We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Exceptional Staff”
Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Just had 2 night stay in the City Hotel - arrived on Friday shortly after 12.00 - receptionist checked us in and advised that our room would be ready in about half an hour, she offered to hold our luggage and have it delivered to our room when it was ready. We had coffee in the bar until the room was ready. The girl on Reception (name CMcC on bill) was extremely helpful - booked us into restaurant for dinner on Friday night and showed us map of city and places of interest. Our room was on the 6th floor and had great view of the Peace Bridge, the river and the Guildhall - no complaints there either. Hadn't realised fridge contents were complimentary till I read another post this morning. We had dinner on Friday night in the restaurant - food fantastic, staff exceptional - even though the restaurant was full we were made to feel like we were the only ones there. Breakfast great and still plentiful even though we arrived down on the dot of 10.30 a.m. and staff again so helpful and pleasant. All the staff -reception, bar and restaurant - really go the extra mile to make you feel welcome and appear to be so happy in their work - not seen in many other hotels. The pool area could do with the addition of a sauna. There is a real buzz and atmosphere in this hotel with both visitors from around the world and many locals also using the facilities. Can't wait for a return visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NOVTRAVUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Services Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear NOVTRAVUk,
Thank you for your review, we are delighted to hear you found the staff to be exceptional and they helped make your experience a positive one, we do hope you will choose to stay with us again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest services manager City Hotel Derry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,077)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,544 - 1,550 of 2,077 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

Just back from 1 night stay at the City Hotel, had booked two superior rooms including dinner for a 60th Birthday. There was a small mix up with the booking regarding double/twin rooms but this was quickly rectified by both Judith and Kieva on reception, both wonderfully welcoming and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Rooms were lovely with great views, received two bottles of complimentary wine which was a lovely touch, from the girl from housekeeping to door men who helped with luggage and parking to at one point arriving with a mini fridge!, they were fantastic. Four of us had 4 course meal in the restaurant and all had different dishes which were lovely, as was the service from Michaela. Breakfast was just as good. I would highly recommend the hotel for a great night away, which is only enhanced by its great service and staff, all are a credit to the City Hotel.

Room Tip: Upgrade to superior room for great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NMEF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Services Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear NMEF,
Thank you for your lovely comments and your praise of our service you received from all staff members mentioned that helped to make your staff so pleasant, I’ll pass on your thoughts to the team.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest services manager City Hotel Derry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I have been in this hotel a couple of times this month and had very different experience even if the room type and price was the same. You will randomly get a back room, noisy (air conditioning system?) and smaller, or get a bigger front room with cathedral and river view, noisy (big roundabout in front of you) . Both rooms were ok, nothing particular, functional for business when you get a working desk (room #2 not room #1). I was expecting something better in the bathroom, but didn't even get a soap in room #1! Main issue is noise for me, you will hear people talking in the corridors and noises from neighboring rooms. Mind the rooms in front of the lift as it is talking (doors opening/closing going up/down). I guess the main advantage of this hotel is the position: you're in Derry and everything is walking distance. The restaurant is very good and I usually didn't need to go out for a value dinner.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moz74370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Services Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Moz74370,
Thank you for your comments; we are pleased to hear you enjoyed the restaurant and location so much. We do try and allocate rooms as per booking and occasionally offer a superior room if available to returning guests. On your next visit if you have a preferred room type or prefer a quieter room please let us know and we will do our best to accommodate any requests.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest services manager City Hotel Derry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This was our second visit to Derry from Ottawa, Canada, but the first stay at the City Hotel. We stayed 3 nights in early September, 2012 and upgraded to a superior room. The view over the Foyle and the Peace Bridge were worth the extra expense. The room was clean and comfortable. Maid service was prompt and thorough. The hotel restaurant was unexpectedly good - so that we chose to eat here for 2 of the 3 nights. Food and decor were good. The service was outstanding and made the meals memorable experiences. We would like to make special mention on Ciaran, a young female server on Thursday, September 6 (and again at breakfast the next day) who was outstanding in her welcome, suggestions about the menu, and her overall pleasant demenour.
Our overall experience was outstanding and will definitely have us back again!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GentlemanJimOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Services Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear GentlemanJimOttawa,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and your positive experience, we do hope you choose to visit our city and our hotel again, thank you for the kind words.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest services manager City Hotel Derry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here for a weekend. On first impressions the hotel was nice from the outside in a good location looking over the peace bridge. Inside we was also very impressed - the recption staff was friendly and helpful and even booked us a table there and then for the nights meal in the busy restraunt. The 3 course meal was included in the price of the stay - the food was lovely and you had a choice of steak, fish or a few other dishes. Evrything was perfect. The room was very spacious with 2 double beds. The view from the room was ok you could see across the city. Would reccomend this hotel for a short stay or even just an evening meal.

Room Tip: i would request a room in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Services Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear laura c,
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear you had a good stay, and the view, room and restaurant all made a good impression. Thank you for recommending us.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest services manager City Hotel Derry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Just back from a 2 night break in a superior room which had a lovely view overlooking the river Foyle and the new Peace Bridge. Room, food and service were all excellent and the weather was lovely which was an unexpected bonus. The staff are very friendly and helpful and we will certainly stay here again hopefully before Christmas as they usually have some great Christmas shopping breaks?

Room Tip: Superior rooms have a fridge with complimentary soft drinks inc. water and have excellent views over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Services Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear Kenneth F
Thank you for your lovely review , we are pleased you enjoyed your stay so much and we do indeed have some great shopping breaks coming up before Christmas, we hope to see you then.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest services manager City Hotel Derry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I have stay in this hotel lots of times and keep going back as the staff are lovely and the food is good and the rooms are clean. u feel like a queen as u are so well treaded,nice surrondings and the staff have got to know me well and its always a good sign when they keep there staff. highly tranined to a very high standrad well done geraldine o'cleary

Room Tip: ask for family room if u want space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geraldine o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Services Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear geraldine o,
Thank you so much for the kind words about the lovely staff and food, it is a pleasure to look after our valued repeat customers, I’m sure the staff will appreciate your comments also.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest services manager City Hotel Derry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
639 reviews
1.4 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 13 in Derry
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
0.2 mi away
Shipquay Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Address: Queens Quay, Derry BT48 7AS, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Derry
#6 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#6 Business Hotel in Derry
#6 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#7 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range: $71 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary hotel located on the bend of River Foyle, 200 yards from Guildhall - Many rooms overlook these points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing