We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel / Very good restaurant.”
Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
City Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
ayr,scotland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good hotel / Very good restaurant.”
Reviewed October 6, 2007

We were booked in as room only and therefor can`t comment on breakfast , which seams to be a disapointment for previous posters. We did however have 3 meals in the hotel and all were excellent. Sunday to Thursday they do a 321 dinner menu for 2 people. You get 3 courses plus tea or coffee and a bottle of wine for £32.50. We had dinner another night, and the Sunday lunch buffet . Absolutely no complaints regarding the food or the prompt and friendly service from a young but efficient waiting staff. Booking is reccommended.
No problems with reception staff who were polite and helpful, but the bar staff need a polite word of guidance. I was short changed twice which I pointed out, you would have thought it was my mistake. The senior bar person was the most arrogant and distasteful person I came across in Derry. He has a severe attitude problem and has obviously never heard of service with a smile. I would reccommend that a better system is put in place for after hours bar service for hotel guests. You cannot pay in cash and must charge to your room, but as I had not lodged a credit card or cash with reception, drinking after 12.20 am was out for me. Drinks were reasonably priced .
Our room was spacious with 2beds a desk and chair , a table with 2 chairs, a dresser and open wardrobe space with a trouser press. Usual shower over bath and toiletries supplied. Tea and coffee making facilities with biscuits provided. Television channels were poor with news provided by Al Jazeerah, would you beleive. Cleaning staff very efficient. Our room overlooked the busy roundabout at the front of the hotel and we had some traffic noise but it did not disturb our sleep.
As the hotel was fully booked for some of our stay the leisure centre was very busy so we didn`t bother.
We would certainly stay at this hotel again, you can walk to the shops, the bus station, tourist board and a great choice of local bars. The city walls are just around the corner as well as the Guildhall and Museum. There is a lot to see in Derry and although hilly in part you should have few problems. The open top bus is reccommended.
A suggestion for breakfast, if you are room only, try Wetherspoons next to the Travelodge and virtually behind the City hotel, around £3 for a cooked breakfast with coffee.
We booked this hotel using hotelscomparison.com and Hotelclub as they were cheapest. I would advise going by way of hotelscomparison as the price was cheaper than going directly to hotelclub`s website. They will also give other prices and options.

  • Liked — Location, room size and restaurant
  • Disliked — Bar staff
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank honestman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we appreciate all your comments and hope to earn a 5 star review for your next visit, thank you for taking the time to review, we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,008
    613
    215
    87
    44
See reviews for
341
846
58
254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fernandina Beach
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2007

We stayed here two nights and was quite satisfied. Had no problems with anything.

Good location for exploring stroke city on foot. There two days and never moved the car until we checked out.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank UncleBenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we appreciate all your comments and hope to earn a 5 star review for your next visit, thank you for taking the time to review, we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2007

Booked this on the advice of the N.I. Tourist Office. It was supposed
to be a 4 Star. It turned out to be more of a 2 star budget option.
Room was cleaned in a shoddy manner - grime in the bathroom and carpet not vacuum. Pillows on bed were flat and dirty. Breakfast was just adequate. Only positives were Foyle River view and underground parking. Priced at over $250 USD per night, it is not a bargain. Derry is an interesting city to visit. However, do not stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ADVOCAT2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CitySales, Business Development Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2007
The management of the City Hotel, Derry place a high value on the views and opinions of their guests. We actively encourage feedback, good or bad, to allow us to meet and exceed our guests expectations.

Where possible, we prefer if a guest informs us of their concerns when the issue arises, allowing us the opportunity to address the matter and resolve it immediately. Occasionally, however, we do not get this opportunity.

The City Hotel is very proud of its very high standards of cleanliness and we will always respond immediately to any adverse comments regarding any aspect of cleanliness if brought to our attention.

Rates at the City Hotel, start from £89.00 room only which is very competitive within our market. Obviously this is dependant on availability and season. We believe that we provide excellent service and value for money.

Kindly accept my sincerest apology that your stay with us was not to your satisfaction. I have contacted you via your Tripadvisor account and would request that you contact me directly so that I can further investigate the disappointing aspect of your stay.

I look forward to hearing from you in due course.

Regards

Matt Doherty
Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2007

We stayed in a family room for 2 nights. Never again. The room had a view of the back of Tescos (room 303 - in case you want to avoid it). The rooms was infested with fleas we all ended up being bitten. Also the room had no milk, coffee or biscuits - supposedly a 4 star !. The staff were mostly indifferent, service was slow or non existent. The breakfast the first day was disgusting, cold, greasy fry up that had clearly been sat for hours. It did improve slightly the second day.
The receptionist on arrival kept us waiting while she chatted on the phone to a friend (we had just endured a 7 hour journey to get there so were not impressed by this) She was as welcoming as a grumby cat. The overall atmostphere in the hotel is cold and unwelcoming.
The only good thing to say about this hotel is the location but then there are other hotels nearby with equally better sites. Next time i would stay at the travel lodge.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
10 Thank lazarusLancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CitySales, Business Development Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2007
Dear Sir or Madam

It was with both shock and disappointment that I read your recent comments on Tripadvisor, regarding your recent stay at the City Hotel, Derry.

On reading your comments our senior management team went to the room you mentioned to thoroughly examine the allegations. We found absolutely no trace of infestation as highlighted in your letter.

The City Hotel is very proud of its very high standards of cleanliness and we will always respond immediately to any adverse comments regarding any aspect of cleanliness.

All of the guest rooms at the City Hotel, Derry have Tea/Coffee making facilities, including room 303. We are surprised to learn that the milk and coffee were not in the room.

I am also surprised to learn of your comments regarding the indifferent service you received during your stay, as we regularly receive very positive feedback regarding our high standards of service and friendly staff. Please accept my apologies if you did not experience these standards during your visit.

I have tried to contact you via the email address listed on Trip Advisor, requesting your contact number, so that I personally can call you to investigate your issues in more detail.

I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Regards

Matt Doherty
Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Machen, Wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2007

A lovely hotel, made all the more pleasurable by the friendliness of the staff. Our 9 year old son's stay was made memorable by the personal service he recieved at breakfast, and mostly the wonderful lady who asked him each morning if the "wee man" would like a cup of hot drinking chocolate.
The giant's causeway is worth seeing and the open topped bus tour around Derry is a must.
The nearby Exchange restaurant was a real find.
Overall, a clean, modern hotel in this interesting city - wth that little added extra - the Irish charm.

  • Liked — The personal service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheGriffithsFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your kind words and are happy to be of service, thank you for taking the time to review, we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2007

Great rooms, breakfast, parking and location. Would have got five stars, but one member of staff was a total tube, so i'm giving it four. Had we not encountered this rude dude, it would have got five.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank write2david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we appreciate all your comments and hope to earn a 5 star review for your next visit, thank you for taking the time to review, we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2007

We booked the night before going as we got a surprise day off work, we arrived about 4p.m. the receptionist Sherlie never once looked us in the eye on booking us in, bad sign. The room 332 was tiny, had a huge wine stain on the wall and carpet, it was like a brottle!
We asked to be changed and got an even smaller room with a toilet almost as big (one could tell from the Fire Excape drawings). The Decor was Cheap and Nasty, the room 327on the 3rd floor looked out over the top of the Swimming pool and into the rooms opposite, we kept the curtins closed all the time. This Hotel was only 4/5 years old, one could tell it was built on a budget and run with NO budget. The changing rooms/wash areas for the Tiny Swimming Pool were hairy and dirty and littered with toilet tissue with an overflowing bin and linin basket. The Bar and Restraunt Area was open plan and not very appealing, again needed a good cleaning . The Sairs and Lift area were in need of paint and a hover. This hotel was ment to be a 4 Star Romantic Night away - all I can say is STAY WELL AWAY.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — The Reception staff menber
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank POPIEDUBLIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CitySales, Business Development Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2007
Dear “Popie Dublin”

It is with regret that I recently read your comments on Tripadvisor regarding your stay with us.

We at the City Hotel pride ourselves for the warm, genuine welcome we provide to our guests and can only apologise that this was not your experience on this occasion.

All of our Guest rooms conform to strict guidelines laid down by NITB regarding the Standard Size requirements for a Hotel Bedroom. In the case of our Executive rooms, they are designed to be larger than the standard requirements.

Many of our Guest rooms benefit from fabulous city and River views. Unfortunately not all our rooms are front facing. We do endeavour, when possible, to allocate rooms with one of our great views to our guests, although when the hotel is very busy, some guests may be disappointed that this view is not available.

A clean and safe environment is of the utmost importance to us. Our swimming pool is 15 metres long and is subject to ongoing Standard Inspection from the local Council to ensure water quality and general levels of cleanliness. Our changing areas are regularly inspected by a member of staff and we do encourage Members and guests to inform staff if the area becomes untidy.

We are committed to providing a great stay to all our guests and while your comments are disappointing for us to hear, I can assure you that the issues raised have been addressed with the relevant departments. I do hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back to the City Hotel soon.

Best regards,
Matt Doherty
Business Development Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 12 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
1.4 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 12 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
1.1 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
1.8 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#10 of 12 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Property: City Hotel
Address: Queens Quay, Derry BT48 7AS, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Derry
#5 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#6 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#6 Business Hotel in Derry
#7 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary hotel located on the bend of River Foyle, 200 yards from Guildhall - Many rooms overlook these points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing