We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome to Excellence not just a saying”
Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 11, 2011

I had the pleasure of staying at the city hotel for business recently. I had a fantastic experience while there. The conference facilities are excellent however it was the staff that made the experience for me. Nothing was too much trouble and the timings were fantastic, they were spot on with breaks etc. I felt very at home at this hotel as they offered a friendly yet professional service. All Staff greeted me with a smile and were on hand to help with anything I needed.
When you get to reception the quote over the door is 'Welcome to Excellence' I definitely experienced this. The rooms, the gym, the food and the conference facilities make this hotel a good option for any business. I will definitely stay here again and recommend any one going to Derry to experience this for themselves.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lialic88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CitySales, Sales Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2011

Many thanks for your recent review and comments relating to the City Hotel. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to your team of staff and we do hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,828 - 1,834 of 2,151 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2011

This hotel is well located for access to Derry's shops and amenities, but if you are arriving by car, access to its underground park could be problematic. The hotel is unusually situated immediately off a roundabout and has a small forecourt through which one must drive to access the ramp to the basement car park. When we arrived two coaches were blocking the forecourt and as a result, we had to queue just off the roundabout, behind another car, while waiting to drive onto the forecourt. Other drivers honked their horns as we were a danger to them and at risk of having our car rear ended. There was no member of hotel staff monitoring the situation and when we complained we were told that one of the same two bus drivers had also blocked the forecourt recently and on that occassion, had gone off leaving his bus and could not be located. The clear message was that this was not the hotel's responsibility.
We then checked in and were given keycards to a room that was already occupied; replacement keycards had to be issued.
The bedroom was spacious and very clean, the bed very comfortable. However the room was exceedingly hot although the heating was not on and the only source of ventilation was the window which opened an inch.
The bathroom steamed up after a shower as the extract fan was not working.
Breakfast was self service and the coffee served at the table in a stainless steel pot was watery.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank finnelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CitySales, Sales Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2011

Further to your recent review, thank you for your feedback. In relation to your comments regarding our set down/arrival area at the front of the hotel, throughout the summer months this area is used for the arrival of coach tours and can be very busy. Our excellent team of lobby porters try to ensure that coaches are only at the set down area for a few minutes in order to accommodate all our guests. This hasnt been a problem in the past but we certainly will take all your comments relating to your recent stay on board. We hopefully will see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Didnt stay here, just had dinner, but it was a lovely meal. Full of flavour and really satisfying. Good sized portions too, you def wont be hungry aftetwards!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lalascoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CitySales, Sales Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2011

Many thanks for your recent review of our restaurant and your excellent feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Stayed there for one night - not bad!
Nice hotel - clean and good location.
They do have a pool, but didn't get a chance to use it.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pitol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CitySales, Sales Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2011

Thanks for taking the time to review the City Hotel. Im glad you enjoyed your time here in Derry and we look forward to welcoming you back. Hopefully next time you stay you will have the chance to use the leisure facilities!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Myself and my partner stayed here for one nights b&b with dinner included and found it to be great value, staff were nice and friendly and we found the facilities great. Would recommend this hotel for an enjoyable stay in derry.
p.s. ask for room with river view. Nice.
C.J

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willowinie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CitySales, Sales Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2011

Further to your review, thank you for the feedback on your recent stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Just back from a most enjoyable trip to the CityHotel. I got an incredible deal called " I love shopping" on the hotels own website. CHECK IT OUT ! The hotel is buzzing with a great atmosphere . Our room was spotlessly clean and functional. Breakfast was fine with the usual selection of fruit hot and cold buffet etc. Dinner was excellent and beautifully presented. The staff are so friendly and willing. This is my second visit in four years to this hotel and I will not leave it as long to return. We used this hotel as a base to tour Donegal and it is perfect for that. Check out the deal . . . its great!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FussyWicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CitySales, Sales Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2011

Thank you for your review of our Shopping offer, im delighted you found it such good value and you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Situated close to the guildhall and city walls. Everything within walking distance. Very clean and also friendly staff. Pool a good size and gym well equipped.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tricia63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CitySales, Sales Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2011

Thank you for your review of the City Hotel, im glad you enjoyed your stay in the city and had the chance to enjoy the leisure facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#2 of 13 in Derry
780 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shipquay Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
1.4 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#4 of 13 in Derry
1,347 reviews
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Address: Queens Quay, Derry BT48 7AS, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Derry
#6 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#6 Business Hotel in Derry
#7 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#7 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range: $81 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary hotel located on the bend of River Foyle, 200 yards from Guildhall - Many rooms overlook these points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing