderer024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, and for choosing to stay with us in 2013, we do hope you choose to stay with us again in 2014.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We had organised craft fair here in Dec 18th. The staff and management couldn't have done more to help us from planning tables to helping the stall holders bring up stock and every need was attended. If you are thinking if having an event then the first place to go is the City Hotel Derry. Hotel itself is perfect position and location has a stunning view from the Corinthian Ballroom. The events team are first class and I would like to thank them for all their help

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, and for choosing us in 2013, we hope to see you again in 2014.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Whilst shopping in the city one Sunday before Christmas we decided to find somewhere to eat. After calling into a few including DeVinci's, we weren't happy with the menus and they all had big screen football. So I decided to try The City Hotel and what a stroke of luck. We found comfortable seats in the bar area and the young barman who served us was extremely helpful in recommending dishes from the menu. I chose the steak sandwich and my partner went for the house burger. Both arrived beautifully presented and excellent quality. The bar staff checked repeatly in a friendly manner that we were satisfied.
It was lovely to witness this standard of customer service. On our next trip to the city, we'll certainly be calling at the hotel and I hope booking in. If the overall standard of the hotel is as good as we experienced, then we should be in for a treat. The central city location is also an added bonus.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, and for choosing to visit us in 2013, we do hope you choose to stay with us again in 2014.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights over New Years on the penthouse floor collection. Excellent room, absolutely beautiful, spotless and very trendy, can't complain at all, very friendly staff, will defiantly be back again, reasonably priced also

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shona Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, and for choosing to stay with us in 2013, we do hope you choose to stay with us again in 2014.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the City Hotel 2nd - 4th January 2014. Had a brilliant stay in one of the kindest, sociable and hospitable city's. My hotel was excellent, the staff exemplary and the services 1st Class. Can I thank in very special way Eddie & Matthew our night barmen/porters for their brilliant sense of humour, their patience and above all else for just being such nice, genuine and good people. If every hotel in Ireland had such brilliant men like these we wouldn't go abroad at all. City Hotel Derry take a bow and when you are finished tap all your wonderful staff on the back and simply well done, good job. Thank You.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Wixy1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, we are delighted you had such a positive experience, I've passed your words of praise on to the nights team, Eddie and Mathew, we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungannon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

My wife and I went to stay between Xmas and New Years this year as our Annual xmas treat a night away from the Kids. For this reason we booked one of the penthouse room (607) for a bit of added luxury.

The hotel location is Fantastic - right beside the Foyle River and Peace Bridge, a short walk from a multitude of bars, restaurants and shopping. The hotel itself it spotless and clean. The Room we had booked was lovely, only small complaint was that the bed was only standard size, however the room was for a disabled person (which we weren't advised about) which meant the bathroom was shower only which had no curtain (understandably) meaning the entire floor was soaked when we showered rendering the bathroom a bit of a hazard.

We spoke to one of the receptionists about this on our way out to dinner, who failed to understand why we were irked about this, however another reception Laura Jackson overheard and intervened, upgrading up to the presidential suite - which was absolutely wonderful.

We used the leisure facilities which were also excellent, as was the breakfast which was well handled even though the hotel was close to its capacity.

The litmus test is would we return to the hotel - the answer being yes due in totality to the excellent Laura Jackson who is worth her weight in gold, being friendly and efficient beyond the call of duty.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank realoatsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, and for choosing to stay with us in 2013, I've passed your kind words on to Laura, we do hope you choose to stay with us again in 2014.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
1.4 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel
1.1 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
1.8 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#10 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Property: City Hotel
Address: Queens Quay, Derry BT48 7AS, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Derry
#5 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#6 Business Hotel in Derry
#6 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#7 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary hotel located on the bend of River Foyle, 200 yards from Guildhall - Many rooms overlook these points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing