We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Buffett”
Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“Sunday Buffett”
Reviewed December 2, 2011

I do like the City Hotel, very friendly, helpful staff and a great layout and atmosphere.
However, I will not go back to the Sunday Buffett as I've just eaten there for the third time in two years.
I am a vegetarian and the other family members I dine with are not. When we were seated I have to order the vegetarian option which has been the same for two years!
Consequently, the others make their selection at the buffett table and I wait and wait, when the others have almost finished their meal my Goat's Cheese Tart arrives. I feel discriminated as a vegetarian and I will not be back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsDoherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we appreciate comments and take on-board all feedback, thank you for taking the time to review, we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,041
    641
    223
    96
    47
See reviews for
365
873
62
261
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

I cannot say enough in the way of favorable comments, about this hotel. Great friendly service and extremely helpful staff who go the extra mile (e.g.made sure we got into the parking garage OK and met up with us in the garage to check). Great lounge bar too and nice buffett style breakfast with several good selections.The location is a close walk to all the local sights, the Derry Walls, the Peace Bridge, great restaurants and lots of shopping. We very fortunate to have a beautiful view of the Peace Bridge and the river from our room. Wish we had stayed an extra night, but sad to say our scedule didn't allow for it.
I would highly recommend staying here when you visit Derry.

Room Tip: Ask for a view room and higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathandDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, and thank you for taking the time to review, we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

I booked a break in the city hotel for 3 nites, I loved it so much I stayed a fourth. It really is a lovely hotel, fabulous food, good service, good clean spacious rooms, only negative points were the pillows were a bit hard, but overall had a great time and would throughly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mybreaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we appreciate all your comments and hope to earn a 5 star review for your next visit, thank you for taking the time to review, we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2011

We had a great stay in Derry at the City Hotel. The room was immaculate. Breakfast was delicious with lots of choice. Service was excellent. Parking is right on site. The hotel is in an excellent location, within easy walking distance to all attractions.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samandtheresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we appreciate all your comments and hope to earn a 5 star review for your next visit, thank you for taking the time to review, we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We have just arrived back from a 2 night stay Derry city hotel, the staff were very helpful from the desk to the house keeping staff, the rooms are clean and well laid out. our room was over looking the river, beautiful day and evening views. Breakfast was delicious, fresh and a wide range of food was available. The hotel is ideally situated in a central area but you still get a relaxed atmosphere. We will definately be back to the city hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a river view and an upgrade was only £15
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happychaps10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your kind words and are happy to be of service, thank you for taking the time to review, we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We are the sort of people who are VERY picky about our hotels! However, with the City Hotel, everything is absolutely fantastic.
We had our wedding at the City Hotel in August 2011. Our guests stayed in the rooms and were all really pleased with the quality and service. Our wedding planner at the hotel was called Claire Gormley and she was brilliant. She made the day go without any hitches. Nothing was ever too much much trouble to her.
The ballroom is beautiful. It overlooks the river and the newly built peace bridge. It was the perfect setting.
The level of service at the hotel was first class. Everyone is really friendly, porters, receptionists, bar staff, restaurant staff....everyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Forest1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2016
Dear Forest1983
Thank you for your review, and for choosing to celebrate your special day with us, we appreciate your kind words and are happy to be of service, thank you for taking the time to review, we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

This was our first visit to Derry and we picked the Hotel for its location, we had looked on the web site but we were still overjoyed when we arrived there, alll the staff were so freindly and helpfull nothing was too much trouble, the breakfast was arwsome well worth getting out of bed for, we did eat in the hotel on the last night and found the food was exellent and very good value for money, we have decied we will be going back in March to see the thing swe could not fit in.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevinthurman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your kind words and are happy to be of service, thank you for taking the time to review, we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
592 reviews
1.4 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 13 in Derry
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
1.8 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#11 of 13 in Derry
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Property: City Hotel
Address: Queens Quay, Derry BT48 7AS, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Derry
#6 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#6 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#6 Business Hotel in Derry
#7 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary hotel located on the bend of River Foyle, 200 yards from Guildhall - Many rooms overlook these points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing