We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ideal location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here at the weekend. A lovely well run hotel, greeted by very friendly and helpful reception staff. Well located being beside some very good restaurants and the Guildhall. Rooms of a high quality and very clean. Will definitely return soon.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank GarrytC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear GarrytC,
Thank you for your review, we are pleased the location and hotel impressed and look forward to further visits.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,002
    607
    212
    85
    44
See reviews for
338
842
57
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed at the City Hotel for the weekend, (27th - 29th Sept) part of a large group weekend away.

On checkin we were greeted by a very friendly and helpful receptionist, we were checked in very quickly even though they seemed really busy, our room was just lovely, on the 2nd floor with an amazing view of the river and the bridge, we were very pleased, it was comfortable with all the amenities needed for our stay.

The hotel location is ideal for exploring the city as everything is in walking distance, from the peace bridge to the guild hall and of course all the variety of shops needed. We also took the hop on, hop off bus tour of the city, well worth it, loads of information and all the sights.

On Saturday night we ate in the restaurant, the food was great, and the service was second to none, extreamly well organised and very friendly efficient staff, thank you.

We also had breakfast both mornings of course, which was lovely, good selection of hot and cold options, lots of coffee/tea and toast.

Only thing is bit of a negitive for the hotel is the hotel parking, its extreamly limited so we had to park in the public car park behind the hotel to which the hotel give you a discount, but it still cost £21 for the weekend.

Overall I would highly recommend this hotel for excellent quality and great location.

We will definatly return.

Room Tip: River view on a high floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Tpink,
Thank you for your review, and your kind words, we do hope you will return soon and hopefully get a space in our free secure parking next time.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Dublin
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel is efficiently run. Things get done unobtrusively and without fuss in the backround by an obviously well-trained and friendly staff making for a very enjoyable guest experience even for a large party such as ours was.
The hotel is centrally placed for exploring this compact town.
Complimentary items in the room was a nice gesture. And, last, but much appreciated, an extremely comfortable bed!

Room Tip: Our particular room didn't have the much advertised view of the estuary so ask for a room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clonagam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear clonagam,
Thank you for your review, and for noticing the hard work that goes on behind the scenes to make for an enjoyable stay, we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in August for the Fleadh (Trad Irish Music festival) Despite being extremely busy, to the point of having security on the doors limiting the numbers let in and out of the hotel, the staff were very friendly and helpful. I want to go back here at a more normal time to really appreciate it. Position perfect for exploring the city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irishcailin123212094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Irishcailin123212094,
Thank you for your review, i'm sure you will agree the Fleadh was a fantastic week and very busy, we also hope you will return soon for a more relaxing stay.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Perfect location, helpful and welcoming staff, good value for money, lovely room with great views, excellent dinner in hotel restaurant. Easy walking distance to city walls - would recommend the walking tour of the walls.

Room Tip: Worth getting a room with a view of the river and the Peace Bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NIrelandMargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear NIrelandMargo,
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear the location and value suited your needs and the staff impressed also.

Youre sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Realtions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

This hotel is by far one of the best hotels i have ever had the pleasure in dealing with. The most helpful staff, best service, great atmosphere and attitude, I thorouly enjoyed my stay in june. If planning a trip to derry splash out a tiny bit extra and enjoy the 5* service and accomadation.

Room Tip: The view of the river foyle is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Critic390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Critic390,
Thank you for your review, and for recommending us, we are delighted to be of service and hope you will return again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garvagh,
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Decided on the City hotel for a 1 night break in Derry to Celebrate our Wedding Anniversary and also as I was attending the Beekeeping conference in the Guildhall. I definitely made the right choice as its location is ideal within walking distance of all tourist attractions , restaurants , pubs and shopping outlets for my wife and son. Our check in was quick and extremely friendly and the girls on reception went through details of attractions in the city on a user friendly tourist map which was really helpful. We had a problem with our online booking which was booked through a online service. We had paid for a family room but on arrival it turned out to be only a double. The girl on reception was quick to sort it out were she was able to get us a single bed moved up into our room for our son to sleep on. Room has a lovely reading / work desk with excellent lighting and also provides the usual tea/ coffee facilities and trouser press. The buffet breakfast provides a good selection of hot and cold options. The breakfast staff were extremely friendly. Carparking is limited, but we were lucky enough to secure a space in the underground carpark and even after we had checked out they allowed us to keep our car there until we had finished our day around the city. We definitely enjoyed our stay in the City hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodney_Boyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Rodney_Boyd,
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us hope the Beekeeping convention went well.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
1.4 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel
1.1 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
1.8 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#10 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Property: City Hotel
Address: Queens Quay, Derry BT48 7AS, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Derry
#5 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#6 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#6 Business Hotel in Derry
#7 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary hotel located on the bend of River Foyle, 200 yards from Guildhall - Many rooms overlook these points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing