We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“birthday celebration”
Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed May 16, 2012

booked in with 5 friends for birthday celebration. Got interconnecting rooms. evening meal was fantastic and extremely good value. Service was excellent as was quality of room amd cleanliness. Breakfast equally of high standard. Would recommend this hotel to anyone. Can't wait for next excuse to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamela a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Services Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Dear pamela a,
Thank you for your “birthday celebration” review we are delighted to get a response from local customers telling us how good we are doing, thanks again

Yours sincerely
Guest services manager City Hotel Derry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,067)
There are newer reviews for City Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,629 - 1,635 of 2,067 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2012

we went to celebrate my birthday the staff were excellent, courteous and helpful. Rooms were very clean, warm and comfortable.The evening meal in the restaurant was very good everything was hot and tasty and value for money was excellent. Breakfast was also very good great variety Will definitely go back soon!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Services Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Dear Jean L,
Thank you for your recent review of your stay, we are delighted you choose to celebrate your birthday with a stay with us, glad to be of service

Yours sincerely
Guest services manager City Hotel Derry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

I regularly stay at the City Hotel with family for short breaks and had once again booked for the weekend of 11th may. We love the City as the facilities are amazing, leisure facilities, lovely restaurant, helpful stff and overall everyone in the hotel always go out of their way to make your stay special. Special thanks to John the concierge who remembers us every time and goes out of his way to give a warm welcome and helps in any way he can. We will be back again later this year for another break.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
Thank licrogib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Services Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Dear licrogib,
Thank you for your review, “FABULOUS CITY HOTEL - TOP MARKS ALL ROUND” and for your kind comments, I’ve passed on your regards to John and he does indeed remember you and will look forward to your next visit

Yours sincerely
Guest services manager City Hotel Derry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Great hotel for business. Stayed the one night. Breakfast was not varied enough. All in all, would recommend a stay there, rooms are very clean!

Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
Thank Asheya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guesr Services Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2012

Dear Asheya P,
Thank you for your recent review, it may interest you to know that in addition to our fully stocked cereal / breads / pastry & cooked items buffet we also have a full al la carte breakfast menu offering omelettes / waffles / all cooked egg varieties / porridge etc these can be ordered at your table and cooked fresh to order at no extra cost to your bed and breakfast package, hope this helps

Yours sincerely
Guest services manager City Hotel Derry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Just had my 3rd stay in this lovely hotel. Location is perfect. Staff are great, really nice and very friendly. Didn't have dinner in the hotel but breakfast cannot be faulted. Great choice & hot food, is actually hot!! Everywhere very clean & rooms are a decent size and comfortable too. Haven't yet managed to sample leisure facilities...but maybe next time!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmc12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Services Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2012

Dear pmc12,
Thank you for your “Lovely Hotel” review, we do have a fully equipped gym with swimming pool, Jacuzzi & steam room and a great value restaurant menu for you to hopefully try on your next visit

Yours sincerely
Guest services manager City Hotel Derry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

I Have stayed at this hotel on a number of occassions over the past couple of years the most
recent being 6th to the 7th of may 2012 and found as usual good service friendly and helpful
staff and great food - on this paticular occassion with the jazz festival in full swing the hotel bar
and reception area were chok full of people but we were dealt with very quickly on arrival and
were given our rooms once in the room all was found to be good - I will be back to Derry and
to the city hotel

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Services Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2012

Dear Shane O,
Thank you for your review and indeed choosing to stay with us time and time again, I hope we can continue to delight

Yours sincerely
Guest services manager City Hotel Derry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Stayed here for my wedding anniversary. For the occasion I booked a deluxe room with champagne & strawberries to be in the room on our arrival. Deluxe room was OK and had nice view of the Foyle & the Peace Bridge but champagne & strawberries were nowhere to be seen. I had to request them 3 times, no apology from reception and when delivered, porter grunted and still no apology.

Rest of the stay was good. Breakfast was good. Bar food nice & good value. Special mention to the bar staff who very helpful.

Overall, I would say this is a good hotel unfortunately spoiled slightly by my personal experience.

Just to note, I was given a £10 discount on the champagne & strawberries. An apology and not having to be asked 3 times to do something you were supposed to would have sufficed.

Room Tip: Ring before you arrive to ensure they have your booking correct.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RB1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Services Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2012

Dear RB1974,
Thank you for your comments regarding the good breakfast, bar food and the friendly bar staff, I’d like to take this opportunity to apologise for the delay with your champagne and strawberries and can assure you this is an isolated incident I hope it didn’t detract too much from celebrating your anniversary, thank you for taking the time to let us know

Yours sincerely
Guest services manager City Hotel Derry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
623 reviews
1.4 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 13 in Derry
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
1.8 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#11 of 13 in Derry
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Address: Queens Quay, Derry BT48 7AS, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Derry
#6 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#6 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#6 Business Hotel in Derry
#7 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range: $82 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary hotel located on the bend of River Foyle, 200 yards from Guildhall - Many rooms overlook these points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing