We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel experience Ever!!”
Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed December 25, 2007

My wife and I stayed in the City Hotel after I looked at the reviews from TripAdvisor. The BEST decision on a hotel I've ever made. We stayed here with my newborn for 3 nights in mid-December to discover Northern Ireland. The staff was very helpful, allowed us a late checkout, early checkin, and recommended the best massage, hair place right up the road. The location couldn't of been better as there is a Tesco a block away and many many pubs.

During this stay we also had the hotel staff babysit. The girl who watched our son was awesome and only charged £7 an hour, so quite the deal when it came to £21 for the evening.

Although this is a star hotel, I would classify it as a 5 star compared to other hotels I've stayed at in the UK. The pool facility and rooms were extremely clean. The only thing I would recommend is to get a king size bed if you are sleeping more than one. The bed was a bit small for 2, but very comfy.

If you have any questions feel free to contact me before you travel to the City Inn as I would be honoured to pass along some honest information on this wonderful place.
angusboy02@yahoo.com

Stayed: December 2007
4  Thank angusboy02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2016

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, and for your kind words, we are proud to be of service, thank you for taking the time to review, we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,065)
There are newer reviews for City Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,946 - 1,952 of 2,065 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2007

We stayed here for one night as part of a CIE Tour. The location of this hotel is excellent; close to everything, which is a big part of the high rating. The room was an OK+, the food good (we had dinner and breakfast there) and the staff extremely helpful. I had fallen at the Giant's Causeway earlier in the day on a loose rock and cut my hand, which appeared to require stitches. The hotel staff were really good about helping me get this taken care of, which was greatly appreciated. My wife and I got to see parts of Derry (the emergency room at the hospital) that few tourists do. Incidentally, I was treated promptly at the hospital by very skilled people, got my 4 stitches and was back to the hotel within 2 hours....pretty good service, I'd say.

Stayed: October 2007
2  Thank mwdoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2016

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we appreciate all your comments and hope to earn a 5 star review for your next visit, thank you for taking the time to review, we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2007

I work away from home a lot and staying in different hotels is something i am very used to. However, i have never felt more at home than at the City hotel Derry. The staff have made my 10 week stay more than pleasurable. Everyone is very friendly and always available to help. Whatever the time of day, night, or morning. The facilities, gym, pool, sauna etc are a great asset to the hotel also. Dining in the restaurant and bar is always a pleasure, however there are many other restaurants close by. The location is perfect. I have been lucky enough to have had a room with a view over the foyle river and over the city its self. The hotel is in prime location for local historic attractions and only an hours drive from the giants causeway etc. If, when i come back to derry, which im sure i will, i will certainly be booking myself into the City Hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank MR_Jones_Swansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2016

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, and for your kind words, we are proud to be of service, thank you for taking the time to review, we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2007

we had the most fabulous stay here. We were there for halloween 2007. The staff was amazing and the room was great too!! we even used the pool/spa facilities which were so nice! I would definitely stay there again and recommend it. The breakfast included with our room rate was awesome too.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Lindz6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2016

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, and for your kind words, we are proud to be of service, thank you for taking the time to review, we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2007

I stayed in the hotel for 1 night on 4th November with a group of friends and I have to say it was fantastic. The hotel staff were very welcoming from the very beginning. Irons and ironing boards were delivered on request! We did not eat in the hotel but availed of the residents bar after visiting the local pubs and clubs. The bar staff and manager were very friendly and nothing was a problem to them. It was a very relaxed atmosphere and the hotel itself is beautiful. Very modern and of a high standard. We stayed in a triple room which actually had 2 double beds. The room was very big and spotless.I really could not fault this hotel in any way.

The hotel is located in walking distance to everywhere.

  • Stayed: November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ShauneenBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2016

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, and for your kind words, we are proud to be of service, thank you for taking the time to review, we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2007

Just returned from a weekend break in the City Hotel with my wife. To be honest after reading the negative reveiws I was worried having already booked over the internet. I suppose everyone is entilited to thier veiws and some have an axe to grind in relation to thier stay, however both my wife and I found the hotel to be excellent, location was central, room was good, service was good aswell as the food. The pool, steam room etc not to be missed, I am a frequent leasure traveler throughout Ireland and with the ever increasing price of a pint and a meal in the South, I can highly recommend Derry and the City Hotel for a better value weekend break as opposed to Dublin etc.

Stayed: November 2007
3  Thank Hotel_Sampler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2016

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, and for your kind words, we are proud to be of service, thank you for taking the time to review, we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2007

stayed in this hotel for two nights over Halloween. The hotel was buzzing when I arrived but I was able to have an exceelent buffet meal and watch the fireworks at the same time.The starters were very good ,tomato and beetroot soup, a delicious caesar salad, jumbo prawns,and lots more .The main coure was choice of turkey ham and beef -with all the trimmings very trad . but wholesome and tasty huge portions.The desserts were fantastic homemade apple crumble individual banoffee and lemon meringue pies were amongst the best of a very good bunch-service very good also.The halloween ball was very well suppoted with a great band the Mindbenders and supporting disco .What made it for me was the very high standard and originality of the costumes (this is de rigeur for the whole city ).Breakfast was also very good-nothing out of the ordinary and I venture to say that the coooks could be a bit more adventurous here althouh everything was hot fresh and well cooked.The staff again excellent and my request for soya milk was swiftly met.Rooms were spacios clean warm and well equipped sound proofed.Good facilities but i think wi fi should be free these days.A good offer was availlble-24 hr internet and unlimited movies for £15 .Good shower .Very friendly staff obviously well managed. Finally the location on the river front and central to all city centre facilities was great.I would definitey go back.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank spenotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2016

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we appreciate all your comments and hope to earn a 5 star review for your next visit, thank you for taking the time to review, we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
618 reviews
1.4 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 13 in Derry
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
1.8 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#11 of 13 in Derry
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Address: Queens Quay, Derry BT48 7AS, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Derry
#6 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#6 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#6 Business Hotel in Derry
#7 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range: $82 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary hotel located on the bend of River Foyle, 200 yards from Guildhall - Many rooms overlook these points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing