We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVELY AND CLEAN AND THE CLEANER WAS BRILLIANT”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“LOVELY AND CLEAN AND THE CLEANER WAS BRILLIANT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

stayed in the city hotel for 3 days, and i must say, it was brilliant, the man who was incharge of room service, and cleaning, was so helpfull, he was superb.
ive stayed in many many hotels, and this one is in my top list, great food, lovely rooms,. great service, and very central to the town, i think the room service, was the best ever.
would def stay here again. and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: rooms are clean and tidy, and have plenty of room. very well done
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pauline77-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, It may interest you to know we have made many improvements since your review. Including opening our 7th floor of suites and penthouse rooms. We hope you choose to make a return visit in 2014.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,002
    607
    212
    85
    44
See reviews for
338
842
57
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antrim, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

I booked a junior suite. The suite was stunning and luxurious, the bed was very comfy, the view out the windows were amazing. I definitly would stay here again, no doubt about it. Thompsons restaurant was well staffed as was the whole hotel, the food was delicious for both dinner and breakfast. The bathroom is huge with a large bath and large power shower, the shower is fantastic.

Only negative is the bathrobes were not luxurious as was advertised, the quality of the robe was poor and felt rough on the skin.

Room Tip: As a special treat, book a suite, you will not be dissapointed, I will definitly be back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, It may interest you to know we have made many improvements since your review. Including opening our 7th floor of suites and penthouse rooms. We hope you choose to make a return visit in 2014.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

My family and I recently completed another long stay at the City Hotel. Having stayed at several properties in the city in the past, I can confidently say that City Hotel is still the best of the bunch.

The reception staff are among the best I've experienced anywhere -- courteous, genuine, pleasant, and professional. John, the porter, is great guy who is eager to assist guests. The food and service in restaurant is excellent, and the same is true in Coppins Bar. The bar staff are top notch, especially Feidhlim and JP, and the bar manager, Ciaran.

We had two small children with us, and the hotel staff were very helpful and accommodating.

The fitness facilities are great. And they're well maintained.

The hotel's location is also second to none, right in city centre.

Our rooms on the 6th floor were very spacious and clean.

I highly recommend City Hotel.

Room Tip: Highest floors are best when the hotel is busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveNfld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, It may interest you to know we have made many improvements since your review. Including opening our 7th floor of suites and penthouse rooms. We hope you choose to make a return visit in 2014.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

We stayed three nights at this hotel. its location is perfect adjacent to the city centre. rooms lovely and clean with beautiful view over river foyle and guild hall. food was very good. all inall the best hotel for a citybreak in derry,. also all the staff were great and helpful and welcoming.

Room Tip: get a room on the higher floors with a view of river and peace bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kalysty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, It may interest you to know we have made many improvements since your review. Including opening our 7th floor of suites and penthouse rooms. We hope you choose to make a return visit in 2014.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

stayed in this hotel for hallow'een, terrific service in dining room,bar and reception. fireworks display over river Foyle was very imaginative.to quote the TERMINATOR,I'll be back!!!

Room Tip: rooms looking out over the river give a beautiful lift to the senses
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pvp60Dublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, It may interest you to know we have made many improvements since your review. Including opening our 7th floor of suites and penthouse rooms. We hope you choose to make a return visit in 2014.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

Wonderful new years weekend at the Derry City hotel. Great staff and facilities. And location couldn't be better for a night in the city. Recommend as best option by far in Derry.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinnerhound99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, It may interest you to know we have made many improvements since your review. Including opening our 7th floor of suites and penthouse rooms. We hope you choose to make a return visit in 2014.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

This is my second time staying at this hotel - to first remind my reader that it is a very decent place. The last time I was here was on Spring break (USA time) and Thursday of that week was St. Patrick's day.

I am writing this review in my hotel room. I am here for business this week. What I didn't know is this is the week before Christmas so they had parties down on the ground floor for the last few nights. The music and the bass vibrate all the way to the third floor where I am staying at this time. If I would had known this, I would had requested a much higher room because it's hard to wake up when you can't sleep until 1:30AM in the morning. So, if you decided to stay at the City Hotel, first, know why you're here, then ask the attendance appropriately. Who knows, maybe at "other" time, not on St. Patrick's week and Christmas week, things should be tamed(?). But, it never hurt to ask.

Other than that, things are not at all bad:
- The place is very quiet when there's no celebration down stair. Unlike some other hotels where I can hear the people walking outside and on the floor above me. Faint noise, yes, but when your mind already thinking about the long day ahead, it makes a big difference!
- Friendly, and helpful staff. Usually took them less than a few minutes to bring me a pitcher of water when called
- Taxi arrangement is just a simple dial to the front desk
- The restaurant has decent food. Here in the winter, it rains almost all the time so decent food in the restaurant is a plus.
- Geographical location for the hotel is also nice. It's by the river, and if you're lucky enough to have a river view room, perfect!
- Being the only hotel down by the Peace Bridge, and yet closer to all the malls and shops uphill, you know you can't get lost. After half a day treading from shops to shops, you might forget your way back. No problem, just head downhill until you reach the river and then find your way back to the hotel.

What to watch for:
- They said on the printed card that they "change towels every second day"; But for both of my stays, they change it every day. Messy room sometimes is good because at least I know where I left my things :)
- Your power cord might be too short ... to reach your bed from the outlets. In both of my stays, *ALL* of the outlet are on the opposite side of the bed. Thinking of charging your phone and leave it by the bedside, forget about it!
- There's no space in front of the toilet! I'm 5'4". And on my last stay and this week, I banged my head on the wall in the front of the toilet! Comical, yes, but true. If you bang your head, remember - "I told you so!" :)

Other than that, if I come here again, I wouldn't hesitate to stay at the City Hotel again.

Room Tip: Stay higher up if you come in around a major holiday. The week of St. Patrick's day is a *major...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, you may be interested to know we have made many improvements since your review and hope you choose to stay with us again so we may have a chance to impress.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
1.4 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel
1.1 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
1.8 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#10 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Property: City Hotel
Address: Queens Quay, Derry BT48 7AS, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Derry
#5 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#6 Business Hotel in Derry
#6 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#7 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary hotel located on the bend of River Foyle, 200 yards from Guildhall - Many rooms overlook these points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing