We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
City Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$246
$238
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$137
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$184
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$185
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$106
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waterfoot Hotel(Derry)(Great Value!)
$156
$151
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$127
$99
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,199)
Filter reviews
2,199 results
Traveler rating
1,100
684
249
106
60
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,100
684
249
106
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspeace bridgeseventh floorriver viewcar parktrouser pressguild hallsuperior roomleisure facilitiessteam roomcentral locationexcellent hotelcourse mealsaturday nightreception staffboth nightsjazz festivalweekend break
Filter
Updating list...
1,410 - 1,415 of 2,199 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I booked Derry City Hotel for several reasons; proximity, gym, pool, other facilities. However, the very one that meant a great deal to me was parking. Unfortunately 'the small print' stated that there was limited parking and it was 'first come-first served'. The rest of us had to make do with discounted rates in the parking garage next door. In my opinion the hotel should have made it complimentary especially during one of the biggest weeks of the year - Fleadh 2013. They tried to regroup but as you can see, they didn't manage to make me forget.

Another thing was that there is a speed bump outside and every time a car went over it, we could hear it in the room. That's a busy road!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank LorraineBanbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Dear LorraineBanbridge,
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear you seem to have had a pleasant stay, the carpark that we were able to offer you discounted rates at next to the hotel is a seperate entity, so we are unable to offer free rates at another business, we were able to offer a negotiated cost price rate for our guests during a week that the city had 430,000 visitors. we do hope you will stay with us again during a quieter period as guests arriving first are able to park free of charge in our secure carpark.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed for one night on the Summer Sizzler deal which is great value for a family for Dinner bed and breakfast. The kids love the pool and couldn't wait to go for a swim. As always the staff are lovely, friendly and efficient. The hotel is in a great location and we wouldn't stay anywhere else when visiting such a fantastic city!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ditravel3136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Dear Ditravel3136,
Thank you for your review, and for your return custom, we are pleased to hear you and your family had a great stay.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Our visit to the City Hotel Derry for two nights in August was great and we can't wait to return. Our room had a lovely view of the peace bridge. The hotel is very centrally located and all attractions can be reached on foot. The only slight negative is that there is limited parking at the hotel. However just across the road there is a car park which is only 50p per hour and is free on Sunday. The breakfast was lovely with a great choice and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
I would highly recommend this hotel to all age groups. It is the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff in all sections of the hotel that make it an excellent place to stay. you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ODTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear ODTraveller,
Thank you for your review, we really appreciate the kind words of praise about our staff, they truely are our best asset, we thank you again and hope you will return soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I stayed twice at the City Hotel and was attending the City of Culture events. I remember the first night of my first stay. My room overlooked the Peace Bridge, the water and there was a full moon.The second stay I was upgraded to an executive room with excellent decor and amenities. The Staff are fantastic - always helpful and excellent customer service. The location is great for walking to many of the highlights of the City.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear V G,
Thank you for your review, we are delighted that we impressed enough for you to return, we pride ourselves on our customer service and thank you for the words of praise.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Was met by a very pleasant doorman on arrival, who kindly let me into the underground car park!
The 3 ladies on the reception desk were very friendly and got me a room with a view! The room did not disappoint, with a view over the water and the Peace Bridge! The All Ireland Fleadh (festival) was on in Derry and the City was packed to the rafters! Stayed August 24-27. The Breakfast was plentiful with lashings of tea! Will be back in Derry and will stay again at this Hotel!!

Room Tip: Room 411 is large and has a great view over the water and the Peace Bridge!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TyroneBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear TyroneBoston,
Thank you for your review, we are delighted you had a pleasant stay and found the staff so friendly and helpful, we look forward to your return.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest relations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews