We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loud guests”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
City Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Belfast
1 review
“Loud guests”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for one night. Staff very helpful, dinner and breakfast delicious. Hotel room large and clean. Only problem is some of the other guests in hotel. Woken at 3.20am by banging doors, screeching by a woman and a heated argument then laughter. Immediately phoned reception who arrived at their door, the woman then proceeded to move to three more rooms, yelling all the while. It took 2 hours for the hotel to sort out this problem.
When spoke to the reception staff when checking out they had no record of an issue, which is disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Services Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Dear Katrena M,

Thank you for your recent review, I was pleased to hear your comments;” Staff very helpful, dinner and breakfast delicious. Hotel room large and clean”
I was also disappointed to hear that another guest may have tainted your sleep quality and can assure you this is an isolated incident; I am pleased to hear you were able to call reception for an immediate response, I hope this guest hasn’t soured your visit to the city and hope you will stay with us again in future.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest services manager City Hotel Derry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,002
    605
    212
    85
    44
See reviews for
336
842
57
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has modern, well equipped and beautifully decorated rooms. Had my decision being based on the room and quality of th nights sleep - I would definitely have recommended the hotel and stayed again in future.

Unfortunately the hotel management seem to have decided that they prefer the organised coach traveller ahead of individual business customers.

I waited 29 minutes before I was allowed to use an elevator to take myself and my luggage down to reception whilst the staff filled every available elevator with the luggage from the coach tour residents.

I don't appreciate being prioritised below other peoples luggage; an issue which I raised with management. Although I did get a response from the management it didn't suggest they would review or change their policy.

It's a shame as they have lost my regular custom and that of my friends and coworkers that ask for my advise.

In my opinion: If the facilities matter most to you, then you'll really like his hotel. If service is important then travel as a group and you'll be Ok.

Stayed July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Services Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Dear Russell S
Thank you for your recent post regarding a stay with us in July of last year,
We were pleased to hear your comments, “hotel has modern, well equipped and beautifully decorated rooms “and “decision being based on the room and quality of the nights sleep - I would definitely have recommended the hotel and stayed again in future”.
I was disappointed to hear of your experience with our elevator, I can assure you we aim to treat all our guests equally with the same high level of customer service, I do however appreciate your comments and can assure all guests there is always an elevator or two free, even at the busiest of times

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest services manager City Hotel Derry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irish couple in Paris
Level Contributor
130 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

Very enjoyable night spent in City Hotel celebrating my daughter's Pramerica Spirit of Community gala dinner. The company very kindly paid for our accommodation, meals and drinks.
The hotel put on a fantastic gala dinner. Our room looked over the Foyle river and Peace Bridge. Very well located and worth a visit. This was my second time at this hotel and I will definitely return- hopefully next year for the City of Culture.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Services Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Dear Siobhan2010,

It is great to hear you had a very enjoyable night spent in City Hotel,
we are proud to host this prestigious event, “The Pramerica Spirit of Community Awards”, congratulations to your daughter and indeed all those involved, we thank you for your comments on what was “a fantastic gala dinner”.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest services manager City Hotel Derry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

nice hotel - handy to all the city areas - lovely view over the River Foyle - hotel has a very nice pool and sauna -
restaurant serves very very nice food although there is lots of very nice local restaurants to try out
great for a weekend break and a good base for touring Donegal
we have a trip here about 6 times a year and each time is as good as the last

Room Tip: make sure you ask for a room with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyndabraidenmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Services Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Dear lyndabraidenmoore,

Thank you for recent post, “great wee place to stay”; we are pleased to hear guests enjoying our in-house pool & sauna and lovely food, or indeed using it as a base to tour Donegal, thank you for your loyal custom and we hope to welcome you back soon

Yours sincerely
Guest services manager City Hotel Derry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkeel
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Had a lovely time at the City Hotel Derry, ate in the hotel both nights and food was lovely. Hotel is very central didn't have to use the car at all on Saturday, the car park full sign was up when we arrived but i asked and there were a few spaces so we were lucky enough to get parked in it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 07aka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Services Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Dear 07aka,

We are pleased to hear you had a lovely time at the City Hotel finding the location so convenient and enjoyed the lovely food; we appreciate you taking the time to post some kind words

Yours sincerely
Guest services manager City Hotel Derry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

A friend and I stayed here for several nights, then tried out Tower Hotel for a night. That was a bad idea, this place was better- more comfortable, lot quieter, better staff, better wifi. Great location, can get great deals, just really loved this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristin_Farley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Services Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Dear Cristin_Farley

Thank you for your recent “Best in town” review, we are glad to hear you loved the hotel and have taken the time to list so many plus points.

Yours sincerely
Guest services manager City Hotel Derry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

We were in Londonderry for a few days and needed a city centre location. They do not come much more central than the City. The staff were excellent from the outset, friendly, helpful and professional. This was to be the case for the whole of our stay - nothing was too much trouble and they really are the hotel's greatest advantage. The room was excellent, clean and with everything we needed. There was a comfortable bar which had a nice relaxing atmosphere and the same high standard of service as mentioned above. Breakfast was good - hotel buffet breakfasts can be dry and pretty gruesome. This one was better than most and enjoyable. All in all a really good few days and an excellent advert for our home city. I don't know who recruits and trains the staff but they were the equal of any we have encountered anywhere!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Services Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Dear travellingred,

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts, on the hotel and indeed the staff:
“The staffs were excellent from the outset, friendly, helpful and professional”; “the hotel's greatest advantage”.
Staff training is indeed core to our ethos and I hope to pass on your kind words to all staff.

Yours sincerely
Guest services manager City Hotel Derry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
1.4 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel
1.1 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
1.8 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#10 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Property: City Hotel
Address: Queens Quay, Derry BT48 7AS, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Derry
#5 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#6 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#6 Business Hotel in Derry
#7 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary hotel located on the bend of River Foyle, 200 yards from Guildhall - Many rooms overlook these points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing