We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel in so many ways. For £75 it was amazing value for money.”
Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel in so many ways. For £75 it was amazing value for money.”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Honestly to perfect place to stay in Derry. The room was lovely and the location is just stunning. Beautiful views around and your only a few hundred metres from the centre of town and right next to the river with the marina and the foot bridge. What a great place.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Ian S,
Thank you for your review, we are delighted you were able to take advantage of one of our special offers and enjoy all the location had to offer, we hope you will return soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,007
    612
    214
    86
    44
See reviews for
341
845
57
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Just back from a 4 day / 3 night stay in the City Hotel and I couldn't rate the place more highly. It was a work trip and I had been there the week before just using their conferencing facilities and was impressed. This was a longer trip and from end to end I couldn't fault the place. the staff were all extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The other thing to note is that despite the economic climate there were lots of staff! Something that many hotels cut back on, which inevitably affects the service and your stay. The food in Thompsons is great with two courses for two and a bottle of wine for £35, worth a look even if you aren’t staying at the hotel. The room was well equipped clean with plenty of space and comfy beds with a pool etc available. The bar and lobby area had a great buzz and the lunch menu is excellent and well priced, again given its location is ideal in you are in the vicinity. only criticism was the free Wifi was a little slow. All in all a great hotel, well done and keep it up!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nitrox200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Nitrox200,
Thank you for your review, and for returning to stay with us, we appreciate your custom and the kind words.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

right on the center of town, great service and help from the stuff, very friendly, free parking and an amazing view! we upgraded to a corner suite and it was one of our most amazing nights of our two weeks trip! there was a good pool and gym but not to inviting.. the only thins that was a bummer is that the WiFi is free only if you open a individual account in the web supplier website (for each user). we will definitely come back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vital d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear vital d,
Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your vacation, and your stay at The City Hotel seemed to be a highlight. We appreciate you taking the time to leave the kind words and look forward to your return.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Excellent hotel 4 star, Single person but had a double bed room, great space the bathroom was also great size (room 433)
The atmosphere in the hotel was lovely, staff where all very nice, i thought my room would not be available till afternoon however when i checked in early the room was available. Breakfast and lunch where good, very tasty.
Great location 2 mins walk to the Guild hall which is well worth a visit, across the road to the left you were looking out onto the peace bridge, a couple of minutes walk in any direction brought you to shopping areas, all in all a great location.
Small amount of free parking in basement, (pull into the front door area for access) plenty of pay parking near by.

Room Tip: my room 433 had disability aids in the bathroom if required, was near the lift on the fourth floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mors50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Mors50,
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay so much. We hope you may return soon, maybe for the Christmas markets.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We have just returned home from an overnight stay at the city hotel Londonderry.we had a double room(316)the room was very spacious and had a great view.the staff were really friendly and helpful.we had a meal in the restaurant the food and service was second to none.breakfast was one of the best we have had,plenty of choice.the hotel is central for everything we had a great time and will definitely be back again soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Joy M,
Thank you for your review, and for choosing to visit us, we hope you will return soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

My second visit was every bit as good as my first. The staff throughout the hotel are very friendly and make you feel welcome. The highlight of our stay was Tony Cassidy and Jim who were sensational, a great nights entertainment. Look forward to a return trip and I will try to arrange it when Tony better known as Skippy and Jim are the entertainers. Would be good if hotel introduced a loyalty scheme for clients.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Walter P,
Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed the entertainment so much, we look forward to your next visit. We don't have a loyalty scheme as such but if you supply us with an email address we can send out any special offers when they arise.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Booked in for one night as part of a conference and extended stay for 2 nights before arriving, checked this out on arrival and after some confusion was told yes but that they were 2 separate bookings but okay.

Arrived back to hotel after day of work to find key had been cancelled went to reception to ask what was happening to be told they had no booking for us. So we could stay an extra night but no rooms for the next night. No one able to address problem managers no where in sight. Classic -leave the receptionist to deal with it

We eventually got some story from them on the Saturday which made some sense but contradicted what we had been told before.


Whole hotel seems to run on a confused and lack of organization basis. Problems with breakfast and room no, papers arrived hours late, etc etc.

Staff welcoming and nice but no real sense of customer service. At one stage talking to a manger via phone we were told that we were top of the list for a cancelation, suggesting there were others in the same situation.

This is not from my experience a 4* hotel in terms of the service it offers. A 4* is not defined by its rooms but by the service offered, there was little evidence of problem solving being applied

So beware if going there make sure you have evidence in triplicate of your booking

Room Tip: asK to look out on new Peace Bridge for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caraherm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear caraherm,
Thank you for your review, we do pride ourselves on customer service and are investigating your case fully, if you would like to discuss the matter further with our general manager please contact him directly at: gm@cityhotelderry.com.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
1.4 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
1.1 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
1.8 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#10 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Property: City Hotel
Address: Queens Quay, Derry BT48 7AS, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Derry
#5 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#6 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#6 Business Hotel in Derry
#7 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary hotel located on the bend of River Foyle, 200 yards from Guildhall - Many rooms overlook these points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing