We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely city, well located hotel.”
Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
City Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely city, well located hotel.”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We recently spent two nights in The City Hotel at a conference. The hotel is very central to Derry city and just across the road from the new Peace Bridge. We had stayed here three years ago but everything seemed better this time. The room was a good size and clean and comfortable. The food was good, both in the bar and in the dining room - breakfast was great too. We enjoyed the trip to Derry.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iosaif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Iosaif,
Thank you for your review, and for returning to us once more, we are pleased you found that we continuously improve and evolve, we hope you will return and feel similarly impressed next time.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager City Hotel Derry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,016
    621
    221
    90
    46
See reviews for
347
856
59
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Co.Antrim N. Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This was our first visit to the City Hotel but it won't be our last. From the friendly and efficient check-in until we left 2 days later, the whole experience was excellent. Our room was on the 6th floor, overlooking the river and the facilities were very good. We had breakfast each morning and it was tasty and filling with a wide variety of food on offer, something to suit everyone, but we did not use the restaurant at any other time, so cannot comment on dinner or lunch.

The pool, steam room and jacuzzi are a welcome addition to the hotel and well worth a visit, especially after a day's sightseeing.

We found all of the staff to be courteous and helpful. If we wanted information or needed anything else, we only had to ask and were told 'No problem' - in that lovely lilting Derry accent!
They were kind but never intrusive and are a major asset to the hotel. Evelyn, the Restaurant Supervisor, was brilliant at breakfast.

We will return and would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: Some rooms on the 6th floor have a lovely river view. It's worth paying for a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grannny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear granny,
Thank you for your review, and your kind words, we are glad you had an enjoyable stay and found the staff to be courteous and helpful; I’ve passed your kind words on to Evelyn also.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager City Hotel Derry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I have attended many business meetings in the City Hotel and recently my wife and I had the pleasure of an overnight stay at the hotel. On all occasions when I have been in the City Hotel, all of the staff have been extremely friendly,efficient and welcoming. Nothing was ever a problem for their staff--they were always ready to cater for your every need.
The location of the hotel is superb, close to the historic Guildhall and overlooking the river foyle and the spectacular Peace Bridge.
Our stay in their new top floor suites was quite amazing-their layout and decor I considered to be of the highest standard and compare very favorably with 5* hotels in which I have stayed in major cities around the world-including London, New York,Rome and Tokyo. I would recommend the City Hotel in Derry as "the" place to stay--be it for business or superb accommodation

Room Tip: Try the new top floor suites--you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seamus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Seamus M,
Thank you for your review, we are delighted you had a chance to stay in our newly outfitted 7th floor collection of suites and thank you for the words of praise, but we’d especially thank you for your comments on our staff, they truly are our best asset.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager City Hotel Derry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I first stayed at the City Hotel for a conference in April 2007 and enjoyed it immensely - its view of the River Foyle and closeness to other venues that I was attending was perfect! I enjoyed the level of service, the staff friendliness and attention to detail for the conference and to the participants. I especially enjoyed the "Irish breakfast".
With this mind, I encouraged the selection of the City Hotel for our conference and seminar that we organised in November 2013. I was not disappointed:-))

Room Tip: Immensely delighted we the whole service package.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parkskov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear parkskov,
Thank you for your review, we are delighted that the hotel impressed upon your first visit and would like to thank you for choosing to recommend us for your seminar and conference, we are glad we didn’t disappoint.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager City Hotel Derry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I first visited the City Hotel for a conference in 2005 and enjoyed it immensely so was delighted to have the chance to visit again in 2013. So much so a fellow delegate and I decided to extend our stay after the conference finished. Once again we were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived and were greeted by the friendly reception team everything was simply great. Our room was lovely, clean and comfortable, the food was superb, all the staff in the hotel were friendly and polite and nothing was ever too much trouble. I am looking forward to visiting Derry again and will definitely bring my husband and stay at City Hotel.

Room Tip: Our too was on the sixth floor with a great view of the Peace Bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJanet_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear MJanet_13,
Thank you for your review, we are especially happy to learn that we continue to impress with each visit for return guests, we thank you for your loyal custom and your kind words.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager City Hotel Derry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I've just stayed here for a weekend conference & couldn't compliment the hotel enough. The staff really made our stay, they were consistently friendly, helpful & went out of their way to go above & beyond the call of duty, fantastic!

The hotel is in a very central location with great views looking out over the river & the new bridge.

As it was a conference we ate in the hotel throughout, we honestly couldn't fault the food, it was all delicious.

Would really recommend the hotel - thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallyl1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear sallyl1980,
Thank you for your review, we are pleased the location and especially the staff helped make your stay a memorable one; we thank you for your recommendation.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager City Hotel Derry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Spidéal, Gaillimh, Éire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here during the Meccsa Media conference in January. You're not going to be blown away by the fixtures and finishes, but its central, the staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms clean, and the atmosphere relaxed. Looked after conference delegates very well indeed, so no complaints - does exactly what it says on the tin.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mac_Dara_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Mac_Dara_69,
Thank you for your review, we are delighted to look after our conference delegates varying needs, it may interest you to know that we have a constant renovation policy so perhaps a leisure stay next time may afford you an opportunity to upgrade to one of our suites.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager City Hotel Derry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 12 in Derry
539 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
1.4 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 12 in Derry
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
3.9 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Property: City Hotel
Address: Queens Quay, Derry BT48 7AS, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Derry
#6 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#6 Business Hotel in Derry
#6 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#7 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary hotel located on the bend of River Foyle, 200 yards from Guildhall - Many rooms overlook these points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing