We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mcnaught”
Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
City Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mcnaught”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We have just returned home from an overnight stay at the city hotel Londonderry.we had a double room(316)the room was very spacious and had a great view.the staff were really friendly and helpful.we had a meal in the restaurant the food and service was second to none.breakfast was one of the best we have had,plenty of choice.the hotel is central for everything we had a great time and will definitely be back again soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Joy M,
Thank you for your review, and for choosing to visit us, we hope you will return soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,016
    621
    221
    90
    46
See reviews for
347
856
59
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

My second visit was every bit as good as my first. The staff throughout the hotel are very friendly and make you feel welcome. The highlight of our stay was Tony Cassidy and Jim who were sensational, a great nights entertainment. Look forward to a return trip and I will try to arrange it when Tony better known as Skippy and Jim are the entertainers. Would be good if hotel introduced a loyalty scheme for clients.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Walter P,
Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed the entertainment so much, we look forward to your next visit. We don't have a loyalty scheme as such but if you supply us with an email address we can send out any special offers when they arise.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Booked in for one night as part of a conference and extended stay for 2 nights before arriving, checked this out on arrival and after some confusion was told yes but that they were 2 separate bookings but okay.

Arrived back to hotel after day of work to find key had been cancelled went to reception to ask what was happening to be told they had no booking for us. So we could stay an extra night but no rooms for the next night. No one able to address problem managers no where in sight. Classic -leave the receptionist to deal with it

We eventually got some story from them on the Saturday which made some sense but contradicted what we had been told before.


Whole hotel seems to run on a confused and lack of organization basis. Problems with breakfast and room no, papers arrived hours late, etc etc.

Staff welcoming and nice but no real sense of customer service. At one stage talking to a manger via phone we were told that we were top of the list for a cancelation, suggesting there were others in the same situation.

This is not from my experience a 4* hotel in terms of the service it offers. A 4* is not defined by its rooms but by the service offered, there was little evidence of problem solving being applied

So beware if going there make sure you have evidence in triplicate of your booking

Room Tip: asK to look out on new Peace Bridge for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caraherm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear caraherm,
Thank you for your review, we do pride ourselves on customer service and are investigating your case fully, if you would like to discuss the matter further with our general manager please contact him directly at: gm@cityhotelderry.com.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed in Derry last weekend to celebrate a special occasion and chose the City Hotel.I decided to stay in one of the executive suites on the seventh floor and requested champagne and strawberries on arrival.I can honestly say it was one of the most enjoyable weekends I've ever had mainly due to the staff of the City Hotel.Wonderful people and a big thanks to Gary for leaving the special request in our room.Treated my girlfriend (now fiancée) to a stay in the bishops gate suite and it was truly fantastic.Beautiful room and decor.Five stars for every aspect.Will definitely be back again soon.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martypmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Martypmac,
Thank you for your review, and congratulations on your engagement from all the team, be sure to make a return visit for anniversaries.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Great hotel! Room was lovely. Food was lovely. Staff were lovely! Keiva at reception was fantastic and made our stay so special. Also the staff who were on late night conor, brian and gerrard were so helpful and pleasant. Nicest hotel ive been to. Will definitely go back!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarke198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear clarke198,
Thank you for your review, and for the kind words, i've passed this on to the team members.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
453 reviews
200 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I've stayed here twice recently on business and it makes a darned good attempt at being all things to all. The rooms are extremely comfortable, the lunchtime food is great value and aimed at getting those who only have a short time to spare served swiflty but those with more time are given a more leisurely experience. The restaurant is very good but it's also walking distance from some terrific nightspots and eating establishments. On arrival back in the hotel, there always seems to be a bit of craic in the bar and the night porter is very hospitable and ever present, not doing his rounds! Very enjoyable stay in a very enjoyable city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear John M,
Thank you for your review, and your continued custom, we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

I was told about this hotel by a family member and they said it was a lovely hotel and to be honest room was great and staff were so helpful and the food was 10 out 10! The leisure facilities were VERY POOR and i have to say it was that bad i felt i would catch something as the tiles on the floor were stinking and the tiles on the walls were full of mildew and also the floor of the pool was slimy. As well as this the metal hand rails were rusty and the changing rooms were very dirty and alot of lockers were broke! The ceiling above the pool was bubbling and ready to crumble of! In my opinion the leisure facilities SHOULD BE CLOSED and if i worked in health and safety just walking into the changing would be enough for me 2 close it down!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Decentguy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Decentguy26,
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed the hotel and staff but disappointed you felt let down by our leisure facilities, we do have a maintenance plan in place and quite a few of the tasks have been completed already this week with the rest due completion in the near future, i do hope you will stay with us again and notice the improvements.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 12 in Derry
539 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
1.4 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 12 in Derry
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
3.9 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Property: City Hotel
Address: Queens Quay, Derry BT48 7AS, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Derry
#6 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#6 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#6 Business Hotel in Derry
#7 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary hotel located on the bend of River Foyle, 200 yards from Guildhall - Many rooms overlook these points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing