We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How could this be a 4 star hotel?”
Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
City Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“How could this be a 4 star hotel?”
Reviewed March 25, 2008

I stayed in this hotel in Derry as I believed that it was a nice 4 star hotel in Northern Ireland. The location was fine and at first the hotel seemed nice. That was until we got our room. Very basic and much more like a budget 3 star than a 4 star hotel. On the first night we were told we had to move our cars at about 11pm as the car park was flooding. The annoying part was that the staff really didn't help us in any way to move the cars and pointed down the road to another car park. An apology instead of an order would have been nice! Plus it would have been more of a problem if we had been drinking for longer in the bar. Spent the next day touring Antrim, which was fantastic. That night we came back to the bar in the hotel and as while I was waiting for drinks I watched as the hotel manager told two guests, that lost a card for their room, that if they lost another he would gladly let them sleep on the streets. They laughed it off but the manager was serious and in my opinion very unprofessional. This is NOT a 4 star hotel and many others on this site agree. The staff are very unmotivated and the rooms are very very basic, with tiny double beds. For the price (it was expensive) I highly recommend looking elsewhere and I want to know how to the AA rate this as 4 stars!!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wiggles1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, we have made many improvements since your review, we do hope you may return and let us know how we have improved.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,015
    621
    220
    88
    46
See reviews for
347
855
59
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2008

I booked this hotel due to the reviews on this website.
I was not dissapointed the hotel is in a great location and the rooms are really spacious and nice.
We had a lovely meal in the restaurant (apart from the 3 hours it took in total) but we weren't complaining as they had a wonderful singer on in the background (joke!!!)
But yes it was really nice and we would stay at this hotel again even if we would never go back to Derry....

  • Liked — The overall experience
  • Disliked — The heating in the room
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Monkeyman2003uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we appreciate comments and take on-board all feedback, so that hopefully next time we can earn a 5 star review, thank you for taking the time to review, we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2008

stayed for one night at City hotel Derry. Stayed with my partner. It was my first visit to the city. The hotel is in a good location by the river. we were lucky to get into the hotel car park which is free. There is only limited space. Onsite parking is not ideal but there are car parks near by which you can pay to use. The reception is bright airy and comfortable. it consists of the bar area and restaurant. the reception staff were very friendly. our room was modern, clean and comfortable. i would not rate this as a 4 star hotel. yes it does have a leisure centre with pool but the room was not of 4 star standard i felt. eg no biscuits on the welcome tray. very few complementary shower gels etc and really bad loo roll !! you may laugh but it all counts. prices at the bar are average. the food at dinner was good although service slow. the breakfast was buffet style which i am not a fan of. we didnt really enjoy our breakfast.My one grudge was the room was so hot and i could not find any air con so ended up opening the window. all in all an average stay.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — parking and breakfast
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sealink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments and hope to improve to earn a 5 star review for your next visit, thank you for taking the time to review, we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2008

Booked into Hotel on Saturday evening around 7pm, Staff were very pleasant and helpful. We had tickets for a show in Millenium Forum so headed straight there.
Room was clean, fresh and well decorated.
Fully recommend Breakfast - Filling and not greasy.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Car Parking
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank smartangel1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, and for your kind words, we are proud to be of service, thank you for taking the time to review, we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2007

My wife and I stayed in the City Hotel after I looked at the reviews from TripAdvisor. The BEST decision on a hotel I've ever made. We stayed here with my newborn for 3 nights in mid-December to discover Northern Ireland. The staff was very helpful, allowed us a late checkout, early checkin, and recommended the best massage, hair place right up the road. The location couldn't of been better as there is a Tesco a block away and many many pubs.

During this stay we also had the hotel staff babysit. The girl who watched our son was awesome and only charged £7 an hour, so quite the deal when it came to £21 for the evening.

Although this is a star hotel, I would classify it as a 5 star compared to other hotels I've stayed at in the UK. The pool facility and rooms were extremely clean. The only thing I would recommend is to get a king size bed if you are sleeping more than one. The bed was a bit small for 2, but very comfy.

If you have any questions feel free to contact me before you travel to the City Inn as I would be honoured to pass along some honest information on this wonderful place.
angusboy02@yahoo.com

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank angusboy02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, and for your kind words, we are proud to be of service, thank you for taking the time to review, we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2007

We stayed here for one night as part of a CIE Tour. The location of this hotel is excellent; close to everything, which is a big part of the high rating. The room was an OK+, the food good (we had dinner and breakfast there) and the staff extremely helpful. I had fallen at the Giant's Causeway earlier in the day on a loose rock and cut my hand, which appeared to require stitches. The hotel staff were really good about helping me get this taken care of, which was greatly appreciated. My wife and I got to see parts of Derry (the emergency room at the hospital) that few tourists do. Incidentally, I was treated promptly at the hospital by very skilled people, got my 4 stitches and was back to the hotel within 2 hours....pretty good service, I'd say.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank mwdoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we appreciate all your comments and hope to earn a 5 star review for your next visit, thank you for taking the time to review, we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2007

I work away from home a lot and staying in different hotels is something i am very used to. However, i have never felt more at home than at the City hotel Derry. The staff have made my 10 week stay more than pleasurable. Everyone is very friendly and always available to help. Whatever the time of day, night, or morning. The facilities, gym, pool, sauna etc are a great asset to the hotel also. Dining in the restaurant and bar is always a pleasure, however there are many other restaurants close by. The location is perfect. I have been lucky enough to have had a room with a view over the foyle river and over the city its self. The hotel is in prime location for local historic attractions and only an hours drive from the giants causeway etc. If, when i come back to derry, which im sure i will, i will certainly be booking myself into the City Hotel.

  • Liked — The staff. The location. The view from my room. The comfort.
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank MR_Jones_Swansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, and for your kind words, we are proud to be of service, thank you for taking the time to review, we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 12 in Derry
536 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
1.4 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 12 in Derry
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
3.9 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Property: City Hotel
Address: Queens Quay, Derry BT48 7AS, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Derry
#6 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#6 Business Hotel in Derry
#6 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#7 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary hotel located on the bend of River Foyle, 200 yards from Guildhall - Many rooms overlook these points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing